We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great short stay :)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rydges Melbourne Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Rydges Melbourne Hotel to your Saves list
Rydges Melbourne Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   186 Exhibition St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #95 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great short stay :)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Stayed for one night at Rydges with friends. The room was immaculate, beautiful toiletries in the bathroom, shower was big enough for two ;) The buffet breakfast was beautiful, lots to choose from, items cooked fresh in front of you. No complaints here, would stay there again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph_Ancora, Marketing Coordinator at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at Rydges Melbourne. It seems as though you may have been in one of our newly refurbished suites and we are thrilled that you enjoyed it. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Many Thanks,
Joseph Ancora
Marketing Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    438
    280
    105
    65
See reviews for
112
444
92
262
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
west australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We checked in at 1am and everything was handled with speed and a nice smile,nice to see at that time of the morning. We had a queen suite it was fantastic clean and bathroom huge unlike some in melbourne,Bar fridge was well stocked,and lovely toiletries supplied. Bed was really comfy,we did have a drink in the bar but did not eat there as we were all ready committed. Thank you for a memorable stay.

Room Tip: suite 408 was quiet and away from the lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph_Ancora, Marketing Coordinator at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you so much for your extremely positive review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay at Rydges Melbourne and the friendly service provided. It is fantastic to hear that the room and bathroom met your expectations, the suites certainly are spacious! We hope to welcome you back next time you are in Melbourne.
Many Thanks,
Joseph Ancora
Marketing Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel as we were going to the Grand Final. (Fremantle you won on the ground but not on the score board ).Staff were friendly. Room was comfortable. Close to bars and restaurants. Also near China Town. Didn't use any of the facilities or restaurant/bar within the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph_Ancora, Marketing Coordinator at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback. We are so glad that you enjoyed Rydges Melbourne's close proximity to the MCG and other sporting and entertainment centres. We hope to welcome you back in the near future so that you are able to enjoy the fantastic dining and leisure services that the hotel offers.
Many Thanks,
Joseph Ancora
Marketing Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bairnsdale, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Easy to get to when driving from East Gippsland. Handy to MCG, City Centre, Chinatown and Melbourne Central. Onsite parking. Loyalty scheme that is worthwhile, can accrue free night quite quickly. Easy walking distance to Fedearation Squre and Exhibition Building. Parking charges seem a bit erratic though.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa_Parker_Rydges, Executive Assistant Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for your review. We're pleased to see you enjoyed the convenient location of the hotel. Our loyalty program is fantastic as it gives you immediate rewards and savings and best of all it's free! I hope you took advantage of the complimentary late check out whilst you were here.
I will follow up with our front desk team regarding your comment on the car parking charges. They should not be inconsistent.
We look forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camperdown, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

we loved the room for our family of 5, very large heaps of room and we felt like we could stay a week. the pool is great my kids loved it. its just a stroll to the MCG which is why we stayed here. on our sleep we found lots of noise of the street, and it was hard to sleep. Staff are very friendly and i would recommend the hotel, just not sure if i would stay again in the premier spa suite.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa_Parker_Rydges, Executive Assistant Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thanks for the great feedback. We love having families in the hotel. Our premier spa rooms are ideal for families who need a room with lots of space. The rooftop heated pool is perfect to entertain the kids especially when we have such amazing Spring weather as we've just had.
I'm sorry you found the room noisy and had a disrupted sleep. I will ask our Maintenance Manager to inspect the Premier Spa rooms.
It is pleasing to read our staff were friendly. We regularly receive great feedback on their friendliness and willingness to help.
We look forward to welcoming your family back to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

This hotel is in an ideal location. The real is an inviting fireplace that is perfect to enjoy a wine near in the big comfy chairs. The breaky buffet was perfect with fresh juices and omelets made to order as part of the buffet deal. Adding to this, the staff are so very friendly and pleasant. The only negative thing is that rooms can be very noisey. I was woken around 5.30 each morning by rubbish trucks. Given that I was there working, it made for a tiresome day at the office. I suggest raising this at reception to ensure you are not located in one of the noisier rooms. It is a perfect place to stay otherwise. Ignore my comment about the spa. I just can't seem to remove the highlighting from it that I accidentally clicked on to. :)

Room Tip: I suggest checking to ensure you don't get a room affected by the early morning rubbish trucks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa_Parker_Rydges, Executive Assistant Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. A wine by the fireplace is a very popular choice with our guests. It certainly is a relaxing way to spend your downtime after work.
I'm pleased you enjoyed our amazing breakfast buffet. There are plenty of healthy choices to start your day.
I'm sorry you experienced noise from the garbage trucks early in the morning. Whilst we cannot control our neighbours rubbish collection times, we have changed our pick up time to 6am in the hope this will minimise sleep disruption to our guests.
We look forward to seeing you back by the firplace in the near future. (Although it's spring, it is still Melbourne)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed at the Rydges Melbourne Hotel for six nights - check in very quick - no time at all we were in our room. Room very well equipped with everything you could possible want - even a washing machine.They had a really well equipped gym, swimming pool, sauna.
Breakfast in the hotel was really great value - only 20 dollars each for a really good selection of quality food.
The restaurant staff were so friendly and helpful . Fruit was left in the lobby for guests to help themselves.
Great selection of shops nearby, everything very central. Bus station very close - went to Bondi Beach from there. Very quick cheap travel. Also went on the free hop on buses - great way to get around and see as many places as possible.

Room Tip: We were on the 17th floor but could still hear the traffic - I think it would be a problem if you ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa_Parker_Rydges, Executive Assistant Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
It's great to see such positive comments from a Senior Contributor. We're pleased your stay with us was fantastic.
Our facilites are wonderful and our restaurant staff are a cheery and helpful team. The extensve offerings on our breakfast buffet certainly would have been a great start to your day of sightseeing.
The location of the hotel would have been one of the greatest advantages of your stay. As you mentioned you are in the centre of the city with all tourist attractions and shopping at your doorstep.
We hope you come back to see us when you next return to Australia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rydges Melbourne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Melbourne Hotel

Address: 186 Exhibition St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#64 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#81 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Melbourne Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges Melbourne is conveniently located in Melbourne's CBD, in the heart of the Theatre precinct on Exhibition street. With over 290 guest rooms and 70 suites. Rydges Melbourne is home to Locanda Italian Steakhouse Restaurant and Bar, featuring the best steaks from nearby Yarra Valley, an good variety of pastas and other mouthwatering options. Located in close proximity to Bourke Street Mall shopping, a block away from the Paris End of Collins Street boutiques and in walking distance to Rod Laver Arena and the MCG, Rydges Melbourne is a great choice if you are wanting everything at your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Rydges Melbourne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Rydges Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rydges Melbourne Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.