We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand but Tired” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne

Save Saved
You added Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   630 Little Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Henley Beach, South Australia, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Grand but Tired”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

This Hotel In its day would have been something truly special but it is tired and let down by multiple small things.

I found all staff to be polite and professional, I was originally checked in to the wrong room but this was solved immediately and i was given a complimentary upgrade which was appreciated.

Room service food was good and while the presentation of the Club sandwich was not the best the sandwich itself was one of the best i have had.

So what lets this hotel down? Well its little things:

The layer of dust on the baby grand piano
Bed side lamps having to different types of globes one giving a bright white the other a soft white
The Safe in the Room not working
Tv remote not working properly and TV having to be turned on and off manually
One side of the bed firm and supportive the other no support
All the menu's in the room being upside down (bizarre)
Room Service Breakfast arriving 15 min after the window delivery time

None of these things on their own is a big deal but combined they all make a difference.

If you stay at this hotel it will be fine and if you love the old grand design this place is probably for you. However for location ion and cost i would choose the Holiday Inn down the road.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

909 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    276
    407
    161
    46
    19
See reviews for
124
295
103
218
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Was lucky enough to stay here for 3 nights over the Grand Prix Weekend in Melbourne this March 2013 and must say with all going on in the city was a very pleasant stay. Easy to get to via train being directly opposite Southern Cross Station, within walking distance of Crown Casino and the Burke Street Mall or jump on a tram to zip around Melbourne at will.
The hotel itself is comfortable with friendly staff who helped where necessary, even offering an umbrella for the rainy Melbourne weather.
Room was a bit dated but was comfortable and had all we needed for a great stay. It faced the station but we didn't have any problem with street noise.
Would be more than happy to stay here again and would recommend for exploring Melbourne.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

As others have said, this hotel is very well situated in Melbourne but we were pleased with the whole experience. The reception staff were always most helpful and efficient. Our room was a good size, clean, had all basic amenities and nice hot shower. We absolutely loved the $10 lunch meals offered - well done to the chef/s.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Stayed here Boxing Day Holiday in 2012.
It was a last minute booking and worked out perfect.
The Hotel is located perfectly if you wanted to go into the city or to the casino. It was walking distance to almost everything if not the free melbourne tram out the front took you there.
You pay for location, not so much for hotel facilities.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Stayed for 1 night and selected the hotel for it's location and previous reviews. This hotel provided good service from check in, happy to secure my bags when I arrived early. My room was warm and comfortable, with a great layout so my suitcase was right by the bathroom. The towels were fluffy and the bathroom products nice. My room overlooked the train station but I was not disturbed by any noise. Everything was clean and well maintained. I did use the gym which is small but functional with great basic equipment (pity I couldn't find the TV remote!). Would stay again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for one night on business during July. It is opposite Spencer Street Station and has a supermarket nearby by no kitchenette in the rooms to self cater. Walking into the hotel the first thing I saw was the receptionist walking back to her desk with a full hot packet of 2minute noodles... Not a good sign.

The lobby is pleasant, and there is a nice atrium built above the lobby. The hallways to the floors were nice but that's where it ended. The rooms were small, the covers were thin, the TV, the Internet and the hotwaterkettle didn't work. Like another reviewer, I Also found the walls were paper thin which meant that one could hear what was going on next door. The decor in the rooms is cheap and cheerful, almost motel style, the Beds were uncomfortable, the duvets way too thin for a mid winter night, so all up a very poor night's sleep.
I didn't bother to try the room service or breakfast, but won't be back. It's important to get a good night's rest when away for work.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Stayed here on a Saturday night. We were given a room with no view, well a view of the inside of the hotel, no big deal really as it was only $169 inc Buffet breakfast for 2, through Webjet. Hotel has some charm though does need an update. Shower head wouldnt stay on its holder, so showering wasnt fun!! Breakfast was nice, though the staff need some tips on service, just a bit lacking, it was as if we were in their way! Would stay again if under $180, but would ensure we didnt get the same type of room.

Room Tip: Dont get an inside room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne

Address: 630 Little Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#41 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#46 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#47 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#51 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vibe Savoy Melbourne
Hotel Vibe Savoy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.