We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cold and Soul-less” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne to your Saves list
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   630 Little Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Cold and Soul-less”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The counter-staff were very friendly and so was the cleaning lady. Apart from that, the staff looked disinterested and in their own world. The decor of the lobby is cold, poorly designed and tacky. The king-sized bed in our room was great but the television remote wasn't working properly. The bathroom was also dimly lit and didn't have an exhaust fan. The windows were also very dusty. The devil is in the details and it's these little things that ruin the illusion of being in a pristine room you paid a few hundred dollars to stay in. We're from Melbourne but if we were from out of town, staying at this place would really leave a bad taste in our mouths and make us feel unwelcomed by the city.

Room Tip: Choose a room not facing spencer street where the tram lines (and noise) are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay at the Vibe Savoy Hotel. As part of the hotel soft refurbishment, we will be washing down the exterior of the building. This will be in conjuction with the usual routine window cleaning that the hotel has scheduled twice yearly.
Look forward to being able to welcome you back to see the changes.
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    379
    560
    216
    69
    21
See reviews for
160
392
137
342
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
FFM
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is not a nice place to stay in. The southern cross station is right in front so very noisy. Not too clean. Bad smell in rooms, changed room 3 times so I know. Furniture not modern everything quite tired. bed uncomfortable. City is a 20 min walk. Not a nice area.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay. The hotel has recently changed our beds, and is in the process of updating some soft furniture in the rooms. I welcome the opportunity to welcome you back in the coming months so you can experience the difference
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Perfect location after arriving from the airport. Right across from Southern Cross we had a very friendly check-in and they were very helpful when checking out the next morning. Room was fine, but to be honest after a flight from Europe, we would have fallen asleep anywhere. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for your great feedback and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genoa, Italy
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This was the second time my wife and I visited Melbourne and we stayed at Vibe Savoy 4 nights in December. The Hotel is located in front the Southern Cross station. The first impression when we arrived was not bad and the girl (sorry I don't remember the name probably she was Indian or Pakistani) at check-in was very kind. The room was comfortable and large enough. The view from our windows was quite pleasant looking out beyond the roof of the station. So far so good but... The bathroom seemed ok at first look but we've noted evident stains on the bath-towel, considering the hotel category it should not happen. The bathroom cleaning was very poor in the days following. The bath-tub was very slippery inside and I hurt my leg slipping when I exited, but I decided not to complain about this.
Also considering we were close to Christmas we would have expected a greater joy by the staff, no hello, no smile when we entered/went out the hotel (excepting for the same girl we already met at the check-in) and we felt a bit aliens. The departure has been very formal, no questions about the stay and not more than a hello has been received. Surely these are not the Vibe standards.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for your feedback from your stay at the Vibe Savoy Hotel. Please accept my apology that the cleaning of the bathroom was not to standard, and I have since provided your feedback to the housekeeping department to ensure more attention is done in this area. If you would like to contact me at the hotel to discuss your stay in more detail, please feel free to do so.
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuttack
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

The hotel is centeally located.The southern coss station is very nearby to the hotel.tram stoppage is also very near to the hotel.But the disadvantage is that the room size is very small.The hotel staffs are courtius.The breakfast buffet is nice one.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for your "amazing" review from your recent stay at the Vibe Savoy Hotel. We look forward to being able to accommodate you again when next in Melbourne.
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

The hotel is in an excellent location - directly across from Southern Cross station and public transport available everywhere close by and not able to be heard in the room.
The room and bathroom was very clean, the bed very comfortable and plenty of tea and coffee provided.
The only down side was I had asked specifically for a room without an adjoining room because I had read on tripadvisor that there was a problem with noise from an adjoining room. I did have an adjoining room regardless of my request and had the 'pleasure' of hearing the people in the adjoining room having sex.
I would stay here next time I am in Melbourne, however I will not stay in aroom with an adjoining room again and would bring it to reception attention immediately and request a room change.

Room Tip: make sure you request a room WITHOUT an adjoining room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay at the Vibe Savoy Hotel. I am pleased you enjoyed the hotels location. My apology for not allocating the room of your request, and have since updated your hotel profile to ensure you are allocated into your preferred room location.
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

The location of the hotel is very good as it is centrally located.My husband and I stayad here for three nights in December 2012.The room size is very small,though it has comfortable amenities. The hotel is very near to the southern cross railway station and also tram stop is very nearby.This is the best hotel in Melbourne to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay. We appreciate your support and look forward to being able to accommodate you again when next in Melbourne.
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne

Address: 630 Little Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#40 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#44 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#53 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Toga Hotels and Tingo so you can book your Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vibe Savoy Melbourne
Hotel Vibe Savoy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.