We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, and did I say location....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne

Save Saved
You added Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   630 Little Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
Star707, Sydney
Top Contributor
270 reviews 270 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
382 helpful votes 382 helpful votes
“Location, location, and did I say location....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We looked for accommodation for an Easter break in Melbourne. This well appointed hotel is located across the road from Southern Cross Railway Station. This means that you don't need to hire a car. The hotel is within walking distance of the CBD, Docklands, Southbank. The railway station across the street gives you access to anywhere you want to go, and then there are trams. How good is that? The hotel room we had was twin and was spacious, tastefully furnished, and came with plenty of storage and hanging space, a safe, a flat screen TV, access to internet (for an exorbitant fee - take your 'dongle') well stocked bar 'fridge and a writing desk. The bathroom was small but well stocked with fluffy white towels and quality soaps and shampoo. The bathroom, however, is where things fell down a bit: there was mold on the grouting in the bathtub/shower. The step into and out of the bath tub was just that bit too high which is an unnecessary risk to introduce into the equation. There is nothing to hold onto to steady yourself, should you need to, except for the flat of your hand against wet slippery tiles or the glass swinging door around the shower, deadly. This is a serious fault in the rooms and if you are an older person I would counsel against choosing this hotel on this issue alone. The foyer is attractive and there is a room where you can use computers. The reception staff are competent and helpful. They are happy to store your luggage if you need to. The breakfast room/restaurant is very pleasant and the breakfasts are extraordinarily good. The staff in the restaurant are helpful and courteous. There is no good reason to have breakfast anywhere else really. We noticed that an American Youth Orchestra was checking out while we were there, and that most of the clientele were younger people who looked as though they had just graduated from backpacking. In the immediate neighborhood there is the largest Convenience Store I have ever seen, so that makes life easy if you have forgotten anything or you want a midnight snack.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for your sharing your feedback about your stay at the Vibe Savoy Hotel. There is a very limited amount of rooms that due to design restraints do not have a hand rail to gain access to the bath tub. I will personally review these rooms to see if we can find an alternate solution to resolve your concerns.
Thank you for your feedback, allowing us to better our product
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

878 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    265
    394
    156
    46
    17
See reviews for
117
285
102
202
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Lovely big room with huge bed. We were on a higher level - some views and really quiet. Opposite Southern Cross Railway station - perfect for airport bus and other transport links. Could walk into central city and across river. Friendly staff. Good value lunch meals at the ground floor bar. Liked the central atrium. Only downside was lack of seating - we had visitors and felt embarrassed having to sit on the bed. Plenty of room for a couch or more chairs. We got a good deal on the room on a special - usually out of our price range so nice to experience such a quality hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for your great feedback and I am glad you enjoyed your recent stay
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Booking - booked on the hotel website using a 10% discount code the hotel had sent me (I've stayed at other properties in the chain).

Parking - valet parking - reasonable price for Melbourne.

Check in - very busy and not enough staff. Check in staff were also distracted by having to answer the phone while checking in someone in person at the same time!

Room - was quite small....opening the cabinet at the end of the bed (so as to watch the TV) meant not being able to get around the bed. The bedside lamps were unplugged, so had to move the bed around to re-plug them in. Window was filthy (on the outside). Shower has a shelf strategically positioned to allow you to bump you head when washing your hair. The room has individually controlled airconditioning, but unfortunately I didn't notice the controls until the following morning (as they were on the side of the bedside table on the side of the room I'd have to close the cabinet door to access.....) - so had a cold night (mind you, the setting was mid-way so I'm not sure why it was so cold?). There was no in-room booklet to outline the 'features' of the room.

Check out - same as check in. Busy as before.

I often travel to Melbourne for business, and typically stay on the other side of the city centre. I would consider staying at the Vibe Savoy another time, but only if the price was right - there is much better value to be had in the city.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for your feedback about your stay. The hotel was scheduled for window cleaning and has in fact completed these works last week. Your feedback on the in room fixtures has been noted and I appreciate your feedback from the experience you had in the room.
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

the rooms were nice especially for the price and the location is really close to downtown and the airport. it was a 30 minute drive to the airport (not during high traffic) and there is a lot of access to public transportation from there to downtown. parking was $10. the staff was friendly and helpful but were not the most professional. i was also charged for a dinner that i didn't order and didn't notice until i got home and it wasn't worth the call from the US for the amount. I'm not sure how that would happen since I would have to sign and it was listed as room service and I had already had a room service that evening so you would think it would draw attention. The pool was really nice even though it was too cold to use this time. we did use the hot tub which was also nice. the fitness room was unusable and everything was out of order. i was also told i was getting a balcony room which i did not. i wasn't concerned until i realized that the street rooms are very noisy and bright (even with the heavy shades). if you just want a place to stay while you visit the city for a very cheap price, i highly recommend.

Room Tip: Ensure that you have a balcony room which will face the parking lot instead of the street and verify...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. The hotel you have reviewed is the Vibe Hotel Carlton, not the Vibe Savoy Melbourne.
I will pass on your feedback to the Vibe Hotel Carlton General Manager to review and discuss.
Thank you for choosing one of the Vibe Hotels
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

The rooms were nice and comfortable, meals in restaurant were good- the room service breakfast was great. Oddly I came back to my room twice and the door was not quite shut- I think that this was from the housekeeper not pulling it shut properly rather than something sinister. Great location for accessing transport. Would recommend.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay. I have since personally addressed your comments about the room door, ensuring this will not happen again.
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I recently stayed at the Vibe Savoy for a week in April for a work trip. I found the staff were extremely attentive, helpful and pleasant.

The guest room is relatively small so you may find it a little squishy if there are two of you. As a solo traveler though, the space was completely fine. Whilst the decor may seem 'dated' to some, I thought it was perfectly fine. The overall room, bedding and bathroom were nice and clean.

Note: the shower was above which was not a problem however the bath is quite high so be careful when stepping in and out of it. There is a support bar installed on the wall to assist with this.

Value for money.

Convenience wise this hotel is directly opposite the Southern Cross station, has many tram stops nearby and a 10 minute walk to Southbank.

Food is average - maybe 3/5 but it definitely did not ruin the stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay at the Vibe Savoy Hotel.
We look forward to being able to welcome you back soon
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Stayed her for business recently. Its ok, good charm and atmosphere. As a older hotel building (restored very well), the rooms are a littler smaller, but still very nice. Not my usual hotel as they were booked out, but would be happy to stay here again.

Room Tip: A room not facing main street, as you can hear noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay, and we look forward to being able to accommodate you again when next in Melbourne
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne

Address: 630 Little Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#41 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#44 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#44 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#50 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vibe Savoy Melbourne
Hotel Vibe Savoy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.