We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good room for the price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne

Save Saved
You added Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   630 Little Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 170 Hotels in Melbourne
Appleton, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Good room for the price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

the rooms were nice especially for the price and the location is really close to downtown and the airport. it was a 30 minute drive to the airport (not during high traffic) and there is a lot of access to public transportation from there to downtown. parking was $10. the staff was friendly and helpful but were not the most professional. i was also charged for a dinner that i didn't order and didn't notice until i got home and it wasn't worth the call from the US for the amount. I'm not sure how that would happen since I would have to sign and it was listed as room service and I had already had a room service that evening so you would think it would draw attention. The pool was really nice even though it was too cold to use this time. we did use the hot tub which was also nice. the fitness room was unusable and everything was out of order. i was also told i was getting a balcony room which i did not. i wasn't concerned until i realized that the street rooms are very noisy and bright (even with the heavy shades). if you just want a place to stay while you visit the city for a very cheap price, i highly recommend.

Room Tip: Ensure that you have a balcony room which will face the parking lot instead of the street and verify...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. The hotel you have reviewed is the Vibe Hotel Carlton, not the Vibe Savoy Melbourne.
I will pass on your feedback to the Vibe Hotel Carlton General Manager to review and discuss.
Thank you for choosing one of the Vibe Hotels
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,045 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    475
    177
    54
    20
See reviews for
139
336
118
266
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

The rooms were nice and comfortable, meals in restaurant were good- the room service breakfast was great. Oddly I came back to my room twice and the door was not quite shut- I think that this was from the housekeeper not pulling it shut properly rather than something sinister. Great location for accessing transport. Would recommend.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay. I have since personally addressed your comments about the room door, ensuring this will not happen again.
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I recently stayed at the Vibe Savoy for a week in April for a work trip. I found the staff were extremely attentive, helpful and pleasant.

The guest room is relatively small so you may find it a little squishy if there are two of you. As a solo traveler though, the space was completely fine. Whilst the decor may seem 'dated' to some, I thought it was perfectly fine. The overall room, bedding and bathroom were nice and clean.

Note: the shower was above which was not a problem however the bath is quite high so be careful when stepping in and out of it. There is a support bar installed on the wall to assist with this.

Value for money.

Convenience wise this hotel is directly opposite the Southern Cross station, has many tram stops nearby and a 10 minute walk to Southbank.

Food is average - maybe 3/5 but it definitely did not ruin the stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay at the Vibe Savoy Hotel.
We look forward to being able to welcome you back soon
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Stayed her for business recently. Its ok, good charm and atmosphere. As a older hotel building (restored very well), the rooms are a littler smaller, but still very nice. Not my usual hotel as they were booked out, but would be happy to stay here again.

Room Tip: A room not facing main street, as you can hear noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay, and we look forward to being able to accommodate you again when next in Melbourne
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel, Maryland
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

The location of this hotel is great. Its right across from the SouthCross train station and its in walking distance from downtown Melbourne. The hotel is nice looking too. Most of the staff was great- special thanks to G-Gay (sp), Sisilya, William, Sam, my friend from Burma in the Curve restaurant ( I'm sorry I didn't get his name) for my making my stay memorable. There was a slight hiccup during check in but G Gay helped us out very quickly and always with a smile. However there was a rude person at the bar and Harris at the front desk was a bit of a jerk.. Yes Harris I am putting you out there. The buffet breakfast was a great deal and nice variety- very nice.

Our housekeeper was pretty nice and informative as well. I think the rooms were okay but they could use a little bit more cleaning. We were disappointed our sheets weren't changed in our week stay. And speaking of beds- they were a little worn and could feel the springs. The other disappointing thing with this hotel is the wi-fi. First we had to pay for wi-fi and its not cheap. The other thing is that the strength isn't always good and wifi is only limited to 2 devices which really sucks if you have a roommate who has their own devices. You can get free wifi for 30 minutes in the lobby but you have to get a different access code each day and even then I had problems getting the free wifi because sometimes the signal strength was so weak. The gym needs some help too. While it was very clean, they don't have a lot of equipment, there were never any towels or anything to wipe the machines down. There were no bathrooms or locker rooms. It was very unlike the Vibe Ruchcutters we stayed at in Sydney.
For all the little issues I would go back though. The location is great.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for taking time to provide your feedback about your experience at the Vibe Savoy Hotel. It is valuable feedback like this that allows us to refine our services and provide a better experience for our future guests
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Booked for convenience of location - wasn't disappointed.
Checked in with a slight hiccup.
Rooms are large and comfortable - the room we had could have done with a spruce up, paint wise.
Disappointed that we didn't get our sheets changed in the 7 nights we stayed, but it was Easter.
Would stay there again, primarily because of its convenient location to Airbus and station.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is our second stay at the Vibe Savoy Hotel and wiil not be our last. The staff at the Hotel were friendly. The Hotel is in a great location with Southern Cross Station directly opposite, The trams are also at the front door and run to the St Kilda Beach,the shopping precinct of Melbourne and also to the Docklands . The hotel rooms were spacious,with an extremely comfortable bed. The bathrooms a little tight with lovel fluffy towels etc. The only downfall was the shower over bath which an elderly person might have some difficulty climbing in and outof the bath,other than that ...well done Vibe.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne

Address: 630 Little Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#39 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#44 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#48 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#50 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vibe Savoy Melbourne
Hotel Vibe Savoy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.