We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still Special” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Melbourne on Collins

Save Saved
You added Sofitel Melbourne on Collins to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   25 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Early Booking
Ranked #4 of 170 Hotels in Melbourne
A TripAdvisor Member
“Still Special”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

We spent 2 nights at this hotel as we have stayed here regularly since our honeymoon 22 years ago. It's long been our favorite hotel in Melbourne and we loved the corner room on the 44th floor. We requested a north facing room and this was provided by friendly check-in staff. The rooms, views and luxurious bed are the reasons we keep coming back. Only concerns were a complete lack of interest by the chef's at breakfast who even failed to provide a soft poached egg as requested, sadly they just weren't on their game. The cocktail's at the Atrium are really poor value when the small glass is filled to the brim with ice.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,319
    793
    215
    84
    37
See reviews for
374
1,987
247
540
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (430)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

The Sofitel is a fabulous place to stay. All rooms are high above the city traffic and out of range, but the views across the city or the bay are breathtaking. The rooms are high class, excellently appointed and the beds are great. This is a high class hotel from the valet parking to the succulent menu of Restuarant 35 ( check out the view from the restrooms on this floor ) . The only thing that kept me awake was the "cracking" noise of the wall plaster when the air was thrust up the fire escape near the room causing the wall plaster to move. It happens every half hour. I did report this on checkout and anticipate maintenance will attend to this.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

We had a great stay with Sofitel. It is in a great location, the service is second to none and the pillow top beds are heaven after a big day exploring the city.

Breakfast and dinner were both wonderful, we don't like anything too fancy and the Atrium really hit the spot. All of this luxury does come with a price tag though.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

I did not enjoyed the recent stay I had at the Sofitel Melbourne, due mainly to the rude reception staff when I was checking out. I found the staff very rude, arrogant and reluctant to help, when I asked them to clarify my hotel bill. The response I receive from the reception staff was suprising rude, arrogant and they seem reluctant to help. I am very disappointed by this and it spoilt the whole experience for my husband and I. I will not be returning to the Sofitel in a hurry. During my stay, I was booked into a luxury suite and if this is how they treat you when you were paying a lot of money, I would prefer to stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Melbourne on Collins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Melbourne on Collins

Address: 25 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#3 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#6 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Melbourne on Collins 5*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Melbourne On Collins is at the Paris end of Collins Street, in the heart of the city's premier shopping, dining and theatre district, just minutes from the famous Melbourne Cricket Ground. This award-winning hotel has 363 luxurious rooms that begin from level 36 offering breathtaking views from floor-to-ceiling windows. Each room is complemented by modern furnishings, mood lighting, LED\LCD or Plasma televisions and iPod|MP3 connection. Marble bathrooms offer automated low level lighting and French amenities.Enjoy modern dining in No35, high tea occasions in Sofi's Lounge or stylish cocktails in the Atrium Bar On 35.For meetings and events, Sofitel Melbourne On Collins is one of the city’s most comprehensive integrated hotel conference venues offering 12 individual meetings venues with comprehensive audio-visual services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Reservation Counter, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Melbourne on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Melbourne On Collins Hotel Melbourne
Accor Melbourne On Collins
Melbourne Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.