We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay, but still needs some love” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rydges Melbourne Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Rydges Melbourne Hotel to your Saves list
Rydges Melbourne Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   186 Exhibition St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #93 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good stay, but still needs some love”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2010

Stayed at Rydges Melbourne for one week. I decided to book at Rydges Melbourne after having a pleasent experience at Rydges in Perth.
The stay was pleasant, and was enjoyable. We had in room breakfast one morning, which was delicious, and warm.
There were a few problems with the room and hotel in general. The room first: the aircon needs an update. The room was too stuffy and the aircon did nothing to alleviate this. The aircon at the front of the room (we stayed in a Queen Suite) did not work or needs regassing. The bathroom - the toilet roll holder and the towel racks had been broken off, and need repairing as well as the wall needing to be repaired as chunks of the wall had been chipped off due to the broken holders. The TV reception in the bedroom was poor. I wouldn't have minded a couple of different channels.

onto the hotel in generaly: As I stayed on level 9 (cannot remember the room number), the hall needs to be refurbished, as it looks old and dated, especially the carpet. The lifts are dodgy and we felt as though we were biting a bullet everytime we used them.

When we first went inside of Rydges, the fireplace was on, which was quite pretty, but was not on the rest of the time, which was a bit disappointing.

We ate at the Locanda restaurant, and the food was exquisite. HIGHLY recommended for anyone to eat here. It has been one of my best dining experiences. We had drinks afterwards at the bar and the drink prices are very resonable (although in consideration I live in Perth, where our drink prices are ridiculously expensive).

Overall, I was happy with our stay, but the hotel still needs a few touch-ups.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2010
It was appreciative of the detailed feedback of your experience at Rydges Melbourne and also the fact you had stayed with the chain in Perth. It hoped that the suite side rooms may receive some improvements in the coming year as they reciving feedback similar to yours on signs of wear and tear and general need for a refresh. Otherwise the rooms are large and good value for money.

David Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    442
    281
    105
    65
See reviews for
116
445
92
262
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2010

Stayed at the Rydges for several nights. The first night, the air conditioner's compressor regular cycle was so noisy that I woke up periodically throughout the night. I am generally quite a heavy sleeper. After speaking to maintenance about the noise (they couldn't do anything about it) and then to reception, we were moved to a different floor with a slightly less noisy airconditioner. We were assured that the noise was 'standard', that it was just the compressor kicking in periodically. However, the new room was located directly next to the lift shafts, where we were treated to the sound of the lifts all night for the remainder of our stay.

We found the rooms to be quite pleasant, and the service to be quite good. It is unfortunate that the old style air conditioning and thin walls detracted from what is otherwise a nicely furnished and conveniently placed hotel.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2010
It was disapointing to read that you had a disturbed sleep due to the plant and equipment. Although maintenance try to ensure these units are running smoothly, ultimatley they need replacement. We are in the process of doing this to approx 50 units to assist in a superior product and experience in the rooms.

David Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melb, Aust
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2010

We stayed for NYE on a package that was cheaper than the room alone and included drinks, dinner, breakfast and parking. The rooms were basic but clean and the bed was very comfortable. The staff were all friendly and helpful. Very close to and easy walking distance to the centre of Melbourne.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, David Bornmann General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2010
Appreciate your feedback on your recent stay at Rydges Melbourne and like many of the people over NYE, it was pleasing to read you enjoyed the experience in the CBD to bring in the New Year!

It was pleasing to read the team were friendly and helful whilst here, it was a busy couple of days with everyone here for only the one or two nights and everyone, as you'd appreciate were more or less arriving and leaving about the same time!

Trust you will be back again to take advantage of the great valued packages through the year.

David Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2009

I have stayed in quite a few Rydges hotel, all of my experiences have been either good or okay but this stay was not pleasant. If you do a search for a hotel on some of the popular websites like Wotif or Zuji , Rydges Melbourne comes up as a four star hotel but the experience cannot be rated even two star. The room was a standard king bed room, it was quite crammed up. The carpets on our floor outside our room were not clean. I believe the hotel is old so that could be the reason for lifts having a old look, once during my stay the lifts to the basement were not working properly. i can ignore all these if my room was clean, since you would be spending most of the time in your room. The air condition was in a bad state i.e. there was too much filth on the AC, i did not switch it on for the reason. overall the experience has been bad i would not recommend it to any one. if you are going by a rating of four rating, please give this a miss , this hotel not a four star.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, David Bornmann General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2010
Your comments have been noted and it is disappointing you have this impression from your stay at Rydges Melbourne. It will be discussed with the housekeeping team to ascertain why the A/c was in a bad state as you have pointed out. The hotel is rated 4.5 star per AAA unlike some hotels it is not 'self rated'. AAA have inspected and marked the hotel fairly on the same point system as all other hotels in the country.

Unfortunately there are occasions when rooms are not checked or cleaned as effecitvely as they should be but it is not a reflection on the entire property. We endevour to deliver a high standard with the inventory we have; it is embarrassing for the hotel when this does not occur and but assure other travellers it is not the norm.

David Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2009

A few long stays away from home was made easier by being made to feel welcome

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, David Bornmann General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2010
It was pleasing that you enjoyed your stay at Rydges Melbourne and you were made to feel at home whilst in the city. It is certainly something we strive to achieve with all our guests even if only here for a short stay.

David Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central coast nsw australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2009

when i booked this hotel i thought it might be a bit far from the centre. i was very wrong .it is a great location ,near the theatres,across the road to china town, one block to the tourist bus, and one block to the free tram. the rooms were quite spacious for our stay of a week. the staff were very obliging,and if you're a priority member (free to join) you get lots of extras ,especially in the bar and resuarant.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, David Bornmann General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2009
Nice to see the priority guest system and our location were both of benefit during your recent visit. Fortunately even though not in the heart of th eCBD, we are only a short tram ride to Bourke st Mall and other attractions in the city. Most guests who are driving generally leave their cars here and use a tram to get around the city.

I hope we se eyouback again down the track.

David Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2009

Needed a weekend away after my wife returned from 3 months overseas. Checked in on a very busy Saturday afternoon and found the girl at reception to be exceptional. She was extremely pleasant, efficient and was a great first impression. The room was clean and well appointed. The bed was probably the best I have slept in, certainly the best hotel bed anyway. Location is excellent within walking distance to all Melbourne has to offer. I had been a bit concerned after reading some others comments on noise, cleanliness etc but didn't find street noise to be a problem and all was good. At around $200 a night for location and facilities (queen spa suite) I thought it to be superb value. I will certainly stay thre again and would recommend it to family, friends and business associates.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, David Bornmann General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2009
Thank you for your feedback, it was pleasing to read of your experience with the front desk on arrival, always great to read they are providing a good quality level of guest service.

Also pleasing to note your feedback on the Rydges Dream Bed and the room cleanliness as you have said, it is something that can be highlighted if not of a good standard, but with some focus on attention to detail, makes a big difference.

I hope we see you back here again in the future.

David Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rydges Melbourne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Melbourne Hotel

Address: 186 Exhibition St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#64 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#79 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Melbourne Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges Melbourne is conveniently located in Melbourne's CBD, in the heart of the Theatre precinct on Exhibition street. With over 290 guest rooms and 70 suites. Rydges Melbourne is home to Locanda Italian Steakhouse Restaurant and Bar, featuring the best steaks from nearby Yarra Valley, an good variety of pastas and other mouthwatering options. Located in close proximity to Bourke Street Mall shopping, a block away from the Paris End of Collins Street boutiques and in walking distance to Rod Laver Arena and the MCG, Rydges Melbourne is a great choice if you are wanting everything at your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Rydges Melbourne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Rydges Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rydges Melbourne Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.