We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude surly staff and a bedroom the size of my airing cupboard” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Rydges Melbourne Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Rydges Melbourne Hotel to your Saves list
Rydges Melbourne Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   186 Exhibition St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #93 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Rude surly staff and a bedroom the size of my airing cupboard”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Just awful. Exceptionally rude girl checked me in and totally ignored my supposed loyalty benefits. The room was so small I think my airing cupboard is bigger. I think even a Hobbit would have found the bathroom challenging as you can basically shower whilst you are sat on the toilet.

Trying to get my company to change my hotel reservation for my next 4 trips to Melbourne this year.

Am finding Rydges hotels are the pits and really don't care about staff nor room quality. A chain to avoid when travelling.

Room Tip: Try another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    442
    281
    105
    65
See reviews for
116
445
92
262
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Great location, we had a brillant deal of $149 B&B. Room getting a bit tired however no complaints. You get what you pay for. Also had a great view.
A bit if traffic noise but I don't mind that gives you the feel of being in the city. Cheap parking $29 for 24 hrs.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agnes Water, Australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

There is no remedy for a hotel ageing and unfortunately this is one. The location of the Rydges is fantastic, the staff very good and mostly helpful, but old hotels need lots of TLC and I dont think this one is getting it. One big plus was "free Wi Fi" something which should be a standard everywhere but unfortunately most places still rob their customers for basic internet service.

Now for the room, firstly there was no safe in our room. I would have thought by now that in a business/Tourist hotel this was an absolute must. There was only 3 draws in the wardrobe, fine for one person on an overnight stay but simply hopeless for two people for a week, we lived out of our case - definately not four star standard. The bathrooms have been revamped as some stage but nothing can overcome cramped bathrooms with a toilet cramped up next to the door. Mould is just unacceptable in a bathroom and ours had lots in the grouting and along the shower frame, it simply means it has not been cleaned properly. The heating/cooling system was so noisy that we had to turn it off at night otherwise sleep was impossible (reminded me of those horrid old airconditioners whose fan kept hitting the grill) Wine glasses not cleaned when room was cleaned, tissue boxes not changed when empty and in the business centre when trying to do online check-in we find the printer was out of order !!!!!!!! All up, 3 star and loosing sight of 4.

Room Tip: See your room first
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Tasmania
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

My partner and I spent two nights at this hotel in late May. It was picked primarily as a good city location but within a nice walk of the MCG for the Dream Time football game. The room size is ok but the bathroom is definitely on the smaller side, we couldn't open the bathroom door fully, only about half way before it bangs into the toilet. This isn't a problem but just be warned you won't be having a party in the bathroom!

The bed was comfortable but I was surprised to find it had a feather doona which isn't good for people like me with allergies. I asked the desk staff if they could change it while we went out to dinner and when we came back we had blankets on the bed instead which was a nice touch.

The location is good to china town and only a 5 minute stroll to the Bourke St Mall. Would stay there again if I was wanting to be at that end of town.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Stayed for 5 nights late last month in a spa suite for a relaxing getaway in Melbourne to see a show, and catch up with family and friends. We have stayed here several times over the last few years, and have always felt well taken care of.

The location is, obviously, excellent (especially if one is in town primarily for a show as we were) but once again the service was outstanding - Amy in the restaurant was fantastic, along with several others whose names we didn't get, unfortunately. Excellent attention from housekeeping, as well.

One of the nicest customer service experiences we got however, was on our check-out day. We'd already been granted a late check out, but upon learning that we were trying to catch the end of a Stanley Cup Conference Final game, Chris Hurst (duty manager) and Alex (reception) made hash of our plans to run into the bar for the OT period (where the staff were, incidentally, more than happy to put the hockey on for us) and let us go back up to our room so we could watch the end of the game, with sound (I'm Canadian - this matters!) This was unsolicited, and a very nice touch.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Staying a t the Rydges Exhibition street in Melbourne is a fantastic experience. From making the booking until the end of our stay the communication was excellent. On arrival we err greeted by Chris who informed us that our room was ready for us along with the complimentary upgrade to a suite. It was only 10am and we were expecting to have our bags in storage for a while. On entering our room, we were very surprised to see such a huge room, divided into lounge and bedroom area. It was clean and very well presented. The bathroom too was very clean and very large. A great shower and the fluffiness big towels.
People have talked about the beds, and yes t are right. They are truly exceptional and such a great way to end each day falling into such bliss.
Each morning we had breakfast in the Rise on Rydges breakfast restaurant. What a great experience. A hotel can rise and fall on their breakfast offerings and this one is truly exceptional. The presentation is always amazing, the selection is huge and quite original. The star anise infused fruit, juices of the day, a honey comb dripping honey, omelet bar, roasted mushrooms, beautiful chippolatas and bacon, the best scrambled eggs and to die for poached eggs.
Friday night is happy hour in the bar with complimentary snacks on offer. What beautiful hors doevres they were. Not just chips!
The star of the whole experience was Chris who helped us throughout our stay with information and general courtesy.
Our next stay will be back here.

Room Tip: A suite is certainly a great option if you can get one. We were third floor and thought this was per...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Au
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

I remember the first time that I stayed in Rydges Melbourne many years ago and with my return last week it felt like the charm of it was not lost. The only thing I miss is Bobby McGee's.
The rooms was quite right for my business trip stay and yes it is close to most of my customers. The best part most of the theatres are close by and easy to catch a good show after work. Really loved the full breakfast.

Room Tip: I have stayed on the 16th Floor and found the rooms quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rydges Melbourne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Melbourne Hotel

Address: 186 Exhibition St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#64 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#79 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Melbourne Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges Melbourne is conveniently located in Melbourne's CBD, in the heart of the Theatre precinct on Exhibition street. With over 290 guest rooms and 70 suites. Rydges Melbourne is home to Locanda Italian Steakhouse Restaurant and Bar, featuring the best steaks from nearby Yarra Valley, an good variety of pastas and other mouthwatering options. Located in close proximity to Bourke Street Mall shopping, a block away from the Paris End of Collins Street boutiques and in walking distance to Rod Laver Arena and the MCG, Rydges Melbourne is a great choice if you are wanting everything at your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Rydges Melbourne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Rydges Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rydges Melbourne Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.