We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“poor service in afternoon tea room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Melbourne on Collins

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Melbourne on Collins to your Saves list
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   25 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Early Booking
Ranked #9 of 173 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A TripAdvisor Member
“poor service in afternoon tea room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

The hotel room and service were excellent, BUT the service at afternoon tea left a lot to be desired, we met Andrew who served us our free drink, after that we never heard form him again. we had dirty dishes on our table for 15 minutes and nobody removed them we then put them on the window sill. A watress looked at our dirty dishes but kept on walking removing other dishes from other tables but not ours. we asked her to move them when we ordered our pot of tea. apart from the the afternon tea was excellent but failed with the lack of good service. perhaps there was a shortage of staff working. thank you.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelMelb, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, December 27, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us.

It made me very happy to read that overall you had a fantastic time with us.

Thank you also for bringing to my attention the lapse in service you have experienced while having afternoon tea, and I sincerely apologise fro the impact this had on your visit. This is certainly no indicative of our high customer standard and I do hope that we will have the opportunity to show you these when you next visit.

Best regards,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,861 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,561
    904
    256
    97
    43
See reviews for
421
2,213
266
619
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (535)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

A most enjoyable experience. Staff were examplary in both friendliness and helpfulness
It is a shame that we don't get value from our points. Perhaps its our ignorance. The locality isvery suitable for us as we enjoy beingin the City but a short walk from the retail hub.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringwood North
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

this hotel is an outstanding position for Melbourne sight seeing. Close to trams, walking distance to main shopping, live theatres, parliament house and parks, short ride to MCG. In the "Paris" end of the city with excellent intact Victorian buildings as streetscape. The hotel offers good in room dining, Sunday afternoon high tea with Jazz in Sofi's lounge, etc. Movie theatre below the hotel and food court makes for cheaper eating. Hotel is expensive if you don't get a package-i am a member of ACCOR which makes it affordable for me.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

Stayed recently for my wife's Christmas party and apart from the usual frustration of not being able to correctly use the key card without a science degree it was a terrific stay at a high class hotel where all the staff were friendly, helpful and mad the stay a real pleasure.

The room was excellent with a magnificent view and we both thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Will certainly stay again soon as it's much superior to the other 5 star hotels in the street.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

The Sofitel continues to be one of the best hotels in Melbourne. The service and standards are always outstanding in all areas; from the initial reception, the dining areas, the rooms and even the car valet service. All areas are excellent!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

My only 'complaint' is that there is so much light in the rooms at night that sleep for me is a bad thought. Otherwise great.

Why did I receive a red message telling me I had not completed this section?

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

We found the bed to be quite 'lumpy' as it was 2 beds put together to make a big bed and too many 'soft' covers put over the 2 beds.
Also we were surprised to find a long breakfast queue the following day as there did not appear to be sufficient staff to show guests to their tables.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Melbourne on Collins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Melbourne on Collins

Address: 25 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#8 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#13 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Melbourne on Collins 5*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Melbourne On Collins is at the Paris end of Collins Street, in the heart of the city's premier shopping, dining and theatre district, just minutes from the famous Melbourne Cricket Ground. This award-winning hotel has 363 luxurious rooms that begin from level 36 offering breathtaking views from floor-to-ceiling windows. Each room is complemented by modern furnishings, mood lighting, LED\LCD or Plasma televisions and iPod|MP3 connection. Marble bathrooms offer automated low level lighting and French amenities.Enjoy modern dining in No35, high tea occasions in Sofi's Lounge or stylish cocktails in the Atrium Bar On 35.For meetings and events, Sofitel Melbourne On Collins is one of the city’s most comprehensive integrated hotel conference venues offering 12 individual meetings venues with comprehensive audio-visual services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Melbourne on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Melbourne On Collins Hotel Melbourne
Accor Melbourne On Collins
Melbourne Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.