We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Celebrated in style” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Melbourne on Collins

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Melbourne on Collins to your Saves list
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   25 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Early Booking
Ranked #5 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Yackandandah, Australia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Celebrated in style”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Our 40th wedding anniversary could not have been better. Cameron at the checkin was wonderful, I felt like the only customer he had had for the day. He was very sincerely happy for us to be using the hotel for our big event. We were given an upgrade, even though one night was using our Accor free night, AND Chocolate AND A BOTTLE OF CHAMPAGNE! The room was lovely, very clean and very picturesque. If I could give the bed more than five stars I would. It was amazingly comfortable, would like it better than my own at home. I could not have afforded the normal cost of the room, maybe it is a little high, but with the Accor Club prices it was great. Perfect position for a stay in Melbourne and just the right amount of luxury. No complaints at all.....thanks Sofitel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMelb, . at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Sofitel Melbourne on Collins to celebrate your 40th Wedding Anniversary. We are thrilled that Cameron was able to make your stay more memorable. We thank you for your support of our hotel and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,372
    816
    222
    86
    39
See reviews for
381
2,037
255
554
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (453)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Good: The hotel is situated in a great location and makes it easy to get around town with trams at the door. The rooms are also very nice as is the hotel and the staff are great.

Bad: Where's the pool? This is a 5-star hotel with no pool. When asked, I was told that I could use the pool at the Novotel on Collins (two blocks away). Hardly practical.

Ugly: Service regrettably comes at a cost. I asked for a bucket of ice and was told that there would be a $5 service charge for it. Um... what self-respecting, 5-star hotel does this?!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMelb, . at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your guest room and found our staff to be great Ambassadors for our hotel, however apologise that we don’t have a pool in the hotel. Hopefully you will visit us again in the not too distant future and enjoy the rooms and staff as you suggest. Merry Christmas from all of us at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

My partner and I got a corner suite here for the night of our wedding. The suites are very large and have 2 rooms. Being on the 49th floor and also on a corner you get incredible views of Melbourne.
The beds here are so comfortable and a great pillow selection. The room had everything you expect from a suite including a well stocked mini bar, good quality amenities and everything you could need.
Great location at the top of Collins Street with some excellent restaurants nearby.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMelb, . at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Firstly we wish to congratulate you on the event of your marriage. Thank you for your lovely comments and for choosing to celebrate your Wedding Night with us at the Sofitel Melbourne on Collins.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and our facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

The Sofitel Melbourne has everything for the business traveller, good desk and light with WiFi-hard wire that costs an arm and a leg. Room and Bathroom are of a good size and well appointed, King beds are comfortable with good quality linen. Views are impressive. You will get a great breakfast on level 35, the curb side porters are attentive, polite and professional. Check-in can take time with guests having to queue on occasions. Rooms also have DVDs and a good range of Foxtel stations including Sky Channel racing. Complimentary shoeshine and newspapers value add to the experience.

Room Tip: Request a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights surrounding our wedding day. We stayed in a prestige suite which certainly had views beyond our expectations. It certainly had plenty of space for my make up artist, hairstylist, photographers, bridesmaids and family members to get ready in without being on top of each other. It would benefit from a separate shower (I think for the money you pay you could expect to not have to step into the bath for a shower) the shampoo and conditioner is l'occitane brand and we also received a bottle of champagne which was a lovely surprise. You're sure to find a pillow you like with the pillow menu and breakfast/afternoon canapés in Club Sofitel were fantastic. The only downside were the lack of response we and our photographer received when trying to find out if we could take some professional photographs. After numerous emails with no response and unsuccessful and frustrating phone calls to find the answer we made a specific trip into the hotel to speak to concierge who gave us the email address of the marketing manager who was very helpful. Overall I highly recommend the Sofitel Melbourne on Collins

Room Tip: Pay the extra and choose an upper level room away from elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMelb, . at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Firstly we wish to congratulate you on the event of your marriage. Thank you for your lovely comments and for choosing to celebrate your Wedding Night with us at the Sofitel Melbourne on Collins.
I also wish to apologise for the lack of response you experienced from us, as this is certainly no indicative of our high customer standard.
Once again, thank you for bringing this to our attention. We appreciate guest who let us know when our services are not right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

My husband and I spent our wedding anniversary at the Sofitel Melbourne and Collins and can only say that maybe we should be staying in this kind of hotel more often. Bed was comfy, room was well appointed and the view of melbourne was great both day and night.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Melbourne on Collins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Melbourne on Collins

Address: 25 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#3 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#10 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Melbourne on Collins 5*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Melbourne On Collins is at the Paris end of Collins Street, in the heart of the city's premier shopping, dining and theatre district, just minutes from the famous Melbourne Cricket Ground. This award-winning hotel has 363 luxurious rooms that begin from level 36 offering breathtaking views from floor-to-ceiling windows. Each room is complemented by modern furnishings, mood lighting, LED\LCD or Plasma televisions and iPod|MP3 connection. Marble bathrooms offer automated low level lighting and French amenities.Enjoy modern dining in No35, high tea occasions in Sofi's Lounge or stylish cocktails in the Atrium Bar On 35.For meetings and events, Sofitel Melbourne On Collins is one of the city’s most comprehensive integrated hotel conference venues offering 12 individual meetings venues with comprehensive audio-visual services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, ACCOR, Odigeo, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Melbourne on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Melbourne On Collins Hotel Melbourne
Accor Melbourne On Collins
Melbourne Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.