We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top class hotel and good value!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Melbourne on Collins

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Melbourne on Collins to your Saves list
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   25 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Top class hotel and good value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

I totally agree with most of the other reviews here - a great experience in a top quality hotel, which is very central to Melbourne's sporting, cultural and business centres. I had a superb suite on one of the Club Sofitel level with good amenities (love the expresso machine) and views. The Club Sofitel lounge on level 30 was excellent with free snacks, drinks, wi-fi and superb views. Only downside was when I took advantage of the "quick" check-out there... in answer to the usual question "anything from the mini-bar" I said "a Gatorade" which incredibly the young lady had never heard of: "is it toothpaste?". It took about ten minutes for her to not be able to locate such an item on the computer then eventually say "oh well I won't charge you for it" which was fair enough, but then I got a supplementary charge in the mail a week later, which was removed when I queried it, but I have no idea what that was about. Otherwise excellent service and comfort and a very good place to stay in Melbourne.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,412
    828
    228
    88
    40
See reviews for
383
2,071
257
570
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (469)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

The most perfect stay in a perfect hotel beyond all expectations. Staff were friendly and more than helpful very professional. We look forward to our next relaxing stay at the Sofitel. Views are unbelievable of Melbourne from every room we have stayed in well worth the booking.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

Just spent a wonderful overnights stay at this lovely hotel to celebrate our wedding anniversary!
THANK YOU so much for a truly wonderful experience. The service was outstanding except for one average waiter at the Atrium bar late saturday afternoon who seemed overtired and ready to finish his shift. Check in was also average for providing little information for new/1st time guests such as ourselves.
However, a surprise complimentary bottle of champagne & card was really appreciated as was the wonderful concierge & porters who offered to store our luggage after we checked out this morning.
The Atrium staff late lastnight were also a highlight; wonderful service & atmosphere.
Loved the high quality of our room & fantastic views.
Can't wait to return some time to experience more of what this hotel has to offer.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMelb, . at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Sofitel Melbourne on Collins to celebrate your Wedding Annivsary. It’s great to hear you had a lovely time with us.

Please also accept our apologies for the lapse in service you experienced from our Ambassador in Atrium Bar.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

My husband and I spend one glorious night at the Sofitel on Collins in Melbourne in July 2012 and once again we were in raptures over the supreme comfort of their glorious beds! The mattresses have a special "topper" over them which is made for the hotel chain exclusively and which provides the most comfortable sleep imaginable! Add to that a "pillow menu" - allowing you to choose the type of pillow you will sleep on in addition to the most heavenly doonas and the whole bed package adds up to a night of guaranteed bliss!! With or without romance!
Oh, and the added indulgence is the bedside "room menu" controlling lights, television, radio etc all with a press of the screen and not a movement from your bed!

The buffet breakfast laid out each morning in the "room with a view" restaurant on the 34th (?) floor of the Sofitel building is just extraordinary in very respect! The floor to ceiling view over Melbourne is unbeatable and the food preference of seemingly every culture is catered for! Not an inexpensive breakfast but a deliciously worthwhile and memorable brunch!

The hotel is sited in the centre of the Collins Street shopping district with lots of up-market boutiques, major department stores and restaurants close by.

Always leave feeling indulged and refreshed!

Room Tip: All rooms have wonderful views and haven't had a one we wouldn't recommend!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMelb, . at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely and thorough review of your recent stay.

It was wonderful to hear that we made your stay truly enjoyable. We are dedicated to constantly improve our services and your kind words are much appreciated by everyone here.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the start of December 2011 and it was amazing. We went with the club Sofitel option and got upgraded to a jr suite. Which was great considering we had a little one the extra room was a added bonus even had enough room to have a couple friends over for coffee.
The views from the hotel are amazing and the staff are very helpful. Every thing in the lounge is divine with a view to fit We are looking at going again soon only hope we get upgraded again ;)

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

This hotel is sheer bliss for a busy business traveller: the check-in was efficient, I got a corner room with spectacular 270° views and the club floor was a really nice place for a drink or breakfast. The entrance through a shopping mall is perhaps a bit strange but this is really one of the nicest hotels in Melbourne. A pity they don't have a pool, so perhaps not a family hotel, but highly recommended for business travellers.

Room Tip: no harm to ask for one of their upper floor corner rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Have just spent 4 nights in a basic king room, with city views. Room was spacious and clean. Bathroom had a great shower and again was clean and fresh. Hotel is at the top of collins st, with tram station right outside hotel entrance. We didn't eat at the hotel as the restaurant was booked out. Gym was good. Porters at the front of hotel were the friendliest of the staff.. Overall a really nice hotel.. Will stay again

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Melbourne on Collins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Melbourne on Collins

Address: 25 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#3 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#3 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#12 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Melbourne on Collins 5*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Melbourne On Collins is at the Paris end of Collins Street, in the heart of the city's premier shopping, dining and theatre district, just minutes from the famous Melbourne Cricket Ground. This award-winning hotel has 363 luxurious rooms that begin from level 36 offering breathtaking views from floor-to-ceiling windows. Each room is complemented by modern furnishings, mood lighting, LED\LCD or Plasma televisions and iPod|MP3 connection. Marble bathrooms offer automated low level lighting and French amenities.Enjoy modern dining in No35, high tea occasions in Sofi's Lounge or stylish cocktails in the Atrium Bar On 35.For meetings and events, Sofitel Melbourne On Collins is one of the city’s most comprehensive integrated hotel conference venues offering 12 individual meetings venues with comprehensive audio-visual services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, EasyToBook, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Sofitel Melbourne on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Melbourne On Collins Hotel Melbourne
Accor Melbourne On Collins
Melbourne Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.