We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing and overcharged” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Rydges Melbourne Hotel

Save Saved
You added Rydges Melbourne Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rydges Melbourne Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   186 Exhibition St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #89 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing and overcharged”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I was really looking forward to my night at Rydges, and left feeling disappointed. The room was tired, and the toilet was on a strange angle so you couldn't open the door fully, along with a tiny bath and shower. The air conditioner was very noisy, and even on the 18th floor I could hear the street noise.

After paying for my room there was suddenly an additional amount taken out of my credit card - I emailed to enquire what it was for and didn't receive a reply. I then rang and was told it was for the mini bar. I have never taken anything from the mini bar in my life! I now have to call back when the accounts department are open and apply for a refund. Sigh. A lot of work and hassle for a mistake the hotel made.

All in all, I will choose somewhere else next time I am in Melbourne.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

981 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    227
    373
    236
    87
    58
See reviews for
89
400
81
217
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ballarat, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

As usual our stay was most enjoyable - the friendly person in car parking is always most helpful as the car parking is always very tight on weekends - the breakfast was again wonderful and the staff cheerful and obliging. The purpose of our stay this time was to take a full day bus trip on the sunday with APT and the early pick up was most helpful. One small complaint - I had enquired when booking that it would be ok to leave the vehicle in the car park until we returned sunday afternoon - was a bit disappointed that I was charged an addit $ 20 for the sunday parking - especially when many car parks advertise all day sunday parking for as little as $ 7.
I thought as a priority guest that these extra few hours parking would have been complimentary. We will off course continue to stay with you as we love our high city package when attending the nearby theatres.

Regards Bob Whitcher

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Rydges Exhibition Street in Melbourne is a great way to start either a short break or a longer stay. We have just returned from a four day break and were met by a very friendly male receptionist. We always ask for a quiet, high room away from the lifts, (as we are getting older and like a quiet night).
The breakfast is so much better this time round as it is hot and not dried out as in some hotels we have stayed in. The food is of good quality and leaves you feeling full until evening.
The rooms are clean and even the pillows are good.
Michelle was the receptionist who we saw at checkout was so helpful and friendly which was really lovely and made the going home harder.
The only downside was the fact the bathroom is a little bit small.

Room Tip: High room away from the lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Very happy with Rydges Melbourne, great location, lovely buffet breakfast and atmosphere, fun wine bar at night. A big thank you to Mani who went out of his way to show personal customer service and was warm, friendly and hospitable. Mani surprised our group with lovely wine and chocs to celebrate our 20th Wedding Anniversaries. Mani also gave us advice on local dining and tourist sights and organised a chauffeur to the airport for us. The room was nice, clean and very comfortable beds. Loved our weekend at Rydges would definitely recommend and ask for Mani.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed three nights at the Rydges for our 20th Wedding Anniversary and had a fabulous time the highlight of the trip we must say was meeting Mani he went out of his way to make this special occasion very memorable and we are looking forward to returning. We stayed in a deluxe queen room which was nice and spacious.The Rydges dream beds are very comfortable. We were very happy with breakfast lots of choices for everyone.The location is brilliant we walked everywhere and felt safe everything is on your doorstep or just a tram away. Going to tell all our freinds to stay here in the future and to meet Mani.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa_Parker_Rydges, Executive Assistant Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Happy 20th wedding anniversary! I am pleased we were able to assist you in celebrating such a special occasion. Mani really goes the extra mile to ensure these weekends are memorable for all the right reasons. Thanks for the feedback all round. We look forward to helping you celebrate many more special anniversaries.

Lisa Parker
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peregian Beach
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I stay in many hotels and this is about what you expect from a Rydges - nothing spectacular but does the job. I had a standard room which was tight on space and the worlds smallest shower and bathroom. Otherwise the hotel is fine, staff are friendly and helpful. The best thing about this hotel is the location. You are a 30 second walk from some fabulous restaurants just around the corner including fantastic coffee and the iconic Pellegrini's. Easy walk down to Bourke St Mall and any part of the city. If you want a reasonable hotel in an outstanding location which is pretty good value then I would recommend this one.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Pleasing to see we have met your expectations for hotel needs when staying in Melbourne. I also enjoy a bowl of pasta at Pelegrinis, it is an institution that never tires. I hope we can assist with your accommodation when you may be back here in the future.


Kind regards


David Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here in September and found the rooms to be a little squishy. Shower is tiny but the beds are quite ok, front desk staff (lady) was a little rude and I didn't fancy the breakfast. Alot of really unhealthy options. Would be better if there was more lighter options.
Overall it was an okay stay, however in melbourne I've had better.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Was sorry to see your stay was not ideal and you felt you didn't receive value for money. We will certainly review your detailed comments to try to improve those areas you have mentioned which may not be cutting it with our guests.

Kind regards

David Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rydges Melbourne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Melbourne Hotel

Address: 186 Exhibition St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#74 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Melbourne Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges Melbourne is conveniently located in Melbourne's CBD, in the heart of the Theatre precinct on Exhibition street. With over 290 guest rooms and 70 suites. Rydges Melbourne is home to Locanda Italian Steakhouse Restaurant and Bar, featuring the best steaks from nearby Yarra Valley, an good variety of pastas and other mouthwatering options. Located in close proximity to Bourke Street Mall shopping, a block away from the Paris End of Collins Street boutiques and in walking distance to Rod Laver Arena and the MCG, Rydges Melbourne is a great choice if you are wanting everything at your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Tingo and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Rydges Melbourne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Rydges Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rydges Melbourne Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.