We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great - a little weird even...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne to your Saves list
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   630 Little Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Bondi, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Not great - a little weird even...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2009

Stayed in the Vibe Savoy while travelling to Melbourne for work. Its a very strange hotel. Its aptly named Vibe, because it has a very strange one! My room has floor to ceiling windows that looked into an internal court yard of sorts - which meant that other guest walking the corridors could look straight into your room! The decor was ugly and the room not particularly clean. The other strange thing was instead of a queen sized quilt on the bed, they had two singles...weird and not condusive to a great night's sleep. Would not recommend this hotel (there are plenty of other reasonably priced hotels in Melbourne!)

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    375
    556
    216
    69
    21
See reviews for
160
388
134
341
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
perth
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2009

WE happy with our stay. The hotel and rooms were clean and the decor was good. The location is excellent and it is away from the main nightlife so it is quiet at night. You do hear the trains though if you are on the Southern Cross station side. It was handy having the staion and trams right outside and also DFO straight across the road. Breakfast was a little boring after a couple of days and the TV reception was not the best but we were not there to sit in our room and watch TV.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2009

Convenient location for walking & easy public transport around Melbourne CBD.
Helpful & friendly staff. Very quiet - despite being opposite train station.
My room was comfortable, clean & tidy, but rather small & dark. No problem if you don't intend to spend much time in the room.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2009

The rooms are very small, but charmingly decorated. Good location close to Spencer St Station and Docklands. My colleague though had a strangely over-large room, which had no windows, but glass looking into the central atrium, which was noisy.

Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2009

Stayed at the Vibe Savoy for just one night in March 2009 when I was working for V Festival. My flight from Sydney got me in to Melbourne very early on a Saturday morning but the reception staff were very understanding. I thought I was going to have to leave my luggage and come back in the afternoon but they were able to find me a room which was great (it was on the smoking floor but I could deal with that).

The hotel has a very cool art deco decor which gave it a somewhat 50's glamor feel. The room I had was painfully small with a TV, desk, bed and mini bar. This must have been one of the smallest rooms they had and I wouldn't recommend one of these rooms for a longer stay.

There's a bar on the ground floor where I had a few drinks which was great but I didn't use any of the other hotel facilities. Location is great and the staff were wonderful in ensuring that our party was all up at 4am to get to the airport on time. I would come back to this hotel, everything was just pretty easy.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2009

I stayed at the Vibe Savoy for 3 nights in May. I found a good rate on Expedia and was attracted to its location directly across from Southern Cross Station, where I could catch an early Skybus back to the airport on my way out of town.

Staff: Front desk staff were hit and miss. One of the concierges was exceedingly nice and helpful, while one of the desk clerks treated me with an attitude when I asked for conditioner and lotion. (More on that later.) Check in and check out were timely, so no complaints there.

Lobby: Very tastefully decorated and well designed.

Room: Small! Furniture and room design seemed a bit dated. Desk was stuffed into a corner. TV (flat screen, but not many channels) was tucked into a cabinet, so the cabinet doors blocked views of TV from the desk. View from the seventh floor onto the rear street was pleasant and not too noisy. Walls were thin; I could hear the piped-in music from the hallway when I wasn't making any noise in my room. Also, I could hear every person in my part of the hotel as they entered and exited their rooms.

Bathroom: Also small! Toilet tucked into a cubbyhole. Shower/tub combo awkwardly had towel racks located inside, making it possible to get things wet during a shower. Tub had high step-in, which is not disabled/senior/klutz friendly.

Biggest offender was only having shampoo and soap available. Asked front desk for conditioner and lotion and was told those items were reserved for guests of higher-priced rooms. Seriously? This is supposed to be a 4-star hotel! Front desk clerk would not give me either item and suggested I try asking for them in the morning.

Location: Very convenient to Skybus terminal. I had an early flight out, so I appreciated this greatly. Were that not the case, I would have preferred something nearer to Flinders Street Station.

Price: Cheap, yes, but you pay for it with a small room and by not being offered conditioner and lotion. Also, wireless was pricey, so I ended up using it for free at Southern Cross Station and the nearby Gloria Jean's.

Overall: Didn't spend a bundle here and didn't get a bundle either. Uneven staff professionalism and cost cutting measures were a big turn off. My room would have been too small had I not traveled by myself. A hot tub would have been nice, too. Buyer beware.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2009

Pros:
- Great location since it is close to the skybus terminal (across the road for services to and from the airport), trams (for Melbourne CBD) and trains (Southern Cross Station)
- Friendly staff (staff were easy to deal with and very friendly)
- Clean (The foyer was very nice and clean and the rooms were neat, tidy and clean)
- Modern (The decor of the rooms were quite modern with a black, white and red scheme throughout)

Cons:
- Very poor insulation. We could hear the conversation of the people in the next room. We could also hear the plugging in of appliances into the wall socket and the flicking of the switch. Walls are paper thin like.
- Rooms are smalls and the bathroom was tiny! It is a struggle to take a shower without banging into the walls or something!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne

Address: 630 Little Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#40 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#44 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#53 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Toga Hotels and Tingo so you can book your Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vibe Savoy Melbourne
Hotel Vibe Savoy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.