We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Weekend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rydges Melbourne Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Rydges Melbourne Hotel to your Saves list
Rydges Melbourne Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   186 Exhibition St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #93 of 172 Hotels in Melbourne
Maffra
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Family Weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Our family of four stayed over while on a city stay. We had a queen spa room that had a divider with queen bed on one side & double fold out on the other & a telly on each side. Big ensuite bathroom(with spa bath) & walk in robe.
Excellent location, walked around the block for dinner at chinatown. Breakfast buffet was amazing & cooked to order as well, so DD & I enjoyed a stack of pancakes. Staff were universally friendly & efficient, but no spare staff for concierge so I couldn't find out about attractions because there was no tourist display & counter staff were always busy with check in/outs.
Heated rooftop pool looked nice, but a bit cold for us!
Verdict: I wouldn't pay full price as it is pretty tired looking upstairs from the lobby, but a package deal with parking & brekky is good value in the CBD.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Very pleasing to see you enjoyed the stay at the hotel in our queen suite and enjoyed the services and facilities the hotel has to offer. We are very proud of the new Breakfast Rise buffet we recently updated. The team down there perform well even under the pump on the weekends, in particular the pancake teddy bear shape that Vikas our breaky chef puts out hat the kids love! Hope we see you back again.

Kind regards

David Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    432
    275
    99
    64
See reviews for
109
438
91
255
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

This hotel is in great location with a great restaurant. The staff are friendly and efficient. The hotel itself is a little tired, but you can overlook this because the beds are comfortable. Big bonus is the carpal underneath.

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Pleasing to see you enjoyed your experience and the Locanda Steakhouse Restaurant impressed you, I certainly enjoy the sirloin when I dine there myself! Most of the hotel is quite fresh, we are in the process of getting an upgrade on the suite rooms which will be great. Was good to see the team were friendly and efficient.

Kind rergards

David Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Service poor, room dirty?... Don't stay in this property, not worth the $$$$. Shame the location is good.....

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Its always a shame when you have a number of postive reviews to see a negative one in the middle of them, where a guest has not enjoyed their stay and lets people know why. I agree with your setiment if you find the room not clean and encounter poor service, you then query the value for money, and question why stay here? I apologise for your poor experience and hope your next stay in Melbourne is a better one.

Yours sincerely

David Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Great location, convenient to everything. Very modern and clean rooms. Buffet breakfast amazing!

Room Tip: Order a room away from the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Fantastic review and appreciate the comment in particular on breakfast as we have just spent considerable effort in improving its look and content with food specialists from our corporate office. The Rydges Rise breakfast is being rolled out throughout the country and has had some very positive feedback so far.

Kind regards

David Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBD Melb
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We stayed in a standard room, which was pretty much just that - standard. Desk, bed and a surprisingly unfilled bar fridge. The bathroom was pretty tight and the toilet in an awkward position. Desk staff were helpful, but the star was restaurant

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Pleasing to see the location was good for your needs, the superior room also albeit may not be spacious is well appointed, it doesn't sound good that the mini bar had not been replenished, I can only guess the attendant has missed this to re-stock after checking the floor. I apologise you encountered this item and assure you it is not normal practice for the rooms to be put into the system after cleaning unless the mini bar is also filled.

Yours sincerely

David Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I stayed there for the 3rd time in 3years. Very prompt in room service and restaurant. Buffet breakfast is great. Taxi rank and convenience is unbeatable.Staff are reasonably attentive and my early check in request was entertained without any problem ( both times I arrived from a long international flight).
However, I am very disappointed as Priority Guest, no points were credited to me for my stay in 2011 and 2012. I did not benefit from eating my evening meal at the restaurant which claimed I would be given 20 % off for my meal.
Also, this time round I was given a room on the 13th floor facing the store (housekeeping was full on!).
Hotel should not promote rewards for guests if they cannot keep their promise. Hope this will be fixed soon.
Gheeta K Launceston

Room Tip: Avoid right hand rooms on 13th floor - housekeeping is located here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Pleasing to see most aspects of your stay were enjoyable and you have chosen the hotel on a number of occasions. I have sent your comments regarding your PGR points to see if they can find you on our system although sometimes difficult, if you still have not heard, please contact the hotel direct. The change over to the new rewards system has had a few glitches, I hope we can resolve them as we truly value the patronage from our loyal customers.

Kind regards

David Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Good value hotel in the heart of the city. Close proximity to restaurants, theatres, etc.
Rooms were very clean & modern. Comfy bed. Friendly staff.
Convenient car parking underneath hotel.

Restaurant on site was good value and food was delicious. Good selection for both dinner menu and also buffet breakfast.

Would recommend without hesitation and will be back!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Was good to see you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and the location was beneficial for your needs - seeing you note comfy bed and friendly staff is really good, not much more you need when you are staying in a hotel. The Locanda Steakhouse is a great choice for some local produce, the meat comes from Yarra Valley hand delivered by the owner and is always consistently tasty and great quality.......hope we see you back here again.

Kind regards

David Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rydges Melbourne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Melbourne Hotel

Address: 186 Exhibition St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#80 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Melbourne Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges Melbourne is conveniently located in Melbourne's CBD, in the heart of the Theatre precinct on Exhibition street. With over 290 guest rooms and 70 suites. Rydges Melbourne is home to Locanda Italian Steakhouse Restaurant and Bar, featuring the best steaks from nearby Yarra Valley, an good variety of pastas and other mouthwatering options. Located in close proximity to Bourke Street Mall shopping, a block away from the Paris End of Collins Street boutiques and in walking distance to Rod Laver Arena and the MCG, Rydges Melbourne is a great choice if you are wanting everything at your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Otel, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Tingo so you can book your Rydges Melbourne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Rydges Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rydges Melbourne Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.