We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, handy location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne to your Saves list
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   630 Little Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
London UK
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
108 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Great service, handy location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012 via mobile

The painfully almost-half-hip Vibe brand  has done a good job refurbishing this old, grand building. Victorian, Deco and modern decor combine in an unlikely triumph. Black and white bathroom tiles could have been matched with Victorian taps, however they chose to use very simple 1990's fittings. I particularly like a shower with one hot tap, one cold. No mixer! No confusing one knob iPhone-esque power-shower. Brilliant. It won't win awards but it's pleasant enough.

My bed was comfortable. The room a good size. 

Staff were uniformly friendly, helpful and charming. I can not praise them more highly. 

Wifi is available, via a separate company who must be making a killing out of Australian hotel guests who pay more than anyone on Earth for a commodity which is free almost everywhere else. 

The location is close to trams and trains on the western fringe of the city, right opposite Spencer St Station (Southern Cross to young folk). 

All in all, a good choice. I would go back.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay at the Vibe Savoy Hotel. We are pleased the team delivered on some great service and that you enjoyed the hotels location.
We look forward to seeing you again soon
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    379
    559
    216
    69
    21
See reviews for
160
392
136
342
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012 via mobile

Perfect location next to southern cross station - was able to catch the skybus from the airport to the station and walk 5 minutes to the hotel. Also close to trams, crowne, etihad and even into the CBD if you don't mind a walk.
Staff were helpful. Only thing I was disappointed in was the housekeeping. In our 5 day/4 night stay, our room wasn't vacuumed at all, and could have done with at least once during the stay. However, I would still return and stay at this hotel given the value for money and location!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay at the Vibe Savoy Hotel. I am pleased you enjoyed the hotels convenient location and the guest service we provided you. Allow me to apologise for your room not being vacuumed as required during your stay. I have addressed this with the hotels housekeeping department to ensure they are actioning this task for all our guests.
Once again thank you for your feedback, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012 via mobile

Stayed two nights on business at end of April. Hotel is in great location. Room I had was on level 5. Very clean rooms but small. Quality of food from room service was excellent. Staff friendly and helpful. Would be happy to stay again but only for 1/2 nights because of room size.

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
Thank you for taking time to provide feedback about your recent stay at the Vibe Savoy Hotel. We are pleased the hotels location was good for you and you enjoyed the great room service menu we have on offer. The hotels room size can vary slightly, so I have taken the liberty of updating your profile to ensure you are allocated into a larger room upon your next return.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here on a weekender to Melbourne. Close to spencer street station and Etihad football stadium. We paid $230 for per night for a Friday and Saturday night and the room was clean and modern. Staff friendly and helpfully would stay again.

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
Thank you for the great feedback from your recent stay at the Vibe Savoy Hotel. The hotels location to major Melbourne sites such as Etihad Stadium, Melbourne Aquarium and Crown Entertainment Complex makes the hotel the idea place to stay.
We look forward to seeing you again soon
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stow, Ohio
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

I chose this hotel because it is located directly across the street from the Southern Cross Railway station. We flew into Melbourne from Cairns, took the shuttle to the train station (easy) and left Melbourne for Sydney via train. Besides being convenient to public transportation, the hotel was really beautiful. The staff was very helpful and friendly especially when trying to get a tour to Cape Otway. They have a fully stocked fridge (expensive of course) in the room but there is an IGA just around the corner where you can buy snacks, fruit, and alcohol. The room was clean and neat the the bed was good. If you pay in advance, they will reduce the rate, but it is non-refundable if you cancel. Contact them directly for reservations to get best rate.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
I am pleased you enjoyed your recent stay at the Vibe Savoy Hotel. The convenience of the sky bus that drops you at the door of the hotel is a great advantage of staying at the hotel. I appreciate your positive comments on the hotels guest service, as we continue to strive towards excelling in this area of our business.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland, Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

First impression was a worry - we walked in at midnight with everyone enjoying the bar (immensely enjoying!) but the staff were quick to check us in and once in the lift and our room, the hotel was quiet. None of the downstairs noise could be heard! Great location - 5km drive to Lygon St and even closer to the Queen Victoria Markets, and there's a train station about 400m walk away. We ordered breakfast the first morning and it was amazing - definitely not "hotel food"! My partner has a strict diet and in making his omelette they met his requirements perfectly. We were very impressed, and would definitely stay at the Vibe again - friendly & efficient staff, amazing food, great location! Good value for the money spent (and not overly expensive either!)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
Thank you for your great feedback from your recent stay at the Vibe Savoy Hotel. I was pleased to hear we managed to meet your partners dietary requirements. The hotel is very proud of its room service menu and your comments are very much appreciated.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

Excellent hotel great rooms reasonable price. fast efficient check with a smile. will always come back as long as it doesnt get too expensive

Room Tip: level 10 city views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay at the Vibe Savoy Hotel. The hotels location and great prices we offer make us an obvious choice for accommodation in Melbourne.
We look forward to seeing you again soon
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne

Address: 630 Little Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#40 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#44 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#53 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Toga Hotels and Tingo so you can book your Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vibe Savoy Melbourne
Hotel Vibe Savoy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.