We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel,conveniently situated.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne

Save Saved
You added Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   630 Little Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Western Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great Hotel,conveniently situated.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

We stayed at the Vibe Savoy Hotel in Melbourne for 6 days. we were impressed with the comfort of the Hotel. The building itself has great presence, being Art Deco in design. The rooms were very spacious, and were decorated smartly and amply supplied with storage for clothes. The only drawback for me was that there is only one room that has a separate shower, otherwise the showers are over the bath. I was told by the reception staff that it could be booked in advance if needed. We had a room facing the street, but there was never a problem with traffic noise.

We had a breakfast package and ate at the restaurant a couple of times in the evenings as well. The food was very nice and the staff were pleasant and helpful. Always nice music playing in the background - but not intrusive. The Alexander Bar is a great place for an early pre-dinner drink or nightcap.

The hotel itself is not right at the centre of the CBD, but we did not find this a problem. There are trams going right past the door which can take you to any part of the city and its many attractions in a matter of minutes. We chose it because it is right opposite the Southern Cross Train Station, a distinct advantage if you are coming in from the Airport on the Skybus, which has its terminus there. The suburban trains run through it as well. You are also near the Docklands and the various sporting stadiums.

We would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: If you have mobility problems you would need to book ahead, as I was told there is only one room tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, October 7, 2011
Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay at the Vibe Savoy Hotel. The Team are pleased you enjoyed your stay, the food and beverage services and the convenience of the hotels location.
We look forward to being able to accommodate you again when next in Melbourne
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

968 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    294
    434
    170
    50
    20
See reviews for
131
312
108
237
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
LONDON
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011 via mobile

We have just spent three nights at this hotel and have loved it! The location is very central and rooms are of a good standard. We had rooms on 5th floor which had windows looking onto atrium- not great if you want an early night or a late sleep in due to noise from the restaurant below but otherwise can't complain at all! A special thanks to Glen who really did go out of his way to give excellent service and help with taxis, our many bags, etc!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, October 7, 2011
Thank your for your great feedback you provided about your recent stay at the Vibe Savoy Hotel. I have personally passed on your comments to the Team member at our recent monthly meeting.
Look forward to welcoming you back soon
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

I really enjoyed my brief stay at the Vibe Savoy. I got in late (about midnight) and the combination of 24 hour reception and the location opposite the Skybus depot was great.

The room was nice, and breakfast was good. If you can get a deal (I think I got the room for $129 a night) then all the better. I would defintely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, October 7, 2011
We are pleased you enjoyed your recent short stay at the Vibe Savoy Hotel. Thank you for your feedback about the hotel and the competitive rates we have in the market place.
We look forward to welcoming you back
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
97 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

I stayed at this hotel last night, the second Vibe Hotel I have stayed at in a month (the other was in Sydney). I have to say that I was really impressed with the Vibe Savoy. The location opposite Southern Cross Station is convenient. The history of the building - which has operated continuously as a hotel since the 1860s, I believe - has been respected and there are many great features that have been retained and enhanced, but it is no relic and certainly has all the mod cons. This makes it kind of an interesting hybrid of historic and hip hotel. I quite liked the design.

There is a somewhat funky looking bar on the ground floor, and another bar and restaurant upstairs, although I did not use any of those plenty of other people were.

My room (710) was very quiet and spacious. The bathroom was small but, given the fact that this is an old building which has been sensitively restored, I did not mind that at all.

I will quite likely stay here again, and probably at other Vibe properties as well.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, October 7, 2011
Thank you for taking time to provide feedback about your recent stay and an overview of the Vibe Savoy Hotel. We are very pleased you enjoyed the "old world charm" the hotel has to offer. If you would like more historical information about the hotel, I would be pleased to personally send some more information too you. Please contact me at the hotel if I can be of assistance with this.
We look forward to being able to welcome you back with any future accommodation needs
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

We booked just by chance and found it great; the decor is art deco but a good ambience and well maintained throughout. The staff were friendly and very helpful. Didn't eat in but snacks were fine. would certainly stay again.

Room Tip: Go for a corner room; the views are fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, October 7, 2011
Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay at the Vibe Savoy Hotel. We are pleased you enjoyed the great location the hotel has to offer and the art deco decor.
We look forward to welcoming you back when next in Melbourne
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

stayed 1 night over the weekend. Chose it for cost..$129/night via Wotif. Everything good from ther moment we stepped in. We arrived at 10am but were lucky and got our room immediately...that was a bonus. The room overlooked the Southern Cross railway station, so the view was fine. All amenities worked well, staff were pleasant and efficient....no complaints at all!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, October 7, 2011
Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay at the Vibe Savoy Hotel. We are pleased you got a great accommodation rate and enjoyed the location of the hotel.
We look forward to being able to welcome you back when next in Melbourne
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

Travelled to Melbourne on business, booked the Vive as our company preferred.

Hotel is comfortable and has vague remnants of the art deco background. Nothing overly special but clean, comfortable rooms. I was out with colleagues until late so didn't really spend much time in the room, was just a pace to sleep.

Check in was a bit of an issue as we'd booked it as chargeback (billback to our company, had confirmed personally) but they denied that it was and asked for payment. Staff were not overly friendly about it - then again it was 11pm!

Good location, comfortable, and decent value.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, October 7, 2011
Thank you for providing feedback about your recent business stay at the Vibe Savoy Hotel. Allow me to apologise for the miscommunication regarding your accommodation chargeback, however I am pleased it all got sorted out in the end.
I appreciate your feedback that will allow us to refine our services and ensure we exceed our guest expectations in the future.
We look forward to welcoming you back when next in Melbourne
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne

Address: 630 Little Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#42 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#47 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#49 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#53 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vibe Savoy Melbourne
Hotel Vibe Savoy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.