We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We wouldn't stay anywhere else !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne

Save Saved
You added Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   630 Little Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Adelaide
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“We wouldn't stay anywhere else !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Comfortable, great location particularly for public transport, wonderful caring & ever friendly staff - like staying with family you really like ! I have now stayed here four times in 12 months. Each occasion for a different purpose & each time was just fabulous. Most recently, I was unfortunately unwell. Staff even offered to go out to purchase anything required to assist my well being as we'll as being sympathetic to a late check-out to accommodate my travel arrangements. I look forward to returning in September to enjoy exploring Melbourne, catching up with friends and feeling comfortable in familiar surroundings - staff, room, eating & drinking. Love the current $10 lunches offered Monday to Friday.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

913 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    278
    409
    161
    46
    19
See reviews for
124
295
103
217
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

Nice, clean, comfortable rooms, private as well. Easy to access transport and good reception staff. Restaurant and bar lacking in quality and service - we.preferred to eat and.drink elsewhere as they closed the bar at 10:45, which I found surprising, given that we were in house guests. However, we enjoyed our room very much and were comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Perefect location Staff extremely helpful.Quiet comfortable room on 11th floor. shower not much pressure but minor issue Food in hotel good as well Myki cards for the trams a bit confusing but city dwellers also find the same

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for your great feedback from your recent stay
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We had a four night stay in a guest room as part of a package booked for the Australian Open tennis. Although the room was comfortable enough, it was very small and I was disappointed as I expected better due to the cost of the package.
Main gripes were - only one chair which meant that one of us had to sit on the bed if we were having a cup of tea; mini-bar offerings totally filling a tiny bar fridge which meant we had to remove items to put in some fruit etc; and the room looked a bit tired overall - carpet had dirty spots and some walls had chipped paint. One of my main complaints anywhere is when I can hear noise from an adjoining room. Often there were muffled sounds which is ok; however, on our last night there was a group of Indians (I think) playing music and talking really loudly until 12am in the room next door.
Positives were - staff were very helpful and friendly, bed was very comfortable, bathroom functional (although small) and location is very convenient if you need to be near Southern Cross train station. Our room faced Spencer St and we didn't hear much traffic noise at all.
We did enjoy our stay; however, would not stay there for 4 nights again. Two nights maximum would be enough for me.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay. I have personally passed on your comments to the relevant departments which they have sinced addressed.
We look forward to being able to accommodate you again soon
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

I have just spent two nights at Vibe Savoy, a hotel I have stayed at before for business trips. As usual I'm bowled over by the excellent location and value for money. The hotel is 4 star, so comfortable, clean and stylish. It is very close to Spencer St station so easy ( and economical) to catch airport bus, and very safe to walk to hotel even after late night arrival. I had a problem with noisy neighbours (in next room) on first night so staff happily transferred me to another room. My only criticism is that the Internet service is not great, I kept losing connectivity.
For location, value and a pleasant stay in Melbourne this is a top choice.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for your great feedback and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

A hotel that charges a reasonable room rate is often hard to find in Australian cities but this place offers very good value for money.

Location is great - opposite the train/coach station so very handy for the airport bus and there are lots of convenience stores and food options nearby. Short walk to the docklands and southbank restaurants and casino.

Room size was average. Some parts of the room are an older style of fixtures and furnishings, and I would have liked an armchair for relaxing in rather than just a desk chair, but overall it has everything you need and it's all functional and very clean.

It's the usual Australian hotel rip-off for wi-fi - I would suggest buying a pre-pay USB-modem if you're going to be staying more than a couple of nights in hotels in Australia - will work out much cheaper!

Had room service once and it was a reasonable price for what was offered and the 'fit food' idea is good, rather than just having the standard hotel food offerings.

Breakfast buffet is ok - all the usual hot & cold offerings that you would expect at a hotel of this type, and was cheaper than most. The main problem here was the staff - no staff at all for the first 10 minutes I was there!! Then when they did show up all the hot food was empty and it took a long time to re-fill it. I also heard other guests pointing out that things were empty throughout the time I was there - the staff should be noting this, not the guests!! None of them looked the least bit interested in being there and is a smile in the morning too much to ask?! By comparison, the other staff in the hotel were all friendly and efficient.

I'll definitely stay here next time I'm in Melbourne as long as the price/quality ratio stays as good as it currently is.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for your feedback from you recent stay at the Vibe Savoy Hotel. I have passed on your comments about the servicing in the breakfast area to ensure we are providing the attention needed to our guests in this area.
We look forward to seeing you again soon
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The counter-staff were very friendly and so was the cleaning lady. Apart from that, the staff looked disinterested and in their own world. The decor of the lobby is cold, poorly designed and tacky. The king-sized bed in our room was great but the television remote wasn't working properly. The bathroom was also dimly lit and didn't have an exhaust fan. The windows were also very dusty. The devil is in the details and it's these little things that ruin the illusion of being in a pristine room you paid a few hundred dollars to stay in. We're from Melbourne but if we were from out of town, staying at this place would really leave a bad taste in our mouths and make us feel unwelcomed by the city.

Room Tip: Choose a room not facing spencer street where the tram lines (and noise) are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay at the Vibe Savoy Hotel. As part of the hotel soft refurbishment, we will be washing down the exterior of the building. This will be in conjuction with the usual routine window cleaning that the hotel has scheduled twice yearly.
Look forward to being able to welcome you back to see the changes.
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne

Address: 630 Little Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#41 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#46 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#47 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vibe Savoy Melbourne
Hotel Vibe Savoy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.