We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always excellent family hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rydges Melbourne Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Rydges Melbourne Hotel to your Saves list
Rydges Melbourne Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   186 Exhibition St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Chinatown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #94 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Maffra, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Always excellent family hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2011

Although I wouldnt choose to stay here for a romantic weekend away with my husband as a hotel for business trips or a family weekend away you cant beat it. We always stay at Rydges when we travel to Melbourne with our kids. Its a great family hotel with excellent staff who are always more than willing to help with any queries request or problems that might arise. The staff in Laconda are always absolutely fantastic and extremely friendly and they offer great service. Breakfast is always fantastic even when you arrive late. Although the hotel is quite old the rooms are always clean and any maintenence thats required is always seen to promptly. Some of the rooms are quite small but like anything you get what you pay for. The hotel is in a fantastic location and gives easy access to all of melbournes main attractions if your kids dont mind walking. We always walk to and from the MCG, as well as most other melbourne attractions. Plenty of decent restaurants near by, trams are not far away and the staff will always help with maps and directions when required. We have stayed at this hotel several times a year since our kids where qiute small and we will continue to so as it offers great value for money. As a family hotel you cant beat it!!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stus5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2011
It was pleasing to see Rydges Melbourne caers for your needs with the family. It is hoped that the suites will recieve an upgrade in the future to fix some of the age issues you have mentioned. The location is very convenient for our guests who are here to enjoy all the best things about Melbourne.

Kind regards

David Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
66 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

This hotel offers a great value for your money. We stayed in Melbourne for the Australian Open Tennis Tournament. Rydges Melbourne is in reasonable walking distance to the grounds. Chinatown begins right across the street, where you can find many good restaurants. We tried Hu Tong twice without a booking and were not able to get a table; it's that popular.

We took the Executive Deluxe King room and were rewarded with a great view toward the Parliament building. At night, Parliament and Saint Patricks Cathedral behind it are lit up for a great evening view. After dawn we saw hot air balloons floating over the city; another wonderful experience.

Be sure to register for the free Priority Guest membership. For no additional charge, you will get many additional benefits, including the Welcome Back drink!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iskating
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2011
It was pleasing to read of your stay in Melbourne and that you enjoyed the room and the location of the hotel. Melbourne has a miriad of things to see and do, it was pleasing to see you had a room with a view of the beloons and the beauiful parks.

Regards

David Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011

We stayed 5 nights as part of a trip to the Australian Open tennis.

Pros:
* The breakfast buffet at Locanda Restaurant was very good. Looked forward to it every morning. The restaurant staff were also very friendly.
* The location was a little out of the main city centre, however we enjoyed having to walk to the tennis stadiums and the centre of town (our only exercise!)
* Housekeeping were attentive and had a quick turnaround time. We left the hotel for 2 hours and came back with our room already made up.

Cons:
* The front reception staff could perhaps smile more and be a little friendlier.
* We had a Queen deluxe room and it was rather small.
* The bathroom was extremely small and poorly designed (i.e. everytime you open the door, it would hit the toilet); shower over bath wasnt up to 4.5 stars standard and all the fixtures were falling apart.
* The mini bar fridge has seen better days. It kept waking us up in the middle of the night, had no light and was poorly stocked.
* The rooftop pool and gym is very old
* Having to pay extra for internet access

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gogogirl81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2011
Thank you for your detailed comments on the hotels services and pointing out items needing attention. The hotel certainly values customer feedback and will action the items that have been noted although physical structural items such as the bathroom size in the queen rooms woudl be impossible to change, we do have other rooms with larger bathrooms for guests staying longer periods needing more space.

Yours sincerely

David Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011

We booked the hotel only the day before we arrived but we had a very nice room with a good view ,The staff were all very polite and friendly and we were checked in swiftly .
we had a drink at the bar before we went to the theatre and were surprised at the price my husband thought it must be happy hour it was so cheap but it was the standard price.
The breakfast was very good with lots of choice and after our check out we left our car in the car park with no extra charge when we picked it up later in the afternoon .
Would stay there again next time we go to Melbourne.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank supermollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2011
It was very pleasing to read of your positive experience in Melbourne and that the hotel contributed to a great impression of the city and a theatre night out. With so many great shows due to come to the nearby theatres thisyear, we hope to see you back again.

Regards

David Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2011

We have just spent 4 nights in a queen spa suite.  I knew these rooms were in the older part of the hotel, but wanted a bit of extra space, so I didn't mind that they were a bit tired, it was great to have that much space right in a major city.  The bathroom might be old but it is still impressive and we really enjoyed the spa.
The room service menu was not great and expensive - not much for kids,  but you are right in Chinatown so there is plenty of choice there.
They have basic foxtel but they don't have nickelodeon.  They also don't have the free to air digital kids channels (ABC3 or ABC2).  Our stay would have been more relaxing with some kid friendly tv.
I also had trouble with the water taps, it's hard to tell which is hot or cold and which way to turn them on and off.  Putting blue and red on them would make a difference.
I really  liked the Irish breakfast chef who made my daughter a Teddy bear shaped pancake, a lovely touch.
So some minor things, but we had a very comfortable stay.  I would stay here again.  If you are going to see a show at Her Majesty's theatre (we saw Mary Poppins) there is no better location, just luxury to walk across the road after the show for a drink in the bar while everyone else is trying to find a way home.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank annebeth11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, January 26, 2011
It was pleasing to see the larger room albeit not luxury suited your needs whilst coming to the CBD for one of the great shows at the local theatres. We are in the process of getting the digital signal in the property and shoudl not be too far away. We will certainly rveiew the tapware in the bathrooms if not clearly noted hot and cold should make it more obvious. It is also hoped the suites will be upgraded in the near future. Pleasing to see Gerard the Irish breaky chef made an impact on your kids.

Kind regards

David Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
Level Contributor
102 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2011

This was an emergency stay overnight due to flooding in western Victoria. I was grateful, they could accomodate us on short notice. The check in and check out were great, breakfast was included which was appreciated although the cost of the room I felt was exorbitant. The room was small for 2 people and the bathroom door opened onto the toilet. The airconditioner was old and extremely noisy and kept waking me up all night. Which was annoying.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mollymoo_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, January 26, 2011
Thank you for sharing your impression of the hotel and that teh hotel was in someway comfortable for your needs.

Regards

David Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2011

We went to Melbourne to visit Her Majesty's theatre and Rydges was the perfect place to stay. The staff were very helpful and friendly. We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aandvcoghlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2011
It was pleasing that you enjoyed your experience in Melbourne and you took advanatage of our unique location across the road from Her Majestys Theatre and the fantastic Mary Poppins production. Hopefully we will se eyou back again for other great shows coming in 2011.

Regards

David Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chinatown
Grand Chancellor Melbourne
Grand Chancellor Melbourne
#108 of 157 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 1,234 reviews
Rydges on Swanston Melbourne
#84 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 123 reviews
Chinatown
Mantra On Russell
Mantra On Russell
#62 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Central Business District
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
#19 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,069 reviews
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Melbourne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Melbourne Hotel

Address: 186 Exhibition St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#83 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Melbourne Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges Melbourne is conveniently located in Melbourne's CBD, in the heart of the Theatre precinct on Exhibition street. With over 290 guest rooms and 70 suites. Rydges Melbourne is home to Locanda Italian Steakhouse Restaurant and Bar, featuring the best steaks from nearby Yarra Valley, an good variety of pastas and other mouthwatering options. Located in close proximity to Bourke Street Mall shopping, a block away from the Paris End of Collins Street boutiques and in walking distance to Rod Laver Arena and the MCG, Rydges Melbourne is a great choice if you are wanting everything at your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Rydges Melbourne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Rydges Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing