We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sofitel Collins St - NOT 5 star.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Melbourne on Collins

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Melbourne on Collins to your Saves list
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   25 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Early Booking
Ranked #10 of 170 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Sofitel Collins St - NOT 5 star.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

Overall not too bad but if you are expecting a 5 star experience - look elsewhere.
Room was old fashioned - maybe trendy 15 years ago ! Bathroom - very motel style. You shower in a bath with a curved floor - can hardly stand up !!
The restaurant - No 35 - expensive but food quantity and quality does not match the price.
I had John Dory and was told it had 2 fillets of fish. Actually each "piece" was about a bite size and there were 2 !! The accompanying seafood was 2 smaller pieces of calamari. Seriously not worth the 90 minute wait or the $45 price tag.
Service was terrible.
My credit card was charged some $600 for no reason and this took a few hours to sort out AFTER we got home.
Overall - pretty average.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMelb, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, January 23, 2012
Thank you for telling us about your experience following your recent stay with us.
I am appreciative of your comment regarding our guest room’s interiors needing to be updated. Even though a full guest room refurbishment was completed a number of years ago, I recognize and acknowledge your comments.
I am also grateful for your assessment and for highlighting the specific issues you have experienced in our No35 restaurant. I sincerely apologise for the impact this had on your stay.
I hope that we may have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,916 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,594
    918
    260
    100
    44
See reviews for
426
2,240
268
636
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (545)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

I recently spent 4 nights at this Hotel and was spoilt from my arrival to my departure. Staff were fantastic, prompt and very welcoming. The room was large, clean and comfortable and those views across East Melbourne were simply spectacular. I enjoyed dinner at Restaurant No.35 on my last night and the food & wine was outstanding. I would without hesitation recommend this Hotel to you. Well done Sofitel Melbourne - I will be back again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

Lovely hotel. quick check in, quick check out
Room clean, luxury sheets and towels
Unbelievable views from 47th floor, 180 degrees so could see the MCG, Tennis centres, new soccer stadium
Highly recommend, to all people who value service, we are Accor members and used our complimentary night, upgraded to suoerior suite cost us $65, best money we have ever spent
Dinner was great, wine expensive. Breakfast excellent, staff very attentive on both dining occasions
We will certainly be staying at the Sofitel again

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Sofitel Melbourne on Collins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Melbourne on Collins

Address: 25 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#10 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#13 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#13 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Melbourne on Collins 5*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Melbourne On Collins is at the Paris end of Collins Street, in the heart of the city's premier shopping, dining and theatre district, just minutes from the famous Melbourne Cricket Ground. This award-winning hotel has 363 luxurious rooms that begin from level 36 offering breathtaking views from floor-to-ceiling windows. Each room is complemented by modern furnishings, mood lighting, LED\LCD or Plasma televisions and iPod|MP3 connection. Marble bathrooms offer automated low level lighting and French amenities.Enjoy modern dining in No35, high tea occasions in Sofi's Lounge or stylish cocktails in the Atrium Bar On 35.For meetings and events, Sofitel Melbourne On Collins is one of the city’s most comprehensive integrated hotel conference venues offering 12 individual meetings venues with comprehensive audio-visual services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Melbourne on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Melbourne On Collins Hotel Melbourne
Accor Melbourne On Collins
Melbourne Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.