We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location, but not that great” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rydges Melbourne Hotel

Save Saved
You added Rydges Melbourne Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rydges Melbourne Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   186 Exhibition St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #89 of 170 Hotels in Melbourne
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice location, but not that great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

The Rydges Melbourne has a great location but there is definitely room for some improvement. The rooms are out-dated and the service and house keeping is pretty lax. Don't expect the attention to details that you might expect from other places you might have stayed. It is a basic hotel so if that is what you are after then its an okay place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrestonManager, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Much appreciated you taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay. My apologies that you felt the housekeeping service was lax. It's feedback like this that assists me in my job so again thank you. Regards Troy Cuthbertson General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,058 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    405
    265
    91
    60
See reviews for
104
423
83
236
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

This hotel is terrible, the room is the size of a shoe box, and the bathroom is so small, that if you have a shower everything gets wet! I travel to Melbourne lots and always stay at hotel rooms, and this room has been the worst. There is a pool on the roof that is supposed to be heated but is freezing. The beds are so soft you feel you are going to hit the floor. There are so many better hotels in Melbourne CBD for a lot cheaper.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrestonManager, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thanks for the feedback Phillipa. Size of bathroom in that room type is something we are considering with proposed upgrade program and with feedback like yours it helps in our planning. Surprised to hear about the bed, generally the feedback is about how can I buy one. Which we do sell to our guests. Regards Troy Cuthbertson General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

I have stayed in Rydges Melbourne thrice since Jan'12 and have found this place as nice to stay. The rooms are comfortable and cozy. The hotel has a decent health center as well. The breakfast spread is good and the overall star attraction is the Locanda bar and restaurant with decent Italian food and some good collection of Aussie wines. The location is good as this hotel is closer to Chinatown. Melbourne is known as 'restaurant capital of Australia' and there are a lot of good restaurants in the vicinity. Another point that I liked is that you can connect up to 5 devices on the Wi-Fi in the room. The internet is charged at AUD 18 for 24 hours but if you register (for free) for Rydges Priority Guest program, you'll get 50% off. The hotel also offers one complementary drink per person during your stay.
The staff is warm and friendly. After my stay, I realized that I didn't get 50% discount on the internet due to some billing error. I had to just call up once to the hotel and they reimbursed the due amount in couple of days.
I recommend this hotel specially for business travelers as you can walk to lot of nearby offices, including Telstra on Exhibition Street.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrestonManager, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you and great to hear you enjoyed our food & beverage options in the hotel. Our new 'Rise' breakfast concept is undoubtably one of the best breakfast offerings in Melbourne. We understand our offering needs to be good with so many cafes, restaurants and bars right on our door step. Regards Troy Cuthbertson General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Basic hotel, small rooms but well furnished, bathroom a bit small, expensive wi fi, but great location close to the best of everything that melbourne got to offer. Restaurant was very good,service and freshness of food.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrestonManager, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Sorry to hear you felt the Wi-Fi was expensive. By becoming a Rydges Priority Guest member which is free to sign up to online or at the hotel gives you 50% off - only $9 for 24 hours. The new upgrade recently completed allows guests to connect up to many devices at any one time. Wi Fi is also FREE in the restaurant and bar. Regards Troy Cuthbertson General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is a great spot in Melbourne. Right near the theatre and China Town. We loved the little cafes around and it was safe at night.
The staff are friendly and always prompt and pleasant.
However this hotel really is more of a 3 star. The queen room is tiny and when people say small bathrooms they aren't exaggerating! They are the smallest bathrooms in any hotel I've stayed in. The toiletries provided arent that lovely and everything seems old. The room was very small with a cot in it.
We were near the lifts but never heard the noise and the view was nice.
I would recommend this hotel if you get a good deal and need to be near the theatre or china town. Otherwise Id wait until they refurbish it... It's definitely more of a 3 star hotel is friendly service.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrestonManager, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Many thanks for sharing your thoughts. Great that you enjoyed the friendly down to earth service provided by my team and that the location met your needs to be near everything in Melbourne. The hotel currently is in a refurbishment program with many of our suites already completed, a great option if you are looking for more space and an updated room. Regards Troy Cuthbertson General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockhampton, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Spent 2 nights in Melbourne for work and found Rydges to be a great location, well priced and providing excellent customer service. From the restaurant and bar, to the well furnished rooms and friendly, helpful service, this hotel fits the bill all round. In my checkout rush, I left behind a pair of shoes which the wonderful housekeeping staff despatched to me in an express post bag, and waived the charge!!
Above and beyond the call of duty. Thank you Rydges..!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrestonManager, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thanks for the feedback Chris. Great to hear you had a great experience at the hotel while here on work. I trust the shoes made it home. Regards Troy Cuthbertson General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Excellent hotel in a great location. The desk clerk was really good and although there were a number of persons booking in at the time ensured that they were catered for and took me to a seating area and showed me on the street map all the interesting places to go with the time I had spare. This really helped and it is a pity I did not catch his name as I would have liked to put in a good word for him.
Rooms are very well laid out and the beds are so comfortable. I like the the choice of pillows as this makes a big difference in a good nights sleep.
Breakfast is very similar to other high quality hotels. Service is superb
Hotel is very close to the major shops and next to the Chinese quarter. Lots going on around the hotel but the hotel is quiet.
I would certainly return when in Melbourne

Room Tip: High floors to get the views of the City
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrestonManager, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Looks like you had a great experience in Melbourne, glad we could be apart of it. As you mentioned location is a real plus with the restaurants, theatres, bars, public transport and major sporting venue's on our door step. Look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in Melbourne. Regards Troy Cuthbertson General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rydges Melbourne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Melbourne Hotel

Address: 186 Exhibition St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#77 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#89 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Melbourne Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges Melbourne is conveniently located in Melbourne's CBD, in the heart of the Theatre precinct on Exhibition street. With over 290 guest rooms and 70 suites. Rydges Melbourne is home to Locanda Italian Steakhouse Restaurant and Bar, featuring the best steaks from nearby Yarra Valley, an good variety of pastas and other mouthwatering options. Located in close proximity to Bourke Street Mall shopping, a block away from the Paris End of Collins Street boutiques and in walking distance to Rod Laver Arena and the MCG, Rydges Melbourne is a great choice if you are wanting everything at your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, Tingo, Otel, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Rydges Melbourne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Rydges Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rydges Melbourne Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.