We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, nice room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne

Save Saved
You added Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   630 Little Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Sain-Petersburg, Russia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good location, nice room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

Very good location, just across the road from Southern Cross station, where Airport shuttle terminates, so very convenient. It is on the edge of CBD, with everything literally walking distance. Room was quite nice, comfy bed, good bathroom, aircon is not very noisy and temperature easily regulated. No view though.
The major problem for me was absence of free wifi, with this room prices, charging extra 60 dollars for week's worth of wifi is plain theft. Luckily for me, I found a free wifi network in my room which did not require password and was able to use it.

Room Tip: Try every unprotected wifi networks available in your room - you might get internet for free.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, January 27, 2012
Thank you for providing feedback about your recent stay at the Vibe Savoy Hotel. We are pleased you enjoyed the hotels convenience location and the accommodation rooms. The WiFi is an additional charge at the hotel, however we beleive the pricing is competitive to that of our competitors.
We look forward to being able to accommodate you when next in Melbourne
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

916 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    278
    411
    162
    46
    19
See reviews for
125
295
105
220
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toowoomba
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

This hotel is in a great location and has recently had the best value deals, usually a bit expensive for us! We prepaid for 4 nights at a cost of $115 per night for what we would rate as a 4 star hotel right next to Southern Cross Station and trams right outside-there were deals for breakfast too. A spacious well appointed 7th floor room, comfortable bed and small but adequate bathroom. Very smart reception area too with a bar and specials on the menu for luch. The Pad Thai was really good. Overall a very good experience and strongly recommended-as regular visitors to Melbourne we will be looking out for similar deals in the future.

Room Tip: Book early and look out for deals on their internet site. Rooms on the Spencer St side do have a lit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, January 27, 2012
Thank you for providing feedback about your recent stay at the Vibe Savoy Hotel. We are pleased you enjoyed the hotels location and the special offers we have available to our guests on both accommoadation and food & beverage offers.
Please look for great offers that we post on our website during the year!
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

The Vibe Savoy is a great hotel for a quick weekend trip to Melbourne. Rooms are more than fine, service is OK-ish and the location is great. I have stayed here many times over the years and found it to be perfectly acceptable and always a great price.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, January 26, 2012
Thank you for providing feedback about your recent stay at the Vibe Savoy Hotel. We appreciate you continue to choose the hotel for your Melbourne accommodation needs and look forward to seeing you back at the hotel soon
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

We stayed for two nights in December. I usually use the Stamford when working in Melbourne but they were full so I chose the Savoy mainly because it fitted our budget. My wife and I did not expect much but were very pleasantly surprised when it greatly exceeded our expectations. This was our first holiday visit to Melbourne and we asked staff for assistance a number of times. The service was not just efficient and friendly, most places do that. It seemed the Savoy's service was sincere. Big difference.
Just fell in love with art decor theme, and the history of the place. Yes, it is not plastic, smooth and antiseptic like any number of new hotels but for us - in the words of Big Arnie - We will return!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, January 26, 2012
Thank you for taking time to provide feedback about your recent stay at the Vibe Savoy Hotel. We really appreciate your feedback about our sincere guest service and the Team will be thrilled to know they continue to do a great job.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

Stayed at vibe savoy hotel from 9-11 January 2012. Extremely convenient location for us since it was located just across the road from Southern Cross Station (We used Jetstar and the shuttle bus stop at Southern Cross from Avalon, vice versa).

We arrived early at 10.30 am, checked in at the front desk, and was told that the room is available and we can go in the room straight away (very happy with that).

The room was clean, tidy and surprisingly quiet (room 809, on level 8 facing little collins street).

The staff were helpful and full of smile.

Ordered room service at midnight (toasted ham sandwich with chips), the chips were amazing (personally I would say it was the best potato chips that I ever tasted).

Checked out at 11 AM and left our luggage with them because our flight was at 8.45 PM that day, picked them up at 6 PM with no hassle.

Very happy with the whole thing.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, January 26, 2012
Thank you for taking time to provide feedback about your recent stay at the Vibe Savoy Hotel. I am pleased you where able to check in prior to the normal arrival time and that the hotel met all your expectations.
We look forward to being able to welcome you back soon
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

Only booked at last minute as needed somewhere close to Southern Cross station as son was departing on a kayaking camp at 7.00am the following morning.

Extremely pleasant receptionist who processed our check in easily and efficiently. Room was on the fourth floor and contained all the usual requirements though I could not find an information compendium telling me about restaurant times etc. Apparently it is on your TV!!

As it was quite late we went straight downstairs to eat at the bar/casual restaurant and ordered a light meal and some drinks asap. I had a nice Asian salad and my young son had a hamburger and a soft drink which was brought out by an extremely friendly and efficient waiter.

Room was extremely quiet and both of us had an excellent night's sleep. Great water pressure in the shower and the usual amenities you find. Did not eat breakfast at hotel but went across to a cafe and had toast and coffee before my son headed off on his camp.

Overall nice stay and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, January 10, 2012
Thank you for providing feedback about your recent stay at the Vibe Savoy Hotel. I am pleased you and your son enjoyed the hotels location, quiet rooms and the great guest service we strive to provide each and every time.
We look forward to being able to welcome you back when next in Melbourne.
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosebud, Victoria
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

I have stayed here several times. Its in a very convenient place opposite a train station, and with trams a one minute walk away. The staff are very friendly and very helpful. The rooms are nice, though I haven't really worked the bedding out yet, there seems to be a doona for each side of the bed. The bathrooms are very dated and do let the rest of the place down, but they are clean and tidy. The breakfast buffet is very nice. We'll definitely stay here again, as it is so convenient.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, January 10, 2012
Thank you for providing feedback about your recent stay at the Vibe Savoy Hotel. We are pleased you enjoyed the hotels location and its convenience for you. We do look forward to being able to welcoming you back.
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne

Address: 630 Little Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#41 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#46 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#46 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#51 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vibe Savoy Melbourne
Hotel Vibe Savoy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.