We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and very friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rydges Melbourne Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Rydges Melbourne Hotel to your Saves list
Rydges Melbourne Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   186 Exhibition St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #93 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent location and very friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2010

The restaurant serves a very good well priced steak.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2010
The new Locanda steakhouse is providing amazing mouth watering steaks from the local Yarra Valley region, the feedback has been very positive and glad to see you enjoyed it.

Kind regards

David Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    442
    281
    105
    65
See reviews for
116
445
92
262
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
melbourne
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2010

What a very clean, hotel. Staff were nice and friendly/helpful :) Beds were the best to sleep in. Morning breakfast, great vairety, fresh and yummy. Was great to sit in resturant/bar and have a few drinks. Staff would make converstation and see how your trip was going. Is located in great part of melbourne CBD, things within walking distance or close to public transport. Is now a favorite on my list can't wait to stay again :) xxx

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2010
Thank you for the positive comments relating to your stay at the hotel, it was very pleasing to see the team did it right for your stay and you enjoyed a comfortable and clean room and enjoyed the atmosphere of our excellent steak restaurant. Really good to see we are on your favourite list and hope you have as good an experience next time you are here.

Kind regards

David Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth, western australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2010

just gotten back from a weekend trip to Melbourne to see hairspray and Mary Poppins. first time staying at rydges. absolutely fantastic! our room was ready when we arrived and check in was quick and easy as we had checked in online. our room was spacious and clean. had a problem with the curtains not closing properly but that was fixed quickly by housekeeping! the staff were great, helping out with any questions asked....mostly about directions! the theatres are all nearby. Mary Poppins right across the road and hairspray a few minutes walk around the corner. room service was great. reasonable priced and quick service. yummy food! the hotel is also a quick walk to the nearest stop for the free city circle tram and other attractions. we had a fantastic stay and wouldn't hesitate to stay again!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2010
It was great to see you enjoyed Melbourne and your stay at Rydges with your visit. It was warming to see the hotel team had the room ready and answered your needs during your stay. The location does prove to be popular for those people venturing down for the great shows on currently and with more amazing shows on the agenda for 2011, a broad variety of shops in close proximity, it will be excellent to see you back again in the near future.

Kind regards

David Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armidale
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2010

4 girlfriends travelled to Melbourne for a fun filled 5 day break. We were greeted with smiles and a very quick check in. The rooms were superb, a little noisy but once in the comfy beds it didn't matter.
We ate well from the Restaurant. The staff always there to assist us, especially one particular staff member who looked after us so well, making us drinks that were to die for at night and coffee that was a requirement each morning.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2010
It was very pleasing to see that Rydges Melbourne was a great base for a girls trip away! The location is also ideal for shopping retail therapy and easy access to Melbourne's night life and entertainment. Great to see the team provided good service for your visit an dhopefully will see you back again.

Kind regards

David Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2010

Fantastic weekend. The staff were very helpful and nothing too much trouble. This was our second stay there and we look forward to coming back sometime in the future

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2010
Fantastic to read your experience at the hotel and Melbourne was a good one and the team made you feel welcome and provided good service. The location is ideal for anyone wanting to go to the theatre, shopping or one of the major sporting events at Rod Laver. Hope we see you back again.

Kind regards

David Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverloch, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2010

I was stuck sitting on two different aeoroplanes on the tarmac at Sydney Airport for a total of almost four hours because of the weather. When I finally arrived in Melbourne, I found that my luggage was still in Sydney and the keys to my car were in my case. A cab ride to Rydges Melbourne had me arriving at the hotel after midnight without even a toothbrush. The staff on the desk were soooo understanding and helpful that it reinforced the reason I stay at Rydges wherever and whenever I can. I was upgraded to make my stay as pleasant as it could be under the circumstances. The staff in the restaurant the next day, from the Brazilian waitress to the Irish chef to the Italian waiter were outstanding. By 9:30 my previous night's experience had become dinner party conversation and I had moved on to more important matters. Staying at Rydges Melbourne was enjoyable for many reasons but first among these is the quality of service. The level of staff recruitment and training is quite remarkable and an object lesson to other commercial enterprises in Australia.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2010
It was fantastic to read your feedback on the experience at Rydges Melbourne although on the back of a frustrating exeperience with the airlines.......I have had similar experiences with airlines and lost luggage with house keys in them and there is nothing more frightening than being in a strange city with nothing but the shirt on your back and thoughts of horror on how this will work out. I was very glad to see the hotel team looked after your needs so well and that they achieved such a remarkable turn around for your stay in Melbourne.........it is the staff that can make such a big difference to someones stay.

Kind regards

David Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2010

Conveniently located in the heart of Melbourne this hotel is value for money. The room was good with an excellent bed resulting in a good nights sleep. The breakfast was great and the coffee, even better! The staff were friendly and helpful. I will be back.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2010
It is always rewarding to read a positive comment on someones experience at the hotel and in Melbourne. I was very happy to see the hotel team provided good service that complimented your overall experience.

Yours sincerely

David Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rydges Melbourne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Melbourne Hotel

Address: 186 Exhibition St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#64 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#79 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Melbourne Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges Melbourne is conveniently located in Melbourne's CBD, in the heart of the Theatre precinct on Exhibition street. With over 290 guest rooms and 70 suites. Rydges Melbourne is home to Locanda Italian Steakhouse Restaurant and Bar, featuring the best steaks from nearby Yarra Valley, an good variety of pastas and other mouthwatering options. Located in close proximity to Bourke Street Mall shopping, a block away from the Paris End of Collins Street boutiques and in walking distance to Rod Laver Arena and the MCG, Rydges Melbourne is a great choice if you are wanting everything at your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Rydges Melbourne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Rydges Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rydges Melbourne Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.