We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, shame about the staff (well, most of them) .....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne to your Saves list
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   630 Little Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Devonport, Australia
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, shame about the staff (well, most of them) .....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Stayed here over the Anzac Day long weekend. I booked this hotel some time ago after extensive internet research, and even though they claim to match any advertised price, I had to jump through hoops to get them to match the price on a third party website. The person I dealt with was less than helpful, anyone would think I was trying to get it for free the way she carried on.

On arrival, the desk staff seemed harassed, but we were processed reasonably efficiently. Our room was well appointed and on the top floor, although it had not very nice views over the side street. That didn't matter too much as we don't spend to much time in the room anyway.

When we first got to our room, we tried to turn on the TV to get an update of the footy score, but it wouldn't work. We rang reception and got a very unhelpful person who even though he had poor English, spoke to me like I was an idiot. He eventually came up to the room to sort out the problem (and it wasn't my fault!). The next morning, we couldn't work the TV again, I conveyed this to the reception staff on the way out, and it was sorted while we were out for the day, we had no problems after that.

The room was very stuffy, and we were forced to use the air-conditioner the whole time we were there as there was no opening window. As a result, I ended up with a bad cold by the time we left. Nice little souvenier - NOT! Maybe it's time to clean your filters.

Housekeeping didn't bother to show up on the Saturday, so I had to request fresh towels and a top-up of the tea and coffee.

Apart from that, it was a reasonably pleasant stay. We don't mind walking, so easy enough to get into town or jump on tram or train.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for your feedback from your stay at the Vibe Savoy Hotel. I was disappointed to here your experience was not to your expectation. I have this morning discussed your feedback with the team, reiterating the importance of great guest service each and every time.
I trust this experienced has not tarnished your view of the Vibe Savoy Hotel, and welcome you back next time you are in Melbourne
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    374
    554
    216
    68
    21
See reviews for
159
386
134
341
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Star707, Sydney
Top Contributor
290 reviews 290 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
487 helpful votes 487 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We looked for accommodation for an Easter break in Melbourne. This well appointed hotel is located across the road from Southern Cross Railway Station. This means that you don't need to hire a car. The hotel is within walking distance of the CBD, Docklands, Southbank. The railway station across the street gives you access to anywhere you want to go, and then there are trams. How good is that? The hotel room we had was twin and was spacious, tastefully furnished, and came with plenty of storage and hanging space, a safe, a flat screen TV, access to internet (for an exorbitant fee - take your 'dongle') well stocked bar 'fridge and a writing desk. The bathroom was small but well stocked with fluffy white towels and quality soaps and shampoo. The bathroom, however, is where things fell down a bit: there was mold on the grouting in the bathtub/shower. The step into and out of the bath tub was just that bit too high which is an unnecessary risk to introduce into the equation. There is nothing to hold onto to steady yourself, should you need to, except for the flat of your hand against wet slippery tiles or the glass swinging door around the shower, deadly. This is a serious fault in the rooms and if you are an older person I would counsel against choosing this hotel on this issue alone. The foyer is attractive and there is a room where you can use computers. The reception staff are competent and helpful. They are happy to store your luggage if you need to. The breakfast room/restaurant is very pleasant and the breakfasts are extraordinarily good. The staff in the restaurant are helpful and courteous. There is no good reason to have breakfast anywhere else really. We noticed that an American Youth Orchestra was checking out while we were there, and that most of the clientele were younger people who looked as though they had just graduated from backpacking. In the immediate neighborhood there is the largest Convenience Store I have ever seen, so that makes life easy if you have forgotten anything or you want a midnight snack.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for your sharing your feedback about your stay at the Vibe Savoy Hotel. There is a very limited amount of rooms that due to design restraints do not have a hand rail to gain access to the bath tub. I will personally review these rooms to see if we can find an alternate solution to resolve your concerns.
Thank you for your feedback, allowing us to better our product
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Lovely big room with huge bed. We were on a higher level - some views and really quiet. Opposite Southern Cross Railway station - perfect for airport bus and other transport links. Could walk into central city and across river. Friendly staff. Good value lunch meals at the ground floor bar. Liked the central atrium. Only downside was lack of seating - we had visitors and felt embarrassed having to sit on the bed. Plenty of room for a couch or more chairs. We got a good deal on the room on a special - usually out of our price range so nice to experience such a quality hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for your great feedback and I am glad you enjoyed your recent stay
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Booking - booked on the hotel website using a 10% discount code the hotel had sent me (I've stayed at other properties in the chain).

Parking - valet parking - reasonable price for Melbourne.

Check in - very busy and not enough staff. Check in staff were also distracted by having to answer the phone while checking in someone in person at the same time!

Room - was quite small....opening the cabinet at the end of the bed (so as to watch the TV) meant not being able to get around the bed. The bedside lamps were unplugged, so had to move the bed around to re-plug them in. Window was filthy (on the outside). Shower has a shelf strategically positioned to allow you to bump you head when washing your hair. The room has individually controlled airconditioning, but unfortunately I didn't notice the controls until the following morning (as they were on the side of the bedside table on the side of the room I'd have to close the cabinet door to access.....) - so had a cold night (mind you, the setting was mid-way so I'm not sure why it was so cold?). There was no in-room booklet to outline the 'features' of the room.

Check out - same as check in. Busy as before.

I often travel to Melbourne for business, and typically stay on the other side of the city centre. I would consider staying at the Vibe Savoy another time, but only if the price was right - there is much better value to be had in the city.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for your feedback about your stay. The hotel was scheduled for window cleaning and has in fact completed these works last week. Your feedback on the in room fixtures has been noted and I appreciate your feedback from the experience you had in the room.
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

the rooms were nice especially for the price and the location is really close to downtown and the airport. it was a 30 minute drive to the airport (not during high traffic) and there is a lot of access to public transportation from there to downtown. parking was $10. the staff was friendly and helpful but were not the most professional. i was also charged for a dinner that i didn't order and didn't notice until i got home and it wasn't worth the call from the US for the amount. I'm not sure how that would happen since I would have to sign and it was listed as room service and I had already had a room service that evening so you would think it would draw attention. The pool was really nice even though it was too cold to use this time. we did use the hot tub which was also nice. the fitness room was unusable and everything was out of order. i was also told i was getting a balcony room which i did not. i wasn't concerned until i realized that the street rooms are very noisy and bright (even with the heavy shades). if you just want a place to stay while you visit the city for a very cheap price, i highly recommend.

Room Tip: Ensure that you have a balcony room which will face the parking lot instead of the street and verify...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. The hotel you have reviewed is the Vibe Hotel Carlton, not the Vibe Savoy Melbourne.
I will pass on your feedback to the Vibe Hotel Carlton General Manager to review and discuss.
Thank you for choosing one of the Vibe Hotels
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

The rooms were nice and comfortable, meals in restaurant were good- the room service breakfast was great. Oddly I came back to my room twice and the door was not quite shut- I think that this was from the housekeeper not pulling it shut properly rather than something sinister. Great location for accessing transport. Would recommend.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay. I have since personally addressed your comments about the room door, ensuring this will not happen again.
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I recently stayed at the Vibe Savoy for a week in April for a work trip. I found the staff were extremely attentive, helpful and pleasant.

The guest room is relatively small so you may find it a little squishy if there are two of you. As a solo traveler though, the space was completely fine. Whilst the decor may seem 'dated' to some, I thought it was perfectly fine. The overall room, bedding and bathroom were nice and clean.

Note: the shower was above which was not a problem however the bath is quite high so be careful when stepping in and out of it. There is a support bar installed on the wall to assist with this.

Value for money.

Convenience wise this hotel is directly opposite the Southern Cross station, has many tram stops nearby and a 10 minute walk to Southbank.

Food is average - maybe 3/5 but it definitely did not ruin the stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay at the Vibe Savoy Hotel.
We look forward to being able to welcome you back soon
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne

Address: 630 Little Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#41 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#45 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#53 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Toga Hotels, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vibe Savoy Melbourne
Hotel Vibe Savoy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.