We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a fantastic stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rydges Melbourne Hotel

Save Saved
You added Rydges Melbourne Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Rydges Melbourne Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   186 Exhibition St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #82 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Always a fantastic stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

The Rydges Melbourne is ALWAYS my go to hotel whenever I stay in Melbourne. I always receive excellent customer service from the all the staff whether it be at the check in counter, at the bar or at the restaurant.

After arriving into Melbourne off a red-eye flight it was nice to be told that our room was ready for us. We stayed in a queen spa suite. In our room we found that the rooms have been recently renovated and so had been the furniture. Unfortunately we couldn't figure out how to operate the new sofa bed and the girls from reception were quick to rectify the situation and in the end swapped our room and made the bed for us.

Housekeeping were attentive and always came back to clean and restocked room. I also believe the fitness equipment has also been upgraded since our last stay last year with 2 bikes, a cross trainer and a treadmill.

Only one tiny minor problem in the room having two television of the same brand if we changed channels of the tv in the bedroom part of the suite it would turn on the tv in the other part of the suite, which was quite funny. We figured if you turn the remote around you can avoid that problem.

Overall a lovely stay and will be returning very soon I hope.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

900 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    217
    339
    213
    80
    51
See reviews for
81
370
77
199
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Restaurant food was excellent, good location, Room was clean and neat... a little bit on the small size but good if you are literally there to sleep/change/shower. Didn't have to wait around long at reception and the pool upstairs was also nice for a dip when it was hot.

Room Tip: If you want a bit extra space I suggest a larger style apartment room if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Our company regularly uses the Rydges hotels for corporate travel and this hotel has always rated as one of the best ones and I can see why.
I arrived on very short notice to stay for 2 nights recently.
The hotel staff were a little scruffy at reception (shirts open a little too far) and I had to wait a good 10mins to check in as they were changing the toner in the printer!
Apart from that, the room I eventually received was exceptional.
Very spacious, quiet, comfortable, clean etc...
Room service was prompt but food when it arrived was a little cool, and it took me a whole day to find the fridge!
The complimentary water sitting by the bed was a lovely touch.
The hotel location is in an excellent location to use the free tram around the city circle, and there is car parking on-site (I did not use).
Upon check out I was asked if I enjoyed the pool... pool? What pool? Apparently there is a roof top pool. That would have been good to know in 35C heat!
Also, I asked the girl at reception to book me a shuttle and not only did she not know what a shuttle was, but when she figured it out she booked me on one that would have got me to the airport too late for my international flight!
Luckily I was able to hold me bag there until late afternoon and I checked the time to the airport with someone else who then promptly ordered a taxi for me.
My overall impression of this hotel is very good, although I think there is a training issue with staff when it comes to local information and presentation (did I mention the staff member chewing gum behind the reception desk or the un-ironed shirts?)

Room Tip: Book your own travel arrangement to/from the hotel & try & find the pool... I didn't kno...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I bought the CityHigh package for a great price for my boyfriend's birthday and we had a great stay on the weekend. Although the staff weren't overly friendly, the complimentary parking was straightforward and we checked in straightaway. We really liked our Deluxe Queen Room - it was a good size and the armchair was a good alternative than having to sit on the bed all the time to watch tv/read the newspaper. The aircon was a godsend (and not that noisy!) given the hot weather and the curtains shut out the light brilliantly (so much so, that we napped on the Sunday until midday!). The bathroom was a little small but as there are two additional mirrors (incl a full length one) in the main room, this wasn't an issue in getting ready for example. We had a great couple of hours by the pool but agree with a previous reviewer that it's a shame we couldn't enjoy a drink up there given the no-glass rule. The included 2 course dinner was really nice, as was the complimentary bottle of house red, but the service was very poor. Gave us something to have a giggle about but given the lovely romantic location, it did take away from the experience. Bed was incredible comfortable, buffet breakfast was amazing and we really appreciated the late checkout of 1pm. Brilliant location and perfect to complement our White Night adventures in the city.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 22nd floor and the aircon unit wasn't noisy. We had a room a decent distanc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

Was extremley dissapointed with the room. Was not good value for money. Website advertises it alot better than it actually is. I stayed in the queen spa suit and website advertises it as huge room with spabath. The room was tiny and really dissapointing. I have stayed at this hotel before in a standard room and the quality of that room was alot better. Really dissapointed i wasted my money

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
323 helpful votes 323 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Although the hotel is near the tram, it's already close to everything - business facilities, food, shopping and the theatre. Queen Victoria Markets and chinatown areboth nearby.

The rooms are small, but the beds are VERY comfortable. I stayed in a deluxe queen room, which is probably bottom range but was still well appointed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Great place to stay, cleanliness of the rooms was to a high standard. Bathrooms are fairly squishy but not bothered by it. Great location as it was so easy to get anywhere within the city.
Overall had a great stay and made the weekend for my partner and I that much more special.

Room Tip: Just had a basic queen room had asked for a higher floor as the view is better higher up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rydges Melbourne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Melbourne Hotel

Also Known As:
Rydges Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Rydges Hotel
Address: 186 Exhibition St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#67 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#67 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#70 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Melbourne Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges Melbourne is conveniently located in Melbourne's CBD, in the heart of the Theatre precinct on Exhibition street. With over 290 guest rooms and 70 suites. Rydges Melbourne is home to Locanda Italian Steakhouse Restaurant and Bar, featuring the best steaks from nearby Yarra Valley, an good variety of pastas and other mouthwatering options. Located in close proximity to Bourke Street Mall shopping, a block away from the Paris End of Collins Street boutiques and in walking distance to Rod Laver Arena and the MCG, Rydges Melbourne is a great choice if you are wanting everything at your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelTravel.com and Venere so you can book your Rydges Melbourne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rydges Melbourne Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.