We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne to your Saves list
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   630 Little Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable, great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Really no complaints, we stayed without any hiccups. Staff were friendly and helpful, and the service was above average. They also held our bags all day on our departure date so we could go down to St Kilda before leaving!

- Good value, comfortable with adequate ammenities
- Modest, medium sized room with a great location
- Super close to where to airport shuttle bus drops off

Am most probably going back to stay the next time I go down to Melbourne :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    379
    560
    216
    69
    21
See reviews for
160
392
137
342
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geelong Victoria
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Seemed to be many people checking in at the time we arrived. Staff were run off their feet but still friendly and efficient. We were allocated a room on the 9th floor overlooking Southern Cross station. No street noise from here and plenty of natural light.

King bed, large LCD TV,well appointed large room with nice bathroom. Everything worked.
Bar at street level is popular during late afternoon. Complimentary (warm to cold) snacks provided.Breakfast was of a good standard with plenty of choice although a bit expensive. The dining room is impressive with a fusion of old and new architecture.
Valet car parking was $30.00
.
Checkout was very busy and involved a bit of a wait, possibly short staffed at the time.
All things considered, I would stay here again. Booked through Qantas website.

Good value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Hotel is opposite SX station so is very handy if you are arriving by either bus from airport or train. Room i had on the 6 th floor was clean and functional. I had an inward facing room so no daylight via window. TV is not well positioned. Had mixed experience with staff...just ok on check in but friendly and helpfull when checking out.

Room Tip: Get room with window on outside of building although it could be noisy with trams on Spencer St side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Stayed throughout 2008-2012 for business and also as couple. Hotel well located being next to Spencer St station, main ram hub, and Skybus terminal. Easy to walk into Melb CBD along with Docklands and football stadiums and casino, however the G a bit further and tram recommended. Hotel rooms are a bit dated but clean and bed comfy, showers okay. Small gym in hotel which you can get by on, and hotel itself and rooms very quiet and good for getting a good night rest. No real views to speak of given its location. Service and concierge always friendly, and hotel is quieter in higher rooms than some of the other hotels nearby. At price point it is far nicer than those hotels on same street, however Quest in Docklands and Mercure on Queen offer far larger rooms than Vibe. There is a small bar in hotel which is serviceable, and hotel breakfast isn't bad albeit overpriced compared wi laneway cafes on your door step. Handy if looking for a quick business or personal stay. For corporate rate a good hotel, would stay again

Room Tip: Go higher rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devonport, Australia
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Stayed here over the Anzac Day long weekend. I booked this hotel some time ago after extensive internet research, and even though they claim to match any advertised price, I had to jump through hoops to get them to match the price on a third party website. The person I dealt with was less than helpful, anyone would think I was trying to get it for free the way she carried on.

On arrival, the desk staff seemed harassed, but we were processed reasonably efficiently. Our room was well appointed and on the top floor, although it had not very nice views over the side street. That didn't matter too much as we don't spend to much time in the room anyway.

When we first got to our room, we tried to turn on the TV to get an update of the footy score, but it wouldn't work. We rang reception and got a very unhelpful person who even though he had poor English, spoke to me like I was an idiot. He eventually came up to the room to sort out the problem (and it wasn't my fault!). The next morning, we couldn't work the TV again, I conveyed this to the reception staff on the way out, and it was sorted while we were out for the day, we had no problems after that.

The room was very stuffy, and we were forced to use the air-conditioner the whole time we were there as there was no opening window. As a result, I ended up with a bad cold by the time we left. Nice little souvenier - NOT! Maybe it's time to clean your filters.

Housekeeping didn't bother to show up on the Saturday, so I had to request fresh towels and a top-up of the tea and coffee.

Apart from that, it was a reasonably pleasant stay. We don't mind walking, so easy enough to get into town or jump on tram or train.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for your feedback from your stay at the Vibe Savoy Hotel. I was disappointed to here your experience was not to your expectation. I have this morning discussed your feedback with the team, reiterating the importance of great guest service each and every time.
I trust this experienced has not tarnished your view of the Vibe Savoy Hotel, and welcome you back next time you are in Melbourne
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Star707, Sydney
Top Contributor
292 reviews 292 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
492 helpful votes 492 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We looked for accommodation for an Easter break in Melbourne. This well appointed hotel is located across the road from Southern Cross Railway Station. This means that you don't need to hire a car. The hotel is within walking distance of the CBD, Docklands, Southbank. The railway station across the street gives you access to anywhere you want to go, and then there are trams. How good is that? The hotel room we had was twin and was spacious, tastefully furnished, and came with plenty of storage and hanging space, a safe, a flat screen TV, access to internet (for an exorbitant fee - take your 'dongle') well stocked bar 'fridge and a writing desk. The bathroom was small but well stocked with fluffy white towels and quality soaps and shampoo. The bathroom, however, is where things fell down a bit: there was mold on the grouting in the bathtub/shower. The step into and out of the bath tub was just that bit too high which is an unnecessary risk to introduce into the equation. There is nothing to hold onto to steady yourself, should you need to, except for the flat of your hand against wet slippery tiles or the glass swinging door around the shower, deadly. This is a serious fault in the rooms and if you are an older person I would counsel against choosing this hotel on this issue alone. The foyer is attractive and there is a room where you can use computers. The reception staff are competent and helpful. They are happy to store your luggage if you need to. The breakfast room/restaurant is very pleasant and the breakfasts are extraordinarily good. The staff in the restaurant are helpful and courteous. There is no good reason to have breakfast anywhere else really. We noticed that an American Youth Orchestra was checking out while we were there, and that most of the clientele were younger people who looked as though they had just graduated from backpacking. In the immediate neighborhood there is the largest Convenience Store I have ever seen, so that makes life easy if you have forgotten anything or you want a midnight snack.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for your sharing your feedback about your stay at the Vibe Savoy Hotel. There is a very limited amount of rooms that due to design restraints do not have a hand rail to gain access to the bath tub. I will personally review these rooms to see if we can find an alternate solution to resolve your concerns.
Thank you for your feedback, allowing us to better our product
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Lovely big room with huge bed. We were on a higher level - some views and really quiet. Opposite Southern Cross Railway station - perfect for airport bus and other transport links. Could walk into central city and across river. Friendly staff. Good value lunch meals at the ground floor bar. Liked the central atrium. Only downside was lack of seating - we had visitors and felt embarrassed having to sit on the bed. Plenty of room for a couch or more chairs. We got a good deal on the room on a special - usually out of our price range so nice to experience such a quality hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for your great feedback and I am glad you enjoyed your recent stay
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne

Address: 630 Little Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#40 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#44 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#53 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Toga Hotels and Tingo so you can book your Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vibe Savoy Melbourne
Hotel Vibe Savoy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.