We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly located, great value for money and very clean.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne to your Saves list
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   630 Little Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 173 Hotels in Melbourne
Mildura, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Perfectly located, great value for money and very clean.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I booked direct on the hotel website and got a standard King room for $125 per night which I thought was excellent considering it was early Jan and the weekend that people start arriving for the Australian Open tennis.

The room was an internal one with a large window that faced an internal atrium. This means that there was lots of light if you wanted it and there were also excellent curtains that blocked all light totally so we got a good sleep-in each morning. An advantage of the internal rooms is that they are super quiet and you don't get any street noise whatsoever. This is very rare with city hotels and having had a few sleepless nights at other hotels with all the banging and clanging, I really appreciated the quiet. I was suprised at the large size of the room and found the bed super comfortable (new?). The room was very clean with a flat screen tv (in the wardrobe), electronic safe and plenty of choice of pillows (about 8 in the room in total). Temperature was good and the bathroom was very clean and adequate for what we needed. The shower is over the bath which didn't worry us but may be an issue if you have a bad back or knees.

We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful and the location is perfect if you are using trams or are coming in from the airport on the Skybus.

Overall, I was very happy with the hotel and have stayed at places much more expensive that aren't as good and would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper and city noise usually bothers you, ask for an internal room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Thank you for providing such detailed feedback about your recent stay at the Vibe Savoy Hotel. The beds are new in the hotel, and the Atrium room type that you stayed in is certainly quiet and very large. I will pass on your great feedback to the team, and we appreciate your support of the hotel.
We look forward to being able to accommodate you again when next in Melbourne.
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,599 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    532
    699
    261
    82
    25
See reviews for
212
529
168
428
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Stayed during the new years eve. The room was very comfortable and the bed a pleasure to sleep in. The staff are all courteous and friendly although checking in took forever as there was queue of people waiting in front of us as someone was arguing on authorisation on Credit Card!!!! felt sorry for the poor Indian girl who was getting abused by the guest and she passed through all those swearing with a smile.
She checked us in and was so delightful after all she went through!!!
Was disappointed with the room view and the same girl offered us another room with polite and helpful manner.
Concierge was so helpful.
We enjoyed our stay and will certainly come back.
Wi-fi is too expensive!!Food is good but may be depends on the chef's mood!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor with view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay at the Vibe Savoy Hotel. We are pleased you enjoyed the comfort of the rooms and the service provided to you was good. We look forward to being able to accommodation you again soon.
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gympie, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I stayed for several nights and found the location of this hotel to be very good. Very handy having the shops across the street. The rooms are old but fairly clean. Although, I did have a problem with the towels one day. The walls are thin and I did find that you could hear the people talking in the next room. I found the meals to be good one day and not so good the next day.Staff were friendly and the check in and out service fast and efficient.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Thank you for taking time to provide feedback about your recent stay at the Vibe Savoy Hotel. I have passed on your comments about the varying quality of food service you received to the Hotel Chef and will be meeting with the Housekeeping Department today to discuss the non replacement of your towels during your stay.
I trust you enjoyed your overall experience at the hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

After what was a very long & hot train journey from Sydney to Melbourne (12hours, no air con, lots of unscheduled stops) with my 5-year old daughter on one of the hottest days so far in 2013, we just couldnt go any further, which meant home (another 2hours away) was out of the question, but a close-to-train station hotel that was comfy and had air con was desperately needed!
What we got at Vibe Savoy in Melbourne was that and so much more than we had expected!
From the moment I called Vibe Savoy and made the small walk across the road from the train station to the time we left the next day we received amazing service from each staff member we encountered, the room we booked was upgarded for us to ensure we had plenty of space and comfort (and it was delightful and obviously very comfy as it was the first time my daughter has slept in till 9am in years!), a late dinner order was not a problem, the value for money was terrific and seeing I was struggling with 2 large bags and a very tired 5-year old doors were opened & bags carried for me from staff - they were brilliant!
The staff and the stay at Vibe Savoy saved the day - thankyou!
I am now looking forward to tagging on an overnight stay after each train journey

Room Tip: the sixth floor was perfect! not a sound from either inside or out!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you for providing some great feedback about your recent stay at the Vibe Savoy Hotel. I was very pleased the entire experience for you and your family was delightful and we too look forward to being able to welcome you back on your next journey thru Melbourne.
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sollentuna, Sweden
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

The name Savoy promise much more than you get. This is an average business hotel with rooms that could use a face lift adn staff that could be less arrogant. I have stayed several times here but I have now stayed last time, just isn't worth the money.

Room Tip: Make sure you don't a room towards any of the two streets. Quite nosy late into the night
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for providing feedback about your stay at the Vibe Savoy Hotel. I was disappointed you did not appear to enjoy your stay on this occassion, and I apologise if the room allocated to you was noisy.
I would be happy to discuss your feedback in more detail if you would like to contact me at the hotel, as we would certainly like to win back your loyality and have you continue to stay with us.
I look forward to the opportunity to talk to you.
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We booked into the Vibe Savoy, New Years Day. Checking in was smooth and our room was great. However we did mention to staff the mattress was uncomfortable the first night, no problems we were upgraded the next day and slept very well the next three nights. Location was excellent! As mentioned by many the Hotel is across the road from the Southern Cross Station. Not only do you have a choice of trains and busses, but trams also. Skybus to the airport is located in the station building. We were walking distance to Docklands, Etihad Stadium numerous food outlets and the list goes on. So refreshing to step into the Vibe Savoy after a day of shopping or sight seeing, you are greeted by the friendly staff and your room is so inviting. Staff are to be commended on a job well done.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for taking time to provide some great feedback about your recent stay at the Vibe Savoy Hotel. I have personally passed on your praise to the team, which they where thrilled to hear.
We look forward to hearing from you when you are next requiring accommodation in Melbourne.
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Stayed in a twin room with a friend. The location is fabulous - right across from Southern Cross station, so no lugging bags around.

We stayed here because of the great value for money, compared to other hotels that were looked at. The rooms were large, nicely presented and clean. The service of the staff at the desk and at breakfast was very helpful and friendly.

Breakfast had a range of hot and cold foods, cereals, toasts etc. The hot chocolate was delicious.

The only downside was that the room didn't have an outside view - rooms looked into the centre space which was open and light-filled. But this wasn't a problem at all. The curtains were so great we could barely wake up in the morning!

Will definitely stay again when in the city.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
It was good to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Vibe Savoy Hotel. We do offer very competitive prices for what is a great product and we do appreciate your feedback about your recent stay.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne

Address: 630 Little Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#34 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#40 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#45 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Toga Hotels, EasyToBook, Priceline, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vibe Savoy Melbourne
Hotel Vibe Savoy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.