We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient for Conventions” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne

Save Saved
You added Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   630 Little Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #58 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
malaysia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Convenient for Conventions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

The accommodation was chosen as an afterthought, when my first choice was fully booked. The Art Deco styling revealed friendly and helpful front desk staff, a tidy spacious lobby and prompt lifts. I stayed for a week for a convention at the nearby Melbourne Exhibition and Convention centre, and the location of the hotel was very convenient. A ten minute walk from the Convention centre, 2 minutes across the road to the Skybus (to the Airport) and Southern Cross Station. Trams just next to the hotel. I was allocated a room on the 11th Floor, and it was exactly like the photos. Quiet, and I only heard the police sirens once. There is a functional TV, a handy kettle for a warm cup of tea (all gratis), and an iron and ironing board. The air conditioning was good. Pillows and bedding were comfortable (not too firm but not too soft either). The bathroom was lined with black and white marble tiles and everything worked. Showers had sufficient pressure, and there was precious little to complain about apart from the low ceiling in the bathroom (if you are a 6 footer). Two supermarkets, with Coles further up the road, but having a larger selection. A choice of food shops and a food court nearby (just ask the hotel staff). Breakfast was good with a selection of fruit, pastries, and hot food, but they could improve and provide a little variation on the eggs (scrambled every day of the week). A little away from the big sights of Melbourne, but it was convenient for conventions and for getting in and out of the airport. Only one thing, there is no free wifi and that was a bit of a downer. I overcame this by having a cup of coffee and surfing at the same time, at Gloria Jeans around the corner.

Room Tip: Go for the upper floors, and request for a room facing the street and not facing the interior.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, December 8, 2011
Thank you for providing feedback about your recent stay at the Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne. We are pleased you enjoyed the hotels location and amenities and trust we will be your accommodation of choice when next conferencing in Melbourne.
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    185
    283
    125
    43
    15
See reviews for
74
222
77
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

Great location near bus, trains, trams. Good quality total with everything you need.
This is my second stay here and am not disappointed. Would highly recommend.
The only comment I would make is when booking, check out several booking agents on line as we managed to save $AUD100 by shopping around.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, December 8, 2011
Thank you for providing feedback about your return stay at the Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne. The hotel location has some wonderful benefits, and we are pleased they are suitable for your needs.
We look forward to seeing you again soon
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerang, Australia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

Chose this Hotel as we were stopping in the city before flying out the next day early. Just across the road and also very handy for Skybus transfer to Tullermarine. Rooms good although we must have been very close to the elevator workings because we constantly heard a motor noise all night. Breakfast was wonderful full buffet and enjoyed that before heading off. Would stay again for the suitable location.

Room Tip: Ask for one away from elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, December 8, 2011
Thank you for providing feedback about your stay at the Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne. We are pleased you enjoyed the hotels location and the buffet breakfast on the morning of your departure. We look forward to being able to welcome you back soon.
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

Spent two nights and I felt relax and enjoyed a lot my stay. bed very comfortable. its have more that I thought for a hotel - like facilities to have a cup of tea when you come late at night and want something hot b4 to go to bed. and was provided by the hotel without cost - the bar I did not care as all hotels mini bars are a rip off however I bought my own cokes (next door little market) and I put them in the fridge also the water.
NO COMPLAINTS mates.

Love it

see you all soon as I travel to Melbourne at least once a year and I would like to repeat my great experience.

Room Tip: I was in a room opposite to the station and apparently very busy roars. but I could not remember hea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, December 8, 2011
Thank you for taking time to provide great feedback about your stay at the Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne. The Team are pleased you enjoyed your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back when next in Melbourne.
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

Spent 1 night at the Vibe Savoy for work & although I didn't pay I will say that the hotel is very good value.
The room was very spacious & quiet.
The staff were helpful & the hotel is within walking distance of most Melbourne tourist attractions.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, October 23, 2011
Thank you for choosing the Vibe Savoy Hotel for your accommodation needs whlist in Melbourne. We appreciate your positive feedback and look forward to welcoming you back again.
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights over the weekend and had a great time. The room was comfortable and clean, bed was comfortable but the walls were a bit thin. Each night we heard the people in the next room come home about 3am and could hear what they were saying etc. The location of the hotel is excellent for tranport, and as our first, visit to Melbourne I thought the location was great. Walking distance to lots of shops, restaurants etc.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, October 19, 2011
Thank you for providing feedback about your recent stay at the Vibe Savoy Hotel. We are pleased you selected the hotel for your first stay in Melbourne and that you found the hotel to be conveniently located and suitable for your needs.
We welcome the opportunity to have you back at the hotel when next in Melbourne.
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

This hotel used to be good, but has now degraded. The room we stayed in this time was not well kept, the amenities reduced to a bare minimum... The phone and the airconditioning were not working, and it took a while to have them on again. The minibar fridge was old (as the rest of the furniture) and it's shelf broke when I attempted to open the fridge, scattering beer and wine bottles on the floor. One bottle broke. It took again a long time for housekeeping to come and clean the mess. Clean is not the appropriate word, as the employee vacuumed the glass bits and put an old towel on the beer infused carpet, and left. The only armchair in the room was tired, with not much foam left in it to sit on. The bed sheets were clean but almost transparent. Overall, the room did not convey a feeling of "quality" at all. Yet the prices charged are not small.

Another big disappointment was the THE ALEXANDER BAR - Located on ground floor. We ordered a chicken salad and a lamb cofta. Both portions were quite small (for $20 each) and we asked for some bread, to be told that there was no bread... On top of that, the coftas (meat balls) were raw inside. We asked for them to be well cooked. The waiter took them back to the chef. he came back with he coftas heated up, but still red inside, and told us that the chef said that they were well cooked, and that was the normal colour of it; as if we did not know how a well cooked meat ball should look inside. Very average food...

Came breakfast time. very average and mechanic food again there. Not appetizing at all. No effort made. There was even a pancake machine, where you have to press the button and wait for your pancake to come at the other end... how cool is that? Cool perhaps for a child, but not for a hotel that aspires to be a 4 star one. The coffee machine (yes, a machine again) had its door broken, the white plates were not so white anymore... covered in gray scratches from the cutlery, and some plates were even dirty. What happened to this hotel???

Room Tip: smile and don't be pushy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, October 16, 2011
Thank you for providing feedback about your recent stay at the Vibe Savoy Hotel.
I have received your personal email contact via our internal feedback survey, and will be making contact with you to discuss your concerns.
Allow me to apologise for the service you did receive, and we thank you for providing feedback that allows us to refine our guest service and strive for improvement.
We look forwad to being about to welcome you back, and delivery on our service promise.
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne

Also Known As:
Vibe Savoy Melbourne
Hotel Vibe Savoy
Address: 630 Little Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#52 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#58 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Otel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, getaroom.com and Venere so you can book your Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.