We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Money well spent, very friendly and helpful staff.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rydges Melbourne Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Rydges Melbourne Hotel to your Saves list
Rydges Melbourne Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   186 Exhibition St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #97 of 173 Hotels in Melbourne
Armidale
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Money well spent, very friendly and helpful staff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2010

4 girlfriends travelled to Melbourne for a fun filled 5 day break. We were greeted with smiles and a very quick check in. The rooms were superb, a little noisy but once in the comfy beds it didn't matter.
We ate well from the Restaurant. The staff always there to assist us, especially one particular staff member who looked after us so well, making us drinks that were to die for at night and coffee that was a requirement each morning.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2010
It was very pleasing to see that Rydges Melbourne was a great base for a girls trip away! The location is also ideal for shopping retail therapy and easy access to Melbourne's night life and entertainment. Great to see the team provided good service for your visit an dhopefully will see you back again.

Kind regards

David Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    481
    305
    119
    68
See reviews for
127
481
101
287
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Townsville, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2010

Fantastic weekend. The staff were very helpful and nothing too much trouble. This was our second stay there and we look forward to coming back sometime in the future

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2010
Fantastic to read your experience at the hotel and Melbourne was a good one and the team made you feel welcome and provided good service. The location is ideal for anyone wanting to go to the theatre, shopping or one of the major sporting events at Rod Laver. Hope we see you back again.

Kind regards

David Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverloch, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2010

I was stuck sitting on two different aeoroplanes on the tarmac at Sydney Airport for a total of almost four hours because of the weather. When I finally arrived in Melbourne, I found that my luggage was still in Sydney and the keys to my car were in my case. A cab ride to Rydges Melbourne had me arriving at the hotel after midnight without even a toothbrush. The staff on the desk were soooo understanding and helpful that it reinforced the reason I stay at Rydges wherever and whenever I can. I was upgraded to make my stay as pleasant as it could be under the circumstances. The staff in the restaurant the next day, from the Brazilian waitress to the Irish chef to the Italian waiter were outstanding. By 9:30 my previous night's experience had become dinner party conversation and I had moved on to more important matters. Staying at Rydges Melbourne was enjoyable for many reasons but first among these is the quality of service. The level of staff recruitment and training is quite remarkable and an object lesson to other commercial enterprises in Australia.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2010
It was fantastic to read your feedback on the experience at Rydges Melbourne although on the back of a frustrating exeperience with the airlines.......I have had similar experiences with airlines and lost luggage with house keys in them and there is nothing more frightening than being in a strange city with nothing but the shirt on your back and thoughts of horror on how this will work out. I was very glad to see the hotel team looked after your needs so well and that they achieved such a remarkable turn around for your stay in Melbourne.........it is the staff that can make such a big difference to someones stay.

Kind regards

David Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2010

Conveniently located in the heart of Melbourne this hotel is value for money. The room was good with an excellent bed resulting in a good nights sleep. The breakfast was great and the coffee, even better! The staff were friendly and helpful. I will be back.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2010
It is always rewarding to read a positive comment on someones experience at the hotel and in Melbourne. I was very happy to see the hotel team provided good service that complimented your overall experience.

Yours sincerely

David Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2010

If your looking for something central to the CBD then this is the place to be. Hotel rates well in amenities, room was spacious and hotel staff friendly. Overall great stay and recommended. KT (Sydney, NSW)

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2010
It was great to see the hotel ticked all the boxes from your recent visit, hopefully we can continue to offer this type of service for all our guests. Look forward to having you back again in the future.

Yours sincerely

David Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2010

This hotel is located right beside China Town and walking distance to the mall, train, trams and bars/restaurants. The service was consistently friendly, quick and professional. The room was furnished in a modern and warm style, and the glass desk was well set up for business purposes.

The only complaints I had were that the shower was truly bad - no pressure whatsoever and it took about ten minutes to get hot. The carpet and footstool/ottoman also needed a clean as they felt a bit greasy.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2010
It was pleasing to read you enjoyed the hotels excellent location in close proximity to all the best features of Melbourne. I have discussed your comment on the shower pressure with maintenance as this is not normal, hopefully it was a one off event as we have not received similar comments over that period. The only other thing I can think of was due to a major exodus of the hotel from the spring racing carnival period was the demand on the hot water when you had your shower, lowered the overall hot water pressure.

Yours sincerely

David Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2010

Just stayed at the Rydges Melbourne for 2 nights on a business trip. Stay away from home regularly for work but first time at the Rydges Melbourne.

Amazed that I was given a single bed only! This has not happened before in my many business trips all over the world.

To do email at night I had a choice between using the desk that had the tv right behind it (meaning you could not watch tv as you were so close) or sit on the single bed complete with laptop and necessary paperwork. I chose the single bed option which was far from ideal but meant I could also have the tv on.

I am quite tall (6 ft 2) and was amazed that the only beds in the room were single beds. Made it difficult to get comfortable.

The positives of the hotel were the location - it is centrally located in the Melbourne CBD - and the room service dinner menu. I had room service dinner on both nights and was very pleased with it.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2010
It was of concern that you had been placed in a single bed for your stay, without being able to check how the booking was made, the only way this would occur is if an agent booked a twin room or it was allocated on line by the consumer when booking. The resevrations team use the queen rooms for any single bookings, this is what is also requested by travellers. I agree that single beds would not be ideal for a single traveller and it is not our policy to allocate this way. I also appreciate for a corporate that the twin room set up is not ideal for doing work. It was pleasing to see that you enjoyed room service and the location of the hotel.

Yours sincerely

David Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rydges Melbourne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Melbourne Hotel

Address: 186 Exhibition St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#85 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Melbourne Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges Melbourne is conveniently located in Melbourne's CBD, in the heart of the Theatre precinct on Exhibition street. With over 290 guest rooms and 70 suites. Rydges Melbourne is home to Locanda Italian Steakhouse Restaurant and Bar, featuring the best steaks from nearby Yarra Valley, an good variety of pastas and other mouthwatering options. Located in close proximity to Bourke Street Mall shopping, a block away from the Paris End of Collins Street boutiques and in walking distance to Rod Laver Arena and the MCG, Rydges Melbourne is a great choice if you are wanting everything at your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Rydges Melbourne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Rydges Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rydges Melbourne Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.