We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location to stay in Melbourne” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rydges Melbourne Hotel

Save Saved
You added Rydges Melbourne Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rydges Melbourne Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   186 Exhibition St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #89 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great location to stay in Melbourne”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is just a standard business hotel, OK rooms are smallish and service is OK. But the location right in Chinatown is fantastic and surrounded but other good restaurants as well.

Well worth a stay.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbManager, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Writing these reviews you certainly appreciate the fantastic location we have whether you are here for business or leisure. Thanks for the feedback. Regards Troy Cuthbertson / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

987 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    227
    374
    241
    87
    58
See reviews for
90
402
81
219
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

As a regular guest here I love the location of this hotel in the centre of CBD with Theatre land, China Town and Bourke street shopping, literally on your doorstep.
The staff in reception, the bar and also the restaurant are very helpful and friendly.
Negatives are the lack of sound insulation between rooms and corridors and also bathrooms are on the small side.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbManager, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thanks for the feedback, I'll be sure to pass on your comments about my team. Regards Troy Cuthbertson / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stay often and always appreciate the convenience of the location. Furnishings in the rooms were grubby. Rydges seem to be constantly re furbishing but they obviously have a 'grub' clientele and they need to keep on top of cleaning the upholstery. Great place to stay if you are taking in a show, all major theatres within easy walking distance. You can get a fast snack in the bar, but let them know you are on limited time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbManager, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thanks for your feedback. Regards Troy Cuthbertson / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

This was my first time staying at Rydges in Melbourne and overall I had a nice time. There were a couple of annoying things like the pool and gym being closed for maintenance the whole time. The pool looked nice in the pictures so it was disappointing to not be able to use it. Also we were lucky enough to get a room on the 22nd floor (top level). Rooms were clean but the bathroom was TINY! The toilet is in an awkward position and water pressure on the 22nd floor was a struggle. There was air in the pipes (or some other problem) and the water didn't flow properly. We only stayed one night so I looked past it but if we were staying longer, it would have been very frustrating. There was no where near enough pressure to wash my hair.

But on a positive note, the beds are awesome, the views amazing, the location is great and the hotel lobby has a really fun feel. The onsite restaurant also has a great vibe. We had coffee in the afternoon and it was relaxing. When we got back that night, the bar was thriving. The next morning we had breakfast in the restaurant and it was amazing. All staff were friendly as well - some even making conversation besides the normal routine stuff.

Overall a nice stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbManager, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thanks for the feedback about our food and beverage outlets. We acknowledge the importance of this and have been working on it as a group for a few years now - sounds like we are getting it right. Regards Troy Cuthbertson / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Overall, the stay was only ok..
Except for the room.. The room was sooo dusty.. There were other people's hair left in our bathroom floor, bathtub and toilet.. A film of dust coated the bedside table, desk, mini bar cabinet area, floor skirting and the walls..

Other than that.. The staff were nice and friendly..
The lobby area was unique and welcoming..

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbManager, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Really dissapointed to hear your comments about the cleaning standards. This is unacceptable and will be addressed. Thanks for taking the time to provide your feedback. Regards Troy Cuthbertson / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

My first experience of Rydges Exhibition Street was a positive experience! Lovely room, fabulous breakfast, wonderfully comfortable bed and very friendly staff!!! Only 2 suggestions for improvement...
1. Please address very noisy air conditioning
2. 1 staff member on front desk at 9am is inadequate ( although another staff member eventually appeared)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbManager, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. Great to read you had a positive experience. Regards Troy Cuthbertson / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for a quick shopping trip as we wanted a little bit of luxury, unfortunitately we didnt find this. Poor customer service. Wasted half a day waiting for our luggage to arrive, only to find out it was delivered and signed for early morning and bags were sitting in lobby waiting to be brought up to our room. Very disapointing. Gentleman didnt want to listen to me when i tryed to explain situation and instead hung up on me with no Goodbye or apology. Good beds and location but thats it!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbManager, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Apologies for the way we handled this situation, certainly something that I will be taking up with the team. Great to hear though that you enjoyed our Rydges Dream beds and the super location we have in Melbourne CBD. Regards Troy Cuthbertson / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rydges Melbourne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Melbourne Hotel

Address: 186 Exhibition St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#75 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#89 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Melbourne Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges Melbourne is conveniently located in Melbourne's CBD, in the heart of the Theatre precinct on Exhibition street. With over 290 guest rooms and 70 suites. Rydges Melbourne is home to Locanda Italian Steakhouse Restaurant and Bar, featuring the best steaks from nearby Yarra Valley, an good variety of pastas and other mouthwatering options. Located in close proximity to Bourke Street Mall shopping, a block away from the Paris End of Collins Street boutiques and in walking distance to Rod Laver Arena and the MCG, Rydges Melbourne is a great choice if you are wanting everything at your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com and Venere so you can book your Rydges Melbourne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Rydges Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rydges Melbourne Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.