We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good facilities, service, close to everything” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rydges Melbourne Hotel

Save Saved
You added Rydges Melbourne Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rydges Melbourne Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   186 Exhibition St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #91 of 170 hotels in Melbourne
Brisbane-Australia
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“Good facilities, service, close to everything”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

I usually stay down near Swanston St but in future will return to here. Typical upmarket business travellers hotel. Good room - decent size, nice to have a chair to sit in to watch TV, comfortable bed, choice of pillows, clean bathroom, nice toiletries etc etc Check in staff and concierge were both good too. Nothing to complain about - a comfortable nigh'ts sleep.

Sure, there could be free wifi but unfortunately, in Australia, it is not offered as standard. Guy Grossi's 'Florentino' is just around the corner if you're after a good meal,George Colombaris' 'Gazi' on the same St and also good to eat at, very close to Spring St, the museum, on the edge of Chinatown, handy trams to Fitroy & St Kilda in the cross st. Short walk only to the Mall.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph_Ancora, Marketing Coordinator at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for your review Ryan. It was fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Rydges Melbourne is conveniently located within walking distance to some of Melbourne's best shopping centres, entertainment venues and restaurants and it was great to hear that you were able to experience some of this! It was also pleasing to hear that you were happy with the room offerings including our very comfortable 'Rydges Dream Bed' (www.rydges.com/dreambeds). Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in town.

Many Thanks,
Joseph Ancora
Marketing Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,038 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    230
    395
    262
    91
    60
See reviews for
101
418
81
231
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

We were quite surprised how nice but small this hotel was. We were able to check into our room a little earlier that the original check in time. The room was really neat and very comfortable. We found the room got very warm during the evening and upon turning the air conditioning on, it was very noisy throughout the night.
The staff were very good and extremely helpful when needed. We will be returning again as we did enjoy ourselves.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph_Ancora, Marketing Coordinator at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you for your review Chris. It was great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and the service received throughout. Although we do have 363 rooms we do aim to provide a personalised service to each and every guest, and it was great to hear that this was the case for you. Regarding the air conditioning unit, I will pass on your feedback to our maintenance department to ensure this is looked at, thank you for making us aware! We look forward to welcoming you back to Rydges Melbourne when you are next visiting.

Many Thanks,
Joseph Ancora
Marketing Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Apparently I had a Deluxe Queen Room which probably meant a big bed in a standard room. Room was clean and comfortable. Bathroom probably a little small but serviceable. Food was good and the service is great.

The main issue for me is the TV system. Half the channels don't work and the wait to see what is on in between changing channels is pathetic. Must be whoever they use as a provider because I had the same issue in Sydney at the Rydges there for the previous two days.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph_Ancora, Marketing Coordinator at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you so much for your review Phil. It was pleasing to hear that you enjoyed our delicious food offerings and high level of customer service. I do apologise that you were not satisfied with the current selection of TV channels available. This is something we are looking in to at the moment and I will certainly pass on your concerns to the relevant departments. We hope to welcome you back to Rydges Melbourne when you are next in town.

Many Thanks,
Joseph Ancora
Marketing Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

The hotel seemed lovely upon arrival. I stayed in a twin bed room that was terribly small and the bathroom/toilet was also too small, as the toilet was behind the door which made it difficult getting in and out of the tiny bathroom.

The tv didn't have any decent channels to watch of an evening and to top it all off I was charged for things out of the mini bar and never even touched anything in the mini bar. When my friend went over to the milk and coffee it was several months out of date and no milk in the fridge. We won't be stating here again, 4.5 stars - I don't think so.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wagga Wagga
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

I stayed here with a friend for one night with a cheap bed and breakfast deal, the beds are very comfortable and the room was clean. We had great customer service from Christie, and we would definitely stay here again if we come back to Melbourne someday.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph_Ancora, Marketing Coordinator at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you for your review. It was great to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass on your feedback to Christie, she will be thrilled to hear that you were happy with her customer service. It was also very pleasing to hear that you enjoyed our very comfortable 'Rydges Dream Bed', they certainly provide an amazing nights sleep! We look forward to welcoming you back to Rydges Melbourne in the near future.

Many Thanks,
Joseph Ancora
Marketing Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traralgon, Australia
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Rydges is a nice enough place to stay...great location.....it's just not 4.5 star standard.
It's simple things too that seem to let the place down (based on reading other reviews)....I add to the list, no milk in the fridge.
Bathroom layout was poor, water goes everywhere when you have a shower.
And the "Dreambeds" they promote are just extremely soft beds....waaaay to soft for my liking.
Service was otherwise good....we were there for a conference and the staff who ran that side of thing were fantastic.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph_Ancora, Marketing Coordinator at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Thank you for your review. We were pleased to read that you enjoyed the hotels prime location and friendly and efficient customer service. I will pass on your kind words to our conference staff, they are a hard working team and it is always nice to receive such great feedback! I will have a chat to our room service staff as there should have been milk in the fridge, so I apologise if this was not the case. It is also disapointing to read that you did not enjoy our 'Rydges Dream Bed'. We receive fantastic feedback from many guests regarding our luxury beds, but unfortunately it is one of those things that will not be to everyone's liking. Thank you once again for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back to Rydges Melbourne in the near future.

Many Thanks,
Joseph Ancora
Marketing Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

I am actually currently staying in the hotel as I write this review, but feel strongly enough to let people know what it's like.

Impressed on entering hotel, lobby is lovely and reception staff were great. Managed to get a room ready much earlier than expected and in a high floor as requested.

Food - haven't had breakfast yet, but the way they're going, I'm sure it'll be lovely. Room service very swift and delivered the food hot - tick! Food very yummy too, good presentation and taste.

Unfortunately, that's where most of the good news ends.

Not that I really care about room size, but I did notice this was particularly small in comparison to many hotels. Room relatively clean at first glance, but dust, stains, etc are clearly visible the longer you stay in the room. For example, the wall next to the bed has old dribble marks from a spilt coffee or drink, running down the wall just above the skirting board. Filter on heater/air con is filthy. Full of dust which is clearly visible and makes you not want to use it in fear of dispursing unwanted fiberous stuff into the air.

Bathroom is a disaster. Tiny little box, leaving you barely any room to close the door and access the toilet behind it. Good luck to any normal sized male trying to do this. Mould and mildew is all around the grout in the combined bath/shower, which also has a pointless, pivoting glass panel to stop splashes when showering. This again is awkward and unsafe to even unfold, and it barely does it's job anyway. Size and planning of bathroom also makes it dangerous to step out of the bath/shower.

Tea and coffee supplies reasonable. Minibar lightweight on choice, but pricing is very reasonable considering what you see these days for minibar purchases. Not too bad.

Entertainment - TERRIBLE!! Normal free to air tv, with a few cable staples such as fox sport and sky news, but that's it. Not even a music channel, history, tvs, the standard pay tv channels you'd find at a hotel.

It gets worse.. I had trouble finding on demand movies one night, to which I decided to read the overview of the hotel services. Yes, on demand was available, but I still couldn't work out how to get it, even after pressing all the buttons on the remote. So I called reception, to which I was informed, "oh, we've had it removed" - ?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?! I know it's not the be all and end all, but seriously, what a joke. I'd be quite happy watching tv instead, but you're only supplied with 6 odd free to air channels and then just fox sport, sky news and nat geo. Your customers will not be impressed with this!! I know I'm not!! Two words - fix it!

In summary, great location, great food, friendly service. I have read many reviews saying stays in the king spa suites etc are great. And I'm sure they are. However, the standard rooms need a major overhaul/renovation. They are showing their age and they make the stay unpleasant. No one likes mould and stains and dust! In addition, many basic/standard services and in room supply levels you'd find in other hotels, are just not here.

It's a real shame, because the location is great and the staff are lovely and work hard. It's the product, in this case the standard type hotel room, that just doesn't cut it.

Food for thought. Unfortunately, I won't be back any time soon.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph_Ancora, Marketing Coordinator at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Thank you so much for your detailed review. We appreciate your constructive criticism, this enables us to improve and grow as a hotel, so thank you for this. It was great to hear that you enjoyed the hotels prime location, friendly service and delicious food. Ensuring an exceptional level of customer service is so important to us and we are very glad to hear you were impressed with this.

Thank you for sharing your concerns regarding the room services and cleanliness, it is not acceptable for the room to be any less than 100% clean so I will speak to the relevant departments regarding this. We are in the proccess of improving our in-room services so we would greatly appreciate the opportunity of welcoming you back to our hotel sometime in the near future to enjoy the new changes.

Many Thanks,
Joseph Ancora
Marketing Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rydges Melbourne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Melbourne Hotel

Address: 186 Exhibition St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#79 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#91 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Melbourne Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges Melbourne is conveniently located in Melbourne's CBD, in the heart of the Theatre precinct on Exhibition street. With over 290 guest rooms and 70 suites. Rydges Melbourne is home to Locanda Italian Steakhouse Restaurant and Bar, featuring the best steaks from nearby Yarra Valley, an good variety of pastas and other mouthwatering options. Located in close proximity to Bourke Street Mall shopping, a block away from the Paris End of Collins Street boutiques and in walking distance to Rod Laver Arena and the MCG, Rydges Melbourne is a great choice if you are wanting everything at your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Tingo, Otel, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Rydges Melbourne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Rydges Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rydges Melbourne Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.