We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central to transport” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne to your Saves list
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   630 Little Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Hobart
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Central to transport”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

Requested a room near friends and had adjoining rooms with no way to lock the doors between, but the handle fell off anyway. On arrival, a broken chair and hair on the bathroom floor in one room and old soap in the second room. Was difficult to watch TV as the volume was so low, and unable to change it. Staff friendly, foyer impressive. Comfortable bed, good night sleep, quieter end of town. Price very cheap. I find it a big let down to have a room not cleaned properly before arrival, notified staff who say sorry, BUT these are small things that could have been avoided and would have made our overall rating higher.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, August 18, 2011
Thank you for providing feedback about your recent stay at the Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne. I apologise for some of the concerns you had during your stay. We have passed on your comments to the maintenance department to address immediately.
We are pleased however that you did enjoy the great location the hotel does have to all conveniences.
Once again thank you for the feedback and we look forward to accommodating you again when next in Melbourne
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,821 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    625
    813
    272
    85
    26
See reviews for
251
600
190
480
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

Lovely hotel, decor beautiful, crisp clean linen. Our room was lovely and quiet and I particularly liked the little touches of magazines for my husband and I to read whilst staying there. The bed was really spacious but the pillows could have been more comfortable.
We had fabulous breakfast and all in all, with the exception of the pillows, I would say it was near perfect and I look forward to staying there again.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a quiet room, I definately recommend the 11th floor. Lovely room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, August 18, 2011
Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay at the Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne. Your positive comments have been passed onto our Team.
We are pleased you enjoyed your recent stay and look forward to being able to accommodate you again when next in Melbourne
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

Great location for the exhibition center, nice breakfast and staff

Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, August 9, 2011
Thank you for taking time to provide feedback about your recent stay at the Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne.
The Team was pleased you enjoyed your stay and we thank you for your positive comments.
We look forward to being able to welcome you back
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

Located straight across from the Southern Cross train terminal, and where the airport bus gets in to central Melbourne, it is well placed. The lobby is nice and staff at reception friendly. Our room on first appearance was nice and large, I've been in much smaller in Melbourne! However it was missing atmosphere and was a bit tired. It was also dark and gloomy, as the outlook is into the centre of the hotel, and being 6 floors up was out onto nothing, so the blinds were constantly shut.
The downstairs bar also felt like the room and lacked atmosphere, fine if you just want a functional drink. We also went to eat in the restaurant, but it was shut on the weekend day we tried, looked nice through the glass doors though!
Would try somewhere else before staying again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, August 9, 2011
Thank you for taking time to provide feedback about your recent stay at the Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne.
We are pleased you enjoyed the location of the hotel and our hotel lobby.
If you would like to discuss your stay further, please do not hesitate to contact me at the hotel.
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

Location was good across the road from Southern Cross station, walk to city centre, casino, river, and tram stops.
I went in a group of 3, with a Queen Room and a Twin Room. The Queen Room was fairly spacious and comfortable but not very impressive in terms of furnishing and fittings. The twin room was small and cramped and cost the same as the Queen Room. The bed could not be seperated due to the bed head configuration and Queen size fitted sheet which made awkward sleeping arrangements for 2 friends.
A lot of noise came through the walls, could hear conversation from room next door.
Service was poor. No staff attempted to assist us (3 'young ladies') as we struggled with our luggage through the lobby. Had to wait for staff to finish their conversation before we were served at reception. Not what I was expecting at a 4 1/2 * hotel!

Room Tip: Might as well get a Queen room rather then a Twin. Twin is still same bed but in a smaller room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, August 3, 2011
Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay at the Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne.
I am disappointed the service my team provided you and your friends was poor, and I have personally addressed your concerns with my team.
I trust this experience did not tarnish your overall view of the Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, and we look forward to being able to accommodate you in the future.
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

I stayed there for one night just for abit of peace and quiet time by myself, so I chose to stay in a standard room only. Certainly not expecting a big room or anything glamorous, I undertand the concept of 'you get what you pay for' when it comes to accommodation of any style. I was most disappointed with the lack of maintenance and cleanliness level of the room. There were stains on walls, cabinet doors, back of doors, around door handles, curtains, bedside tables, etc. These were removable stains, so housekeeping was not too fussy with their cheaper rooms. The television reception was so poor that there was constant static noise from it. What I was happy with was the comfortable bed and pillows! I also found the old fashioned air-conditioning control panel to be very practical and easy to operate. The overall temperature was terrific for the entire night. Warm when it was supposed to be warm and cool when I needed it to be cool! Breakfast in the morning was another disappointment. I remember having a wonderful buffet breakfast there previous to the Vibe group had taken on management..This time was awful. From having to queue up for a self serve cup of coffee or tea, to the not so appetising spread of savouries being offered. The restaurant was tired and unkept, it was a real shame. This hotel has such potential, with its art deco features and beautiful marble bathrooms. I would only return if the hotel has a good clean-up and face-lift! Whenever this may be...

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, August 3, 2011
Thank you for taking time to provide feedback about your recent stay at the Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne.
I have personally communicated your comments onto the relevant departments to address these concerns immediately.
We really do appreciate your feedback, that allows us to provide a better experience for future guests.
We trust your stay has not tarnished your overall view of the hotel, and look forward to being able to welcoming you back.
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

I recently stayed in Melbourne with my daughter for a few days of retail therapy. What impressed me most about Vibe was the location and convenience to Southern Cross train station, where we were dropped by Sky Bus which was our choice of transportation from the airport ($26 return), it was just a matter of crossing the road. The room was spacious and great value for money with flat screen tv, modern, art deco decor. We requested a room with a nice view and were happy to get one looking out to the street, train station and Docklands, the afternoon sun came in it was lovely. The only complaint I would have was the shower head needed replacing and pillows were a little flat. The staff were very relaxed
and friendly. It was very cold outdoors but the heating was excellent in the room with no noise.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, August 3, 2011
Thank you for your positive feedback about your recent stay at the Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne. We are pleased you enjoyed the convenience of the hotels location and it suited your needs.
We look forward to being able to welcoming you back
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
#64 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 2,076 reviews
Docklands
Travelodge Docklands
Travelodge Docklands
#46 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 1,825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parkville
Vibe Hotel Carlton
Vibe Hotel Carlton
#83 of 158 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 520 reviews
Southbank
Travelodge Southbank Melbourne
Oaks On William
#21 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne

Address: 630 Little Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#32 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#34 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#40 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vibe Savoy Melbourne
Hotel Vibe Savoy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.