We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel right near southern cross & etihad” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne to your Saves list
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   630 Little Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 170 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel right near southern cross & etihad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

I stayed here for 1 night in December 2013 as I was attending a concert at Etihad stadium. It is a very nice hotel and the staff were very nice, friendly and helpful. I was on the 6th floor and the room was perfect - had everything you needed. The best thing has to be the location - across the road from Southern Cross Station & Etihad Stadium and within walking distance of Bourke Street and right across from the Spencer Outlet Centre. The only downside was they had rather loud music quite early (7am) the next morning - not sure where it was but i could hear it from my room. I would highly recommend for travellers - especially if you are going to Etihad stadium.

Room Tip: i would recommend requesting a room on the outside (looking towards little collins street) as my vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa T, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Rachel G

Thank you for time you have taken to provide us with your feedback.

At Vibe Savoy we pride ourselves on our friendly service, great location & comfortable rooms. From the feedback you have provided we are delighted your experience with us was pleasant and you got to utilise the all the hotel’s facilities.

We hope you see you back at Vibe Savoy next time you are in Melbourne.

Kind Regards
Melissa Thompson
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,669 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    561
    736
    264
    83
    25
See reviews for
223
553
178
442
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

We stayed for a week at the Vibe Savoy while I attended a conference (Nov/Dec 2013). At the time of booking the staff promptly responded to my inquiries about getting to and from the convention center and early arrival. Upon arriving we were able to check in early. The convention center was a short walk. The staff (especially JC-I think that is his name) was great in assisting with booking an excursion and any questions we had. The internet/wifi is the only complaint I have. You can pay $2 for 10 minutes in the business center, get 30 minutes free/day in the lobby or pay for in room use. The connectivity was very slow so it takes longer to connect than to actually use it. JC tried his best to get me connected, but it just took a long time. The lobby level bar/restaurant has they typical "Melbourne" $10 lunch specials. It is convenient, but just ok in taste. Dinner was a little better. The hotel is across from a central bus station that have buses that run to and from the airport. There is even a mall over there. This was a very conveniently located hotel with great staff at a good price. The room was a tad small and the shower sits up so you have to be careful stepping out of it (I almost fell one day). The shower also only has a half door so sometimes water spills out onto the floor. There was no "self-service" laundry facility. You can send it out, but it is costly. I would stay here again if I returned to Melbourne.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa T, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Kelly P

Thank you for taking the time to provide your comments. I was delighted to read your feedback about our guest service. I believe you are referring to GK in your comments, he is a true star when it comes to guest service and continuously does his best to assist everyone. It is always great when a guest recognises the outstanding service provided by individual team members.

Thanks again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to our Vibe Savoy in the future.

Kind Regards
Melissa Thompson
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

We loved staying at the Vibe Savoy Hotel in Melbourne. The rooms were clean and tidy and had everything you would need for your stay. We had the buffet breakfast, which was delicious and quite reasonably priced. The bed was very comfortable. We weren't bothered by street noise and had no trouble sleeping. The staff were great, very courteous and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa T, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Anthony H
The Team at Vibe Savoy are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay . Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Vibe Hotels in the near future.

Kind Regards
Melissa Thompson
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

I stayed here mid week for a couple of days, and although it is across the road from perhaps the busiest train station in Melbourne, the noise was not a problem. The bar/cafe in the foyer was welcoming and quite nice for a night cap or a bite to eat. The room was well appointed with a nice size sitting area , desk reasonable bathroom and a mezzanine floor bedroom with a comfortable and large bed. The breakfast was definitely a high light, although much the standard fare for a four star it was all hot, fresh and tasty and the service was excellent. If this place is in you price range I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa T, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Glenn_adelaide

Thank you for the time you have taken to provide us with your feedback.

The team and I are pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us. It is great to hear that you enjoyed not only the rooms at the hotel but were delighted with the buffet breakfast as well.

On behalf of the team we look forward to welcoming you back to Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne soon!

Kind Regards
Melissa Thompson
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

We stayed in the executive suite at the Vibe and it was great. Split across two levels with the living, bathroom and kitchen on the ground floor and the sleeping area on top. The rooms were pleasant and well appointed. The only downside was the street noise came through into the room which made it hard to sleep at times.

The valet parking was also well priced and efficient.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa T, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Rajivkj

The Team at Vibe Savoy are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay in one of our Junior Suites. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Vibe Hotels in the near future.

Kind Regards
Melissa Thompson
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

The Good:
* valet parking: quick and efficient
* The politeness of the staff
* The helpfulness of the staff
* The effectiveness of the 'key' - we have experienced issues with keys over the years

The Bad:
* ONE tissue in the tissue box!
* light over the desk didn't work
* noise from the dinning room was disturbing in the morning (we had an inward facing room

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa T, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Stewart R

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor!

I was thrilled to hear you enjoyed the service provided by the team. At Vibe Savoy we pride ourselves on our friendly service; I truly believe that feedback from our guests is the only true measure of a hotel’s performance.

The Team and I look forward to welcoming you back to Vibe Savoy soon.

Kind Regards
Melissa Thompson
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

We stayed here for one night on our recent tour of Australia.

It is located opposite the Southern Cross station where you can catch a coach direct to the airport. Walk a short distance and you can jump on the City Circle tram which is free and as its name suggests, circles the centre of Melbourne. You can hop on and off and visit whichever attractions are of interest to you.

The hotel is clean and modern with a large lobby.

The room we stayed in was not as big as in some of the other hotels we stayed at, but was plenty adequate for a one night stay. It had all the usual facilities one would expect from accommodation of this standard.

There was no free wifi available in the room. Free wifi available in the reception area was limited to 30 minutes per 24 hours for one device per room only, usable all at once. We never even bothered trying to get online. We used the free service provided at the State Library of Victoria and various other establishments within the city.

Breakfast was included for our tour group and was buffet style and to a good standard.

For its excellent location and overall quality, I'd definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa T, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Vigo63

Thank you for your Trip Advisor review!

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne. I also agree that the location of the hotel is ideal in many ways – we are very close to many of the local attractions and transport.

The Team and I look forward to welcoming you back to Vibe Savoy soon.

Kind Regards
Melissa Thompson
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne

Address: 630 Little Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#35 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#42 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#44 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, EasyToBook, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vibe Savoy Melbourne
Hotel Vibe Savoy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.