We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views, great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Melbourne on Collins

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Melbourne on Collins to your Saves list
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   25 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Early Booking
Ranked #9 of 173 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great views, great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

3 night long-weekend visit to see the cricket. Great location, minutes walk from central CBD and MCG. Large room for a city centre hotel. The views are stunning as the hotel starts on floor 35 of the building. The service was excellent - we wanted to watch the Six Nations rugby but it was not available in the room as they didn't have ESPN (which they should have really considering the prices) - but the concierge found us a bar down the road open until 4am so we could watch our match. Food prices, particularly breakfast, are very high.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,864 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,563
    905
    256
    97
    43
See reviews for
421
2,215
266
620
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (536)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Stayed there after a few years of deliberately avoiding the place. I was pleasantly surprised that it (finally) lived up t a 5 star experience...I do hate the French welcome though. 'Club Sofitel' was worth the extra cost, although the elevator was excessively and frustratingly slow.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMelb, . at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for sharing your review on Trip Advisor. In regards to our greeting of “bonjour”, this was adopted to embrace Sofitel’s French heritage. It is intended to be a warm and welcoming greeting, in which we have received positive feedback from our guests. I do apologise however if you do not like this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Our stay was great until we were overcharged and couldn't get a refund. After a lovely two-night stay in a suite with amazing service, clean rooms and complimentary champagne we checked out and paid in cash. A few days later I noticed our credit card had been charged, even though we'd already paid. It took four phone calls to management before our money was finally refunded.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I love staying at the Sofitel, you are always made welcome. they treat you like royalty. couldnt fault the service or food. slightly more expensive than some but well worth it.staying again next week. can't get enough of it

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMelb, . at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of your recent stay.
It is wonderful to know that we met your expectations across many levels. We thank you for your support of our hotel and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Sofitel on the night of our wedding with the rest of our bridal party.

Our stay coincided with the final of the Australian Open so we paid the premium rate for our rooms. I booked directly through the hotel around 4 months in advance so we were still able to get the 'Breakfast Drive' deal which included breakfast, a welcome cocktail and carpark.

I was very happy with the service of the hotel, as well as the cleanliness and the quality of the breakfast. Truly one of the best in Melbourne.

One thing that really disappointed me was that when we returned to the hotel after our wedding at around 11.45pm, all of the hotel's bars were closed. We had a group of 9 people, and then around 30 people started coming in at the end of the tennis.

The lobby bar would have done a roaring trade if they'd stayed open. I didn't want to, but we ended up going elsewhere for a drink.

I was also not happy that both my husband and myself were charged the holding fee, which takes up to 12 days to return to your bank account.

Otherwise, it was a great night and I will definitely return to the hotel. Next time I'll be sure to spend more time there!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMelb, . at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Sofitel Melbourne On Collins to celebrate your Wedding. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay. I extend my sincere apologies that our Atrium Bar was not available upon your return to the hotel. I do sincerely hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Melbourne on Collins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Melbourne on Collins

Address: 25 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#8 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#13 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Melbourne on Collins 5*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Melbourne On Collins is at the Paris end of Collins Street, in the heart of the city's premier shopping, dining and theatre district, just minutes from the famous Melbourne Cricket Ground. This award-winning hotel has 363 luxurious rooms that begin from level 36 offering breathtaking views from floor-to-ceiling windows. Each room is complemented by modern furnishings, mood lighting, LED\LCD or Plasma televisions and iPod|MP3 connection. Marble bathrooms offer automated low level lighting and French amenities.Enjoy modern dining in No35, high tea occasions in Sofi's Lounge or stylish cocktails in the Atrium Bar On 35.For meetings and events, Sofitel Melbourne On Collins is one of the city’s most comprehensive integrated hotel conference venues offering 12 individual meetings venues with comprehensive audio-visual services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Melbourne on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Melbourne On Collins Hotel Melbourne
Accor Melbourne On Collins
Melbourne Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.