We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne to your Saves list
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   630 Little Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 169 Hotels in Melbourne
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Pretty Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Stayed her for business recently. Its ok, good charm and atmosphere. As a older hotel building (restored very well), the rooms are a littler smaller, but still very nice. Not my usual hotel as they were booked out, but would be happy to stay here again.

Room Tip: A room not facing main street, as you can hear noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay, and we look forward to being able to accommodate you again when next in Melbourne
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,058 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    480
    181
    54
    20
See reviews for
140
339
118
272
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Laurel, Maryland
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

The location of this hotel is great. Its right across from the SouthCross train station and its in walking distance from downtown Melbourne. The hotel is nice looking too. Most of the staff was great- special thanks to G-Gay (sp), Sisilya, William, Sam, my friend from Burma in the Curve restaurant ( I'm sorry I didn't get his name) for my making my stay memorable. There was a slight hiccup during check in but G Gay helped us out very quickly and always with a smile. However there was a rude person at the bar and Harris at the front desk was a bit of a jerk.. Yes Harris I am putting you out there. The buffet breakfast was a great deal and nice variety- very nice.

Our housekeeper was pretty nice and informative as well. I think the rooms were okay but they could use a little bit more cleaning. We were disappointed our sheets weren't changed in our week stay. And speaking of beds- they were a little worn and could feel the springs. The other disappointing thing with this hotel is the wi-fi. First we had to pay for wi-fi and its not cheap. The other thing is that the strength isn't always good and wifi is only limited to 2 devices which really sucks if you have a roommate who has their own devices. You can get free wifi for 30 minutes in the lobby but you have to get a different access code each day and even then I had problems getting the free wifi because sometimes the signal strength was so weak. The gym needs some help too. While it was very clean, they don't have a lot of equipment, there were never any towels or anything to wipe the machines down. There were no bathrooms or locker rooms. It was very unlike the Vibe Ruchcutters we stayed at in Sydney.
For all the little issues I would go back though. The location is great.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for taking time to provide your feedback about your experience at the Vibe Savoy Hotel. It is valuable feedback like this that allows us to refine our services and provide a better experience for our future guests
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Booked for convenience of location - wasn't disappointed.
Checked in with a slight hiccup.
Rooms are large and comfortable - the room we had could have done with a spruce up, paint wise.
Disappointed that we didn't get our sheets changed in the 7 nights we stayed, but it was Easter.
Would stay there again, primarily because of its convenient location to Airbus and station.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is our second stay at the Vibe Savoy Hotel and wiil not be our last. The staff at the Hotel were friendly. The Hotel is in a great location with Southern Cross Station directly opposite, The trams are also at the front door and run to the St Kilda Beach,the shopping precinct of Melbourne and also to the Docklands . The hotel rooms were spacious,with an extremely comfortable bed. The bathrooms a little tight with lovel fluffy towels etc. The only downfall was the shower over bath which an elderly person might have some difficulty climbing in and outof the bath,other than that ...well done Vibe.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel was probably once a rather gorgeous place but time has taken its toll and redecoration didn't do a great deal for my room. You can see the luxury of the past - marble mosaic bathroom floor, paned mirror wardrobe... but the new additions don't measure up, The worst was the carpet and the cushions on the bed which were both stained to the extent that I changed my pillow for one from the wardrobe after seeing the extremely grubby, spotted cushion resting on it - yuk! However, the rest of the room seemed clean enough.

The room itself was small but adequate, quite dark and I needed a light on all the time. The bed was solid but comfortable though definitely something from the past and the mattress springs squeaked when I sat on them. There was no bed cover at all, just a sheet with a thin basic white quilt folded at the foot.

A TV, electric jug, mini bar (sparse but not as dear as many) , and fridge were enclosed in a mirrored cabinet at the end of the bed. This had big doors which had to swing out to the sides to allow these to be used.

The bathroom was fine, with an old-fashioned (rigid) shower over the bath. The inability to move the head did mean that it was difficult not to get water on ny head and on the floor as there was just a narrow two panelled glass shield to prevent this. Two cakes of soap, one small tube shampoo and conditioner, a shower cap and a sanitary bag were provided.

The air-conditioning worked well to cool and was operated from an extremely antiquated console. However, I wondered if it was designed to heat at all as despite much fiddling, the room remained cold and I woke a number of times during the night feeling the chill.

The view from the window looked directly across a narrow lane to other quite old, tall buildings (offices/apartments), so close that the Asian fellow across the way shut his blinds when he saw me looking out. It would be exhibitionism to dress near the window. We also looked down on washing drying on lines on balconies, No sky in sight - not the greatest view by any means. I would also mention the drapes which were stitched to fit tie-backs which made them impossible to shut completely without putting something on the floor to keep them together.

Other minor negatives: The lamp on the desk did not work. You could hear noise from the adjoinging rooms as well as trams even though our room did not face a traffic street.

This hotel is in a wonderfully convenient location being across the road from the skybus to the airport as well as a tram station to go downtown. The reception staff were efficient though their English skills left a little to be desired (it was hard to work out exactly what they were saying). The desk staff were the only staff I saw.

The price of this hotel was reasonable and probably it was very much a matter of getting what you paid for - though this does not excuse the grubbiness. If you want somewhere very handy, relatively inexpensive, solidly basic - but which echoes days gone by - to rest your head for a night, then this might well work for you - but don't expect luxury!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Got a room on a secret deal on Expedia, was attracted by the descrption of 4.5 stars, hmmm, maybe a 3 or 4 star for me to be honest after my stay.

Nothing went wrong but nothing too special either, wasn't that busy for a Friday night, there were actually three staff at the front desk, but only one was serving customer, there were this customer asking for information about local tourist attraction, but the other two staff might be to attentative to this particular customer instead of greeting me and checking me into the hotel. By saying that, the check-in staff were indeed very nice and friendly.

Nothing special about the room, quite decent size I have to day, needs a little bit refurbishment to the bathroom and for a 4.5 star, maybe bathroom toiletries need an upgrade as well, all these things can be a nice touch for the customer.

Didn't try the breakfast or internet, but 20 something dollars for interent is just way too much these days for hotel, free internent might also attract some customer flow as well if that make sense.

Check out was speedy and efficient, again, very nice staff there.

A final note to hotel management if they are here, I left my GHD hair straightener in the room (616) on 5 April, so if you guys see this review, would you be able to post it to me as I thought a decent hotel will actually contact their customer if there are valuable stuff like this being left behind by customers?

Apart from that, great location and for a quick stay, this could be an ideal one for business traveller or stop over travellers.

Room Tip: can be quite nosiy if the room faces the southcross train station at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel is just across the road from Southern Cross Station, which is also where the Airport Bus stops, so very convenient.
The building is an old one, with high ceilings, solid walls etc. It seems that it used to be another hotel many years ago.
Check in was efficient, room was well presented, clean, lots of space with a great view of the Docklands. The staff were polite and helpful. Breakfast in the room was delivered on time, overall the experience was a positive one. Only downsides were that there was no compendium in the room to tell you what's around, how things work etc. And, even though I was a few doors away from the lift, the sound still penetrated. Not a big deal if you are a good sleeper, not so good for fussy sleepers like myself. I would not hesitate to go back, but next time I'll ask for a room away from the lifts.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne

Address: 630 Little Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#40 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#42 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#48 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vibe Savoy Melbourne
Hotel Vibe Savoy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.