We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its the vibe,,,” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne to your Saves list
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   630 Little Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 173 Hotels in Melbourne
East Fremantle, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Its the vibe,,,”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Great location opposite Southern Cross station, clean rooms although not very big and friendly staff who go out of their way to help. Everything a traveller would want in a tastefully renovated hotel at a good price if you get it online specials. Food in the bar was good although not special and breakfast on the second floor dinning room was ample and service was good.

Room Tip: upper floors away from traffic noise and an outside room with limited views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay at the Vibe Savoy Hotel. We are pleased you enjoyed the hotels service and food and beverage offerings.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,600 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    532
    700
    261
    82
    25
See reviews for
212
530
168
428
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga, New Zealand
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Very disappointed with this hotel and is very overrated at four stars!
Room was smallish, and the bathroom was minuscule with a shower over bath that required a large step up and a bath that is surely the smallest ever made for general use.
The sheets were changed once in seven days, the second to last!
The sofa was a sofa bed, very uncomfortable to sit on. The bed was also the hardest we have found in a hotel. There is no double glazing and the street noise is 6am to 10pm and the elevators are noisy

Room Tip: stay in another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Thank you for taking time to provide feedback about your recent stay at the Vibe Savoy Hotel. I was disappointed to read you did not enjoy your stay. Please accept my apology for the poor housekeeping you received, and can assure you this has since been discussed with this department. The bedding in the hotel will be soon upgraded and I will look into your comments about the comfort of the sofa beds in the rooms.
Once again we do appreciate your feedback and do feel free to contact me at the hotel if you would like to discuss any further. We welcome the opportunity to have you stay with us again when next in Melbourne
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Would thoroughly recommend this hotel. The room had a king sized bed (which we weren't expecting) and was very spacious and clean.It had everything we needed and we didn't feel cramped as you sometimes can in hotel rooms. The staff were excellent and nothing was too much trouble. We didn't know our way around Melbourne and they were only too happy to look up information and print out maps etc for us. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
WOW. Thank you for the great feedback about your recent stay at the Vibe Savoy Hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your spacious room, the service was good and the location ideal for your travel.
Look forward to having you stay with us again, and we do appreciate you recommending us to others.
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Once you get beyond the funky lobby there isn't much to this hotel.

Stayed one night for business - was given an inside room with no external window - room has an inside window overlooking the restaurant a few floors below.

Bad room - avoid them at all cost - apart from being dark due to no natural light, the room was exceptionally hot even with the airconditioner on cold - calls to the front desk got me no help.

Really poor interior design - the tv is inside a wardrobe on the side of the room that is almost unwatchable unless you sit on a chair on the foot of the bed.

Very noisy due to noise from the restaurant carrying up through the building.

This was my first stay and certainly my last - not sure if my experience would have differed in an external facing room but I won't be back.

Room Tip: Avoid the internal rooms at all cost!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, July 8, 2012
Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay at the Vibe Savoy Hotel. I was dissappointed that the allocated Atrium room was not suitable for you. These rooms are spacious in size, however the outlook is over an atrium area. We find some guest insist on having them and some do not. I would be happy to discuss your stay in more detail if you would like to contact the hotel. Of course any future stays we can allocate you a room in a different area of the hotel, and I look forward to being able to provide this to you if given the opportunity.
Thank you again for your feedback and trust this first experience does not tarnish your view to return.
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

The Vibe is in a great location if you’re looking to get around Melbourne easily. It is right across from Southern Cross Station at the west end of Melbourne CBD. It made getting around very convenient. The rooms were good and clean, service was very helpful. Breakfast was ok for the price - not a lot of variety at the buffet breakfast but had the standard fare which for $22 on weekdays was fair enough. One small quibble - there was no service directory in the room and despite requesting one it never arrived. Otherwise it was a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, July 8, 2012
Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay at the Vibe Savoy Hotel. I was pleased to hear you enjoyed the hotels location and clean rooms. The breakfast buffet does have rotating items, and I will look into why this was not the case during your stay. From feedback from yourself and other guests about the in room information, the hotel will be moving towards hard copy compendiums (currently electronic through the television). This will enhance the guest experience and provide the relevant information about the hotel and surrounding area. Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to being able to welcome you back soon.
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Stayed a couple of nights here, and i think it ticks off all the requirements i had. Granted i was travelling for business, not with my family.
Centrally located and easy access to the Skybus airport transfer, Southern Cross Train station, and an abundance of Trams to get you where ever you want to go....
I thought my room 802 was a bit on the small side, but for 1 it was fine.
Bath and shower need updating, but we accept this is an older Classic style hotel.
good value.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, July 8, 2012
Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay at the Vibe Savoy Hotel. We are pleased you decided to stay with us again and that your stay was once again satisfactory. The bathrooms in the hotel are a restored marble and are part of the art deco feel that we are providing throughout the building. We will be investing into the polishing of the marble to ensure the beauty of the surface remains and reflects the style of the hotel.
Once again thank you for your feedback, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sale, Victoria
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

The Vibe is in a great location - Spencer St station is just across the road - it's clean, comfortable and the breakfast is delicious. The bathroom was very small, the TV was ancient and there was no TV guide in the room.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, July 8, 2012
Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay at the Vibe Savoy Hotel. It was good to hear you enjoyed the hotels excellent location and clean rooms. We will look into the comment regarding the television information to ensure we are providing this service to our guests. Once again thank you for your comments and we look foward to seeing you again soon
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne

Address: 630 Little Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#34 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#40 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#45 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Toga Hotels, Agoda, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vibe Savoy Melbourne
Hotel Vibe Savoy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.