We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best stays to date” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rydges Melbourne Hotel

Save Saved
You added Rydges Melbourne Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Rydges Melbourne Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   186 Exhibition St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #89 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
Auckland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“One of the best stays to date”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We've had a really good stay here - with a very spacious room (probably the largest room I've had to date but I think our room was larger than others) and excellent view of the parliament and beyond. When we arrived our room wasn't ready so they gave us vouchers for free drinks. We also had a personal handwritten card to welcome us to the hotel.

Excellent housekeeping - there were a few days when I was sick and we stayed in before going out and when we got back our room was cleaned. Their housekeeping service is second to none and work until really late.

Breakfast buffet was good with a wide range of selection.

Location is excellent - close to Bourke Street and Collins Street where most of the trams are, directly across Chinatown and Parliament station (about a 5 minute walk), 10 minute walk to Melbourne Central.

Room Tip: If you want a the larger rooms, pick ones at the far end of the building (Parliament side) but I'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbManager, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thanks for the feedback Rebecca. Sounds like you still managed to have a great experience although sick on a few mornings. Hope you are feeling all better now.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

984 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    227
    374
    238
    87
    58
See reviews for
89
401
81
218
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

The hotel is well located on the eastern edge of the CBD, giving easy access to Melbourne's main sights and just a block away from the tourist tram route. Rooms were on the small side and ours did not have an in-room safe. We also had a small shower room with a curtain enclosure that didn't reach the floor (so the floor would generally get wet), and insufficient shelf space for toiletries.

There is a public car park under the hotel which hotel guests can use. We found space (despite the hotel and city being busy thanks to the Lions tour), but had to leave keys with the staff on one of the nights so they could double park and shuffle the cars.

We found a number of good restaurants on Little Collins Street, which is near the hotel.

The public areas of the hotel were OK, with a fire in the reception area and a large breakfast room / bar. Food not as good as Brisbane Rydges but better than Rydges World Square in Sydney.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbManager, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thanks for your feedback. Sounds like you have stayed in a number of Rydges hotels. We appreciate your support of the brand - thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

As one of the key hotels used in Melbourne to support the Lions Rugby tour in 2013 we saw this hotel operating under slightly extreme circumstances - am pleased to say it coped very well. As with most Rydges this is not a spectacular hotel but reasonably kitted out with most bases well covered. Staff were very pleasant and efficient - not even put off by the seeming hundreds of rugby fans descending upon them.
Excellent location for seeing the sites of Melbourne - close to the rather ramshackle Chinatown but nowhere on the main "tourist trail" is far away.
All in all an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbManager, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thanks Peter, I trust you also were in Melbourne for the Lions game. It was another great week in Melbourne hosting a big international event. Glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I have stayed at Rydges Melbourne numerous times, and is great that this was different to no other. Beds were comfortable, quick check in - lovely lady whom checked us in - also asked us about what brought us to Melbourne, clean rooms and a great rate. The gentleman whom checked us out was not personable, did not ask us about our stay and was very matter of fact which was a little disappointing.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbManager, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thanks for your continued support of the property. We are wrapped you had another great Rydges Melbourne experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

The rooms were tidy, the bed was comfortable and the location central, despite this, it was not noisy and I slept well. The lobby was welcoming decor-wise and the staff members were really cheerful and polite.

The buffet breakfast was pretty tasty, the meats (bacon and sausage) were of good quality and there were lots of awesome drinks to choose from as well as all the usual breakfast items you'd want/expect at a hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbManager, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Epic breakfast - sensational! Thanks for the great feedback. As a group we have worked really hard on delivery a great breakfast and I'm confident we do that every morning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We often stay in Melbourne and Rydges is the perfect location. Staff are always courteous and helpful. Rooms are clean and tidy. The buffet breakfast is extensive and meals in the restaurant are lovely.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbManager, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thanks for the feedback Marg, I'll be sure to pass it onto the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

The room was OK - nothing special for the price. The heater/airconditioner was extremely noisy and hard to keep regulated at a suitable temperature. The bathroom was tiny- no room to swing a mouse let alone a cat!! Bathroom products (shampoo etc) and milk (for coffee) were not replaced when used - when you are paying the same price every night, I would expect that everything should be kept to the same level as when you check in. Considering the hotel's location is close to a number of theatres, we expected to be able to get something to eat post show but restaurant and ktichen were closed. Reception staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbManager, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thanks for your feedback Jeanette I'll be sure to look into a few of your concerns during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rydges Melbourne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Melbourne Hotel

Address: 186 Exhibition St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#74 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#89 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Melbourne Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges Melbourne is conveniently located in Melbourne's CBD, in the heart of the Theatre precinct on Exhibition street. With over 290 guest rooms and 70 suites. Rydges Melbourne is home to Locanda Italian Steakhouse Restaurant and Bar, featuring the best steaks from nearby Yarra Valley, an good variety of pastas and other mouthwatering options. Located in close proximity to Bourke Street Mall shopping, a block away from the Paris End of Collins Street boutiques and in walking distance to Rod Laver Arena and the MCG, Rydges Melbourne is a great choice if you are wanting everything at your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Rydges Melbourne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Rydges Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rydges Melbourne Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.