We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Favourite Melbourne Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne

Save Saved
You added Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   630 Little Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“My Favourite Melbourne Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I have always looked forward to a trip that includes a stay at the Vibe Savoy since my first stay in 1999. There is something about the hotel that makes you happy to be there, so much so that I have used it for business and leisure alike.

Staff are always friendly, happy and helpful and the breakfast is one of the best going around. Well priced, well located, well done.

Only criticism would be the adjoining rooms - they appear to resonate if you get the wrong neighbour, but there is nothing that you can do about that. Last visit the gym was a little dated, but there is plenty of space to run and see the city sites.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for your continual loyality to the Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne since 1999. I will personally look into the gym area and see if we can lift the appearance to better suit our guests. Feel free to contact me at the hotel on your next stay, as I would be pleased to discuss your recents stays and room allocations.
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

988 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    303
    444
    171
    50
    20
See reviews for
133
319
110
245
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for a long weekend break and it suited us perfectly.
The hotel room was an average size for a queen size bedroom, clean and satisfactory.
The staff were freindly always greeting us whenever we walked past reception. The hotel was in a good location, across the road from the Southern Cross railway station and very handy to the tram stops to take you into the city centre or to St. Kilda. We generally walked into the city which was quite a comfortable and only taking an easy 10 to 15 minutes. Getting to the riverside and Casino is also an easy walk and less than 10 minutes.
Walking to the city we went various ways which we encountered many quaint cafe's, restaurants and a few bars along the way, which we would hav missed if we had stayed in the city centre or south of the river.. Would recommend the hotel as we could not fault it's appearance. Cannot quote on any meals as we dined out enjoying the great Melbourne hospitality.

Room Tip: We were on the 5th floor and no trouble with noise or neighbours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for your support of the Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne and trust your long weekend was enjoyable.
Look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

This was a beautiful hotel with friendly staff at a very convenient location. My only crticism was I had an adjoining door to the next doors room and the walls appeared thin so I could hear every conversation, could hear the shower running loudly and hear them moving around the room. To be fair they were an elderly couple and weren't loud... Just the room may have been a bad one as I saw my friends which was beautiful (an upgrade) and she didnt have any concerns. Was also a shame the wifi wasn't free...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for your feedback from your stay at the Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne. My apologies that you found the room you where allocated noisey, and trust this did not tarnish your overall view.
We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back when next in Melbourne.
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Spent 5 nights there on a recent business trip to Melbourne. Caught the skybus from the airport walked out of Southern Cross station and there was the hotel right accross the road. Great location for a quick stroll down to the convention centre, Crown Casino and Southbank cafes. Also handy to trams going into the city and down to St Kilda.
On arrival the reception staff were very friendly and efficient and the room was quiet and comfortable with a nice big king size bed.
I only ate breakfast in the hotel restraunt but had a couple of meals in the bar they were very good indeed.
The decor is dated but very well maintained and that is all part of the charm. I would have no hesitation to stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for supporting the Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne with your positive comments from your recent stay with us. I will be sure to pass on these comments to the Team.
Thank you
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Lovely hotel, great location, very quiet comfortable rooms. Would definitely stay here again. Was easy access to trams and the Southern Cross Station. Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone going to Melbourne.

Stayed November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you for your praise of the Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne from your recent stay with us. We too look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Very nice hotel and close to everything. Would recommend anyone wanting to be close to everything. The southern cross station is right next door and within walkin distance to the promenade. Lovely coffee shops just up the road. Very comfortable rooms. The only negative I ha was wifi was not free. Apart from that it is a great place to stay

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
It was good to hear you enjoyed your recent stay at the Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne. We look forward to being able to welcome you back soon
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Friendly, helpful, Staff and Management. The rooms were clean and of a high standard. I ate in the bar and food was good and fresh and well priced. Conveniently located across from the city railway station. Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you for recommending the Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne to other travellers. We are pleased we made your experience memorable.
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne

Address: 630 Little Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#42 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#47 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#47 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vibe Savoy Melbourne
Hotel Vibe Savoy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.