We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Subtle sophistication” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Melbourne on Collins

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Melbourne on Collins to your Saves list
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   25 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Bendigo, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Subtle sophistication”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

The Sofitel does things very well without fanfare. Looking for well appointed quiet comfort and quality service in the heart of Melbourne go to the Sofitel. Check for the 'specials' before paying full rate for an extra good deal. We stayed in the standard room, big comfortable bed, desk and amenities, no great views but all we needed for overnight stay. I have no doubt the suites are very luxurious going on the offerings of a standard room (unfortunately not within our budget!)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,411
    828
    228
    88
    40
See reviews for
382
2,071
257
570
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (469)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

I came in late, about half past midnight. I had to be up for an 8am meeting downtown. I stayed here because I wanted sleep. In the 1990s I spent every week for almost 2 years at this hotel so I was interested to see if anything had changed. Slight update in decor (since the mid noughties). I've been staying at the Intercontinental Rialto with no sleep and less than good service. I slept, rested up at 6am breakfasted and left. I had a great corner room, decent breakfast (the service was better than the Rialto but the Rialto's breakfasts are better when they come), and seamless service. If I wasn't working downtown I'd stay here for business.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goulburn, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Last year we booked a room for 4 nights on the 40 floor to enjoy the New Years Eve fireworks and explore Melbourne.

Wonderful room, excellent customer service and great food. On New Years Eve we had dinner sent to our room and enjoyed the fabulous fireworks which were exploding at our level - the spectacle and noise exceeded our expectations.

Melbourne we love - except for some of the taxi drivers - never hail one - best to get your taxi from the hotel. One we hailed and hopped in to have him ask us for directions to our hotel and we were only a few blocks away! We asked him to stop and he demanded $7.00!

Lygon Street was a favourite destination for eating out, shopping was fabulous - including particularly good service from a lovely young man in the men's clothing department at Myers and, of course, the trams are great for getting around the city.

We enjoyed our stay so much we returned for the finals of the Australian tennis and again stayed at Sofitel on Collins - this time on the 44th floor - even better views! For the tennis we took the Corporate package with excellent seats and were fortunate to enjoy a marvellous weekend of tennis plus excellent dining in the Corporate tent, access to relaxing bars and to see what has been dubbed the greatest tennis match ever - Novak Djokovic V Rafael Nadal, a 5 hours and 53 minute absolute spellbounder!

Room Tip: Corner suite above the 38th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

The best bed and wonderful room. Loved the 'smartglass' feature in the bathroom shower recess! The staff were so helpful and kind-hearted. Will return definitely to Melbourne and the Sofitel on Collins.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Melbourne on Collins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Melbourne on Collins

Address: 25 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#3 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#3 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#11 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Melbourne on Collins 5*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Melbourne On Collins is at the Paris end of Collins Street, in the heart of the city's premier shopping, dining and theatre district, just minutes from the famous Melbourne Cricket Ground. This award-winning hotel has 363 luxurious rooms that begin from level 36 offering breathtaking views from floor-to-ceiling windows. Each room is complemented by modern furnishings, mood lighting, LED\LCD or Plasma televisions and iPod|MP3 connection. Marble bathrooms offer automated low level lighting and French amenities.Enjoy modern dining in No35, high tea occasions in Sofi's Lounge or stylish cocktails in the Atrium Bar On 35.For meetings and events, Sofitel Melbourne On Collins is one of the city’s most comprehensive integrated hotel conference venues offering 12 individual meetings venues with comprehensive audio-visual services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Odigeo, EasyToBook, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Sofitel Melbourne on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Melbourne On Collins Hotel Melbourne
Accor Melbourne On Collins
Melbourne Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.