We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, rooms need a big overhaul.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rydges Melbourne Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Rydges Melbourne Hotel to your Saves list
Rydges Melbourne Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   186 Exhibition St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #97 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great location, rooms need a big overhaul.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

This stay was for 5 nights and has now allowed us to reach a night for free which has only taken us 18 months to aquire. The Rydges Priority Guest is the main attraction of Rydges resorts, the late checkout of 1.00pm is awesome, priority over rooms and floors, early check in when possible and discounted rates. Unfortunately the actual Hotel in Melbourne is getting more run down each time we visit. The lobby chairs are the same green ones that are covered in some sort of hession fabric and they have been there for at least 5 years. I noticed they have replaced some of the bigger chairs with a new fabric. The hallway carpets etc are terrible, frayed and stained - again been there for years. The room is spacious, bathroom is wonderful, love the walk in robe but the furnishings are dated, powder blue, lemon and not really a relaxing space. The air conditionining is a noisy wall mounted 1970's job, terrible but it does work! The service is quite good, front desk staff always pleasant and the nearby restaurant is good. We love the location and all the privledges associated with Rydges programme however unless rooms are refurbished etc we will not stay again as I have been doing some research and realise whilst you get a free night every now and then the cost verses the quality of the rooms is not worth it anymore.

Room Tip: Queen suites are spacious and lovely bathrooms. All other rooms I have stayed in are pretty much th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2012
It was great to see you are taking advantage of the Rydges Priority Guest program and the amazing benefits it offers. I certainly take on board your commentary on the impression of the hotel, the chairs you mentioned in the lobby, these were part of the multi-million ground floor refurbishment that completed in 2009, so only a few years old. The high back arm chairs we did re-cover as the organge fabric the designers initially used didnt last in a commercial environment...... the chair fabirc will be looked at as well as we are going to replace the lobby carpet shortly when the hotel suites are upgraded. I have been advised the prototype is happening in April, so we are pretty excited that the larger suites and carpet etc which you refer to will be refreshed........you will hopefully see these changes when you next stay with us....

Cheers

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    515
    327
    124
    69
See reviews for
129
515
102
317
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

Had a one night stay here on Saturday night. After reading reviews I was hesitant, but had nothing to fear. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable and the noise was minimal. Would return for sure.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2012
It was pleasing that the product met your expectations even though you were hestitant from some of the reviews you had read. As acknowledged to these as they arise, we do our best to keep on top of any issues and I know the team have a very positive attitude in trying to ensure guests have a great experience. I hope we see you back with us again.

Kind regards

David Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

Bed was good, but the room is a bit dated. Bathroom very small, with next to no bench space for a toiletries bag. Location is excellent for the theatre district. Reasonably high cost for an adequate room.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2012
Appreciate your comments on your recent stay and apologise you found the room a little tired. We certainly review the rooms regularly and ensure that signs of wear and tear are addressed from our internal maintenance team. Glad to read you enjoyed the great location and hopefully this made up for some of the shortcomings you experienced.

Kind regards

David Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

I chose this hotel because it was close to theatres,Chinatown, restaurants, shopping and transport.Had we wanted to see an exhibition, that was about 5 minutes walk up the road.The dream bed was really comfortable and we had the Queen spa suite which was roomy and had a walk in robe accessing the bathroom. It was very clean, but the timber work was showing signs of age.We had 2 TV's,and the only thing missing was a small table from which we could have had a small meal.There was a large glass coffee table which sufficed.The shower taps were confusing. My engineer husband explained that they must have been individual mixers, rather than one hot and one cold.Perhaps management could put a small instruction near them for guests,as they might get a cold shower as I did.The staff were helpful and friendly.I was pleasantly surprised by a personalised birthday card and box of chocolates placed on the "desk" for my husband. I had only mentioned in passing we would be there to celebrate his 60th .Very thoughtful, and much appreciated.There is a lovely foyer with gas fire place, and lots of various seats and lounges for guests to chill out.Complimentary newspapers were available. There was a lovely bar,where we met friends for a drink.All in all, a great experience,and fantastic location,quiet too,on 8th floor just some minimal street noise..The view was good too. A bit of sprucing up would make it perfect.

Room Tip: Base your room selection on how much time you think you may spend there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2012
I read your review of the stay with great interest and appreciated your detailed comments, which summed up the property very appropriately. I was very warmed by the fact that the team at front desk took some initiative and sent a small gift for your Husbands milestone birthday. I always say to them it is the little touches that make such a big impact, and sometimes, it just takes a thoughtful gesture like this to make guests feel a little more at home. I trust the birthday was a success, we are hopeful with the coming upgrade of the suites, that some of your notes of concern will be addressed. As soon as we have more details or a prototype completed, we will post them on our website for everyone to view.

Kind regards.

David Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

Absolutely loved it! Best beds ever, great service, great price.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2012
Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your recent stay. It was pleasing to see you enjoyed the hotel and the facilites. It is not always the guests who enjoy themselves that take the time to share their thoughts and it is appreciated.

Yours sincerely

David Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

I have been lucky enough to travel regularly to the wonderful city of Melbourne. But on my last trip I made the mistake of staying at the Rydges on exhibition. Frankly for the cost of the queen sized room, I would have been more comfortable in a backpackers. After requesting an early check in (11am) I was told at reception there was no chance of getting into my room before 2pm.

The room I had was on the top floor, old, run down and in desperate need of some tlc. Cleaning products had been left behind in the room, but not sure if they had actually been used based on the cleanliness of the bathroom....The worst part however was the noise. You can hear everyone entering and exiting their rooms and when you have a bunch of drunk people at 230am on a Friday night doing god knows what outside in the corridor - it doesn't make for a good nights sleep. I think they were trying to access the pool which is from this level but is suppose to be closed from 11pm. A miracle you can hear anything over the noise of the airconditioner which struggled to keep the room cool on a hot melbourne summers day even though I had had it operating most of the afternoon and evening.

The pluses - good location for theatres and restaurants (was there to see the fabulous Chorus Line) and the bed was comfortable. But this is not a 4 star restaurant in my book - 2to3 stars tops.

Room Tip: Don't go for the top floor as the rooms are hot and noisy due to the foot traffic heading to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2012
It was disappointing to read of your impression of the hotel on your recent trip to Melbourne. The rooms on level 22 which seems to be where you stayed were upgraded in late 2005, they are of a good 4.5 star standard, the air conditioners in these rooms are also quite new and adequate in cooling or heating the space. It is unfortunate that you did not appreciate our accommodation standards, I certainly would not liken them to a backpackers unless they were a 4.5 star property. Locanda is very popular with our theatre patrons and hotel guests, the food and service quality is generally very good and we receive very positive feedback from our guests with the variety and tastes of the food served there. I apologise you found it not to your liking, fortunately we do have a number of other restaurants in the immediate area including Chinatown next to the hotel. The pool is closed and locked at 11pm, it is noted on the website and guest directory of the operating hours as well as noted on signage outside the lifts on level 22.

Yours sincerely

David Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

The check in was great no problems at all. The real issue for me is that members of the public going in and out of the hotels and lifts. Not at the lobby area but everywhere. One teenage that was waiting for the lift the same time that I was, asked me where is the pool located. He was also carrying a bottle of wine so I did not want to head to the tiny pool full of raging teenagers. Came back at 10pm and the lifts were full of people from the same party going up and down the lifts (they were dressed in costumes). That same night at 4am, a couple of teenagers were screaming their heads off and laughing outside in the corridor without a care in the world.

Of all the hotels I have travelled in the world, this is the place the worst for security. You do not need a pass to swipe to get to your floors. Anybody can walk in anywhere.

At the same time, the reception area is full of rubbish. No matter what time the day was.

Also the air conditioning kept on making noise all day long and also the room was never cool enough. I was sleeping without the blankets.

I will not be staying here again unfortunately.

Room Tip: Go for the upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2012
Thank you for your impression of the hotel. I apologise you encountered concerns with people enjoying themselves at the hotel over the hot days we had in Melbourne on the weekend. I have addressed these items with the front office managers on duty to keep a closer eye on the pool area to ensure there are no parties up there as you have alledged. They certainly should be more vigilant on the amount of items that people leave in the lobby haphazardly when they use the area. It was disappointing to read you wont be returning.

Your sincerely

David Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Rydges Melbourne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Melbourne Hotel

Address: 186 Exhibition St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#84 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Melbourne Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges Melbourne is conveniently located in Melbourne's CBD, in the heart of the Theatre precinct on Exhibition street. With over 290 guest rooms and 70 suites. Rydges Melbourne is home to Locanda Italian Steakhouse Restaurant and Bar, featuring the best steaks from nearby Yarra Valley, an good variety of pastas and other mouthwatering options. Located in close proximity to Bourke Street Mall shopping, a block away from the Paris End of Collins Street boutiques and in walking distance to Rod Laver Arena and the MCG, Rydges Melbourne is a great choice if you are wanting everything at your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Rydges Melbourne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Rydges Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rydges Melbourne Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.