We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Melbourne on Collins

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Melbourne on Collins to your Saves list
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   25 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Don't miss breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2008

This is a fabulous hotel, recently updated and very nicely appointed.
Rooms are really nice, but the most appealing thing about the Sofitel is the Breakfast.

I guarantee you will not get a finer spread anywhere.

And being on the 42nd floor, you get a great view while you're shovelling down the delightful selections available to start the day.

Generally the evening meals are also good in this restaurant, but are a little pricey and the service is just OK, not fantastic.

It's my hotel of choice these days, but if you do stay elsewhere, I strongly suggest you swing by first thing for a helluva feed.

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — Waiting for the lifts, they're very slow.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,411
    828
    228
    88
    40
See reviews for
382
2,071
257
570
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (469)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2008

We stayed here again for 1 night after a previous pleasant experience, but this time were disappointed. Felt that for the price you can do better in Melbourne e.g. Park Hyatt or the Westin. Had a corner King suite, fantastice views. The shower head fell off and the air-conditioning was not adequate even though it was turned up fully on a very hot night. Tried the "happy hour" in the 35th floor bar, which was advertised in our room. The waitress had no idea of this deal and didn't appear to have any knowledge of the wines available, and then tried to charge us double the price! We are members of the Sofitel club and registered our disappointment and complaints in the customer survey but have not had any response from management, which is diasappointing.

  • Liked — the views
  • Disliked — poor value
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2008

We stayed here on new years eve as it was the only hotel to advertise a fireworks view, it was $550 for the night and the room was a major disappointment, it was very small and dreary and the bathroom tiles were absolutely filthy, on the bathroom bench your could see the spots around the glasses etc where instead of lifting and wiping the maid had just wiped up to them, there where old glass rings on the surface and the grouting around the toilet was filthy.

The breakfast was cold and the milk jug chipped, when paying $37 each for breakfast I expect it to be warm and well presented, it was neither.

The lifts are terminally slow too and when they eventually come are always stopping at lower floors for groups of people with no hope of fitting in.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — lack of cleanliness
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2008

Not Happy,
After notifying the hotel that we would be arriving around 11pm, we arrived to no conceirge to help us with our bags, so you can imagine how impressed i was to lug a suitcase in my wedding dress up the escorlator to the recepiton area, then waited 4 minutes for any recoginition from the reception staff who was not serving anyone else,. The management need to be replaced as they are not training there people correctly, We have stayed in some of the most highly rated hotels in the world along with your standard hotels and i have never been so upset about customer service. The positive side is this is a very good hotel in regards to rooms, food and location. Just watch out for the uneducated, Nonchalant staff.

Stayed March 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2008

I booked this hotel for my parents who were coming to visit me in Melbourne a couple of weeks ago. Apaert from its great location, I was amazed by the room they had. They had a huge bath and a walk-in wardrobe, powder room, separate dining area and the most amazing view over the northern surburbs, which was spectacular at night.

  • Liked — the rooms are gorgeous and stylishly decorated
  • Disliked — the price. Over 200$ a night is definitely not recommended for backpackers
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2008

Stayed at the Sofitel for 5 nights and was very pleased. I upgraded to the "Club Sofitel", which is excellent. It's a great lounge on the 39th floor (fantstic views). Excellent breakfast (either buffet, or made to order), snacks during the day, drinks, free internet access, and extremely helpful staff. And, they press 2 items per day for those staying at the Club Sofitel.

The rooms at the Sofitel are comfortable and very clean. Near the bed there is control for the room lighting which is very convenient. The hotel has a very good location on Collins Street and there are many good shops and restaurants a short walk away.

Hotel staff were all very good (often greeting me by name even though I only met them once). And the hotel gym is nice as well.

I would definitely stay at the Sofitel if I were to return to Melbourne.

  • Liked — Outstanding staff
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2007

Work recently sent me to Sofitel Melbourne (from Sydney) for an overnight conference. I found the Hotel service to be very good, nothing great but very confortable.
For a short business trip i could not falt this hotel, easy to use broadband in the room, connections for the laptop to hook up to the surround sound in the room (great for itunes), lights, TV, everything controlled by an LCD touch screen (instructions in room guide next to bed).
Best part of the stay was the bed. I found the bed to be amazing for a hotel bed, pillow top which you sink right down in (might not suit those with bad backs) with extra soft pillows.
My room looked out over the MCG, however the hotel is not in the centre of the city so if planning to do sightseeing then this hotel is not for you. If only staying one night and don't mind been away from the true hussle and bustle then i highly recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — The confortable bed
  • Disliked — 6 lifts servicing 45 floors
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Melbourne on Collins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Melbourne on Collins

Address: 25 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#3 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#3 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#11 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Melbourne on Collins 5*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Melbourne On Collins is at the Paris end of Collins Street, in the heart of the city's premier shopping, dining and theatre district, just minutes from the famous Melbourne Cricket Ground. This award-winning hotel has 363 luxurious rooms that begin from level 36 offering breathtaking views from floor-to-ceiling windows. Each room is complemented by modern furnishings, mood lighting, LED\LCD or Plasma televisions and iPod|MP3 connection. Marble bathrooms offer automated low level lighting and French amenities.Enjoy modern dining in No35, high tea occasions in Sofi's Lounge or stylish cocktails in the Atrium Bar On 35.For meetings and events, Sofitel Melbourne On Collins is one of the city’s most comprehensive integrated hotel conference venues offering 12 individual meetings venues with comprehensive audio-visual services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook, ACCOR, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Sofitel Melbourne on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Melbourne On Collins Hotel Melbourne
Accor Melbourne On Collins
Melbourne Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.