We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location & great staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne to your Saves list
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   630 Little Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great location & great staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

Only got back today from staying here & chose the hotel due to its location which is just across the road from Southern Cross Statioin where the RedBus Shuttle from the airport stops so all you do is bascially walk across the road and your there. Short walks to shops, Southbank & Docklands. Upon arrival I was met by the pleasant & helpful staff behind the check in desk. The room I was given was quite large and it was clean & tidy- and it was kept this way for my 3 day stay. I would most definately stay here again!

Room Tip: Book directly through the hotel & get a larger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, August 24, 2011
Thank you for providing some fantastic feedback about your recent stay at the Vibe Savoy Hotel. We are pleased you enjoyed the convenience of the hotels location and I have personally passed on your praise to the Team.
We look forward to seeing you again.
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,781 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    613
    791
    268
    84
    25
See reviews for
242
585
187
473
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

When we arrived we received no help with our luggage at the curb. After our arrival I went to the front desk to ask where the nearest steak restaurant was located. The staff had no idea where it was. It turned out there was a restaurant named 'Rare' that was a block and a half away. The concierge could offer us no good ideas as to what we should do while in Melbourne.
We had two rooms which were on the Southern Cross side of the hotel.. Don't expect to be able to sleep late as there is much noise from that side of the hotel from the street below.
Rooms were comfortable and he beds were nice. Channel selection on tv was limited.
Breakfast was adequate with basic service.
Internet wifi was weak and expensive to use.
Downstairs bar area was nice and the service there was the best we experienced while at the Vibe Savoy.

Room Tip: Ask for room away from rail station
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, August 24, 2011
Thank you for providing feedback about your recent stay at the Vibe Savoy Hotel. I have passed on your comments to the relevant departments in our weekly meetings expressing your concerns with our concierge services and the knowledge of local amenities.
Your feedback has been valuable to us, allowing us to better improve this service of our business and inturn provide an overall better experience for our guests.
If you would like to discuss your feedback further, please do not hesitate to contact me at the hotel.
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

As the title says this was my first time in Melbourne and getting to the hotel couldn't have been easier! From the airport i took the bus which dropped me off at southern cross station and the hotel was literally across the road. So easy to get to and a short walk from the city. There were no problems with the room - it was nice and clean with nice furnishings. All the staff were very friendly and the room service was pretty good. We were only there for one night but i would stay there again.

Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, August 18, 2011
Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay at the Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne. Your positive comments have been passed onto our Team.
We are pleased you enjoyed the great hotel location, the nice clean rooms and our friendly service. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

We stayed here for 1 night recently on a short weekend trip before the birth of our first baby. We've been travelling to Melbourne for many years and have always wanted to stay at this hotel, as it has a great bar and is right across the road from Spencer St shops and the Skybus terminal.

The staff were all extremely pleasant and friendly, especially Shaun. We were very happy with our stay. Of course there were little annoyances like a noisy American girl talking on her phone in the hallway at 4am and people slamming their doors in the early hours but happens everywhere and is certainly no reflection on the hotel.

I'm sure we'll be back!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, August 18, 2011
Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay at the Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne. Your positive comments have been passed onto our Team.
We are pleased you enjoyed your recent stay and look forward to being able to accommodate you again when next in Melbourne
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

Requested a room near friends and had adjoining rooms with no way to lock the doors between, but the handle fell off anyway. On arrival, a broken chair and hair on the bathroom floor in one room and old soap in the second room. Was difficult to watch TV as the volume was so low, and unable to change it. Staff friendly, foyer impressive. Comfortable bed, good night sleep, quieter end of town. Price very cheap. I find it a big let down to have a room not cleaned properly before arrival, notified staff who say sorry, BUT these are small things that could have been avoided and would have made our overall rating higher.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, August 18, 2011
Thank you for providing feedback about your recent stay at the Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne. I apologise for some of the concerns you had during your stay. We have passed on your comments to the maintenance department to address immediately.
We are pleased however that you did enjoy the great location the hotel does have to all conveniences.
Once again thank you for the feedback and we look forward to accommodating you again when next in Melbourne
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

Lovely hotel, decor beautiful, crisp clean linen. Our room was lovely and quiet and I particularly liked the little touches of magazines for my husband and I to read whilst staying there. The bed was really spacious but the pillows could have been more comfortable.
We had fabulous breakfast and all in all, with the exception of the pillows, I would say it was near perfect and I look forward to staying there again.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a quiet room, I definately recommend the 11th floor. Lovely room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, August 18, 2011
Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay at the Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne. Your positive comments have been passed onto our Team.
We are pleased you enjoyed your recent stay and look forward to being able to accommodate you again when next in Melbourne
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

Great location for the exhibition center, nice breakfast and staff

Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, August 9, 2011
Thank you for taking time to provide feedback about your recent stay at the Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne.
The Team was pleased you enjoyed your stay and we thank you for your positive comments.
We look forward to being able to welcome you back
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne

Address: 630 Little Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#34 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#35 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#39 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vibe Savoy Melbourne
Hotel Vibe Savoy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.