We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK, two letters cover entire review” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rydges Melbourne Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Rydges Melbourne Hotel to your Saves list
Rydges Melbourne Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   186 Exhibition St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #93 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
325 reviews 325 reviews
175 hotel reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
323 helpful votes 323 helpful votes
“OK, two letters cover entire review”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

MARGINAL RECOMMENDATION: I ratchet my scale downwards for all Australian hotels none of whom could compete in a world market. However, you need run only as fast as your nearest competitor and thus the Rydges gets an acceptable mark as there are far worse to be had in Melbourne. Much of my complaints are due to the physical construct of the building itself.

Well located for CBD and plenty of eating opportunities nearby. The lobby presents well with a chic boutique feel. Check-in was efficient and plenty of staff on hand. Hallways are a bit drab and door frames scuffed, carpet a tad worn.

Rooms are smallish and for a single traveler fine, but a couple may find it a tad tight. Desk space was adequate, though you banged the bed from the desk chair (that tight). Room lighting was going for trendy and has come off as dim. Some room to room noise. I'm not sure how they hung the TV, but clearly a professional was not involved. On the bright side, bedding was comfortable and I slept well.

The biggest disappointment was the bathroom. Again poor lighting and it's tiny and I'd deem it impossible with two people. Water pressure was modest and overall fit n' finish was lacking. Decent hot water. As others have noted, no ventilation in the bathroom was off putting even to me as a single traveler..

Internet access is A$26 a day for unlimited usage and this unfortunately is a norm in many Aussie hotels.

THE QUESTION SHOULD YOU STAY HERE? I wouldn't NOT stay here, it would depend on the $$$. I had a good convention rate which bested my normal favourite (Crowne Plaza - which is a step ahead of the Rydges). In short, I wouldn't get upset if I had to stay again, but given a choice, I might scan around for other options.

I denote for international travelers, you will need to re-set your quality gauge for all properties in Australia and with that the Rydges scores a solid 3 notches for me.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2011
It was of interest to read your signifcant detailed information following your stay at Rydges Melbourne. It would seem the hotel was good in some aspects for your needs, but not so great on others. Certainly good items for us to review in particular those that we can physically address such as lighting and internet costs. These were two areas I have passed on straight away to the rooms managers to discuss with me. It is an unfortunate sign of the times that when once we had a similar type of light fitting in the hotel in all rooms etc, unfortunately as the maintenance team get new samples, change companies or have someone showing energy savings etc they then have a number of different globes around the hotel, which is both unsightly and annoying to guests in rooms. These are being reviewed and changed as a matter of priority as I have seen this first hand myself, and unfortunately may take a little time in getting it back to normal and of a good standard for our guests.

Hopefully we will see you back here again in the future, obvioulsy the opposite end of town to the Crowne where you stay, so if the theatre or other points of interest in this area grab you, hope you will choose us again.

Yours sincerely

David Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    442
    281
    105
    65
See reviews for
116
445
92
262
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

At first sight this is a good hotel. Great location, nice bar and restaurant, friendly and attentive staff... But underneath the surface there are problems. My room, for example, had a noisy electrical hum and the shower was dreadful - almost impossible to get the right temperature. My room rate included breakfast, but I had to persuade both the restaurant and check out this was the case. Worst is the irritating little extras. Fancy a drinkable cup of coffee with breakfast? Certainly, Sir, we'll add it to your bill. Newspaper? That'll be $1.50. The internet is expensive - $29 for 24 hours (It is free at Rydges on Swanston)... The hotel would benefit from a lot less greed and a lot more class.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2011
It was disappointing to read that we didn't hit the mark with your experience and that you found there were these irratating issues during your stay. We certainly do not go out of our way to annoy our guests but as we have found there are some items that some guests need or want as part of their experience that may not be the same for others, so we try to have the rate as best value as possible and any items on top of this is a pay as you go so it is convenient for everyone. Obvioulsy this is not for everyone, but our website tries to cover this as well, so you can add a lot of extras onto your room rate so it is packaged up for the stay. This may not be the best answer to your needs, however I am sure if discussed in advance with our front desk or reservations team they can find a solution that best suits your needs, we are pretty flexible with these things, and if you still dont have the right deal, by all means send me a note as well!

Kind regards

David Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

Stayed here on a Friday night and found the room on the smaller side but very clean and neat. The staff were very helpful - even got a "loan" umberella for a wet walk to a nearby restaurant. Breakfast was plentiful with a wide choice of hot and cold, sweet and savory. However you did have to pay for your cafe latte.
The only real down side to the room was the construction workers early the next morning. Just a bit too loud and too early for those wanting a sleep in after geting a late check out

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2011
Thank you for your note on your stay at Rydges Melbourne. I appreciate you enjoyed the accommodation and the team helped out with an umbrella! We have to have plenty of these on hand for the Melbourne climate, you could leave in the morning and its sunny and after lunch its raining! Hopefully the construction noise was a one off, although being in a major city this can happen from time to time. Hopefully we will see you back with us again.

Kind regards

David Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton,England
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

Stayed three nights at this hotel and was pleased to find that our expectations, founded on the North Sydney and Canberra Rydges experiences of 14 years ago, were justified.

Great location, everything worth seeing is walkable.

Rooms are well equiped, good bed, decent climate control and adequate TV. A minor beef might be that the room lighting is not great. Bathrooms are a tad small but perfectly functional.

Best is the bar and restaurant. Excellent food and very friendly staff, top marks here.

We won't be looking elsewhere when we're next in Melbourne

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2011
Great to hear you enjoyed both the location and our Italian Steakhouse Restaurant, it certainly gets some good feedback from our guests. I will ensure our maintenance and housekeeping dept. review the lighting, as I can imagine this would be frustrating if trying to read in the rooms. Hopefully we will see you back here again soon.

Kind regards

David Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albury, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

This accommodation is excellently located and incredibly handy to all that Melbourne city has to offer, which is an enormous amount of wonderful food and wine choices. There is no faulting the location, period.
The room is ok, the bed is ok, the linen is clean, a good sized flat screen, small bathroom with bath, but there is an overall sense that the room is somewhat tired.
This though is NOT where you bring your hopeful beau-to-be. The reason for this is twofold.
The room has no noise protection at all, this includes from inside the bathroom.... Everyone near or inside your room will pretty much hear everything rather clearly. Double this up with the absolute no escape for the various scents emanating from one's body..... Some things are just too personal to advertise....
So unless you are familiar with your travelling partner and don't mind sharing everything, book somewhere else. Try not to spend over $110 on a room if you can.
Forget room service too, unless you are really drunk and don't mind burnt yet cold, below average food. The mini bar is not well stocked but there is a bottle shop across the road.
The bar downstairs mixes a great cocktail and is a pretty comfy place to laze around before venturing out.

*Up date, it is currently 1am and for the previous three hours I have heard every two minutes what sounds like a trolley going up and down the hall outside my room. After checking what the hell it is i surmise it is the noise of the elevator. I didn't notice it last night as I was well tanked, but tonight cold stone sober, it is a noise that will definitely keep me awake for the rest of the morning. I am in room 1702, for goodness sake if you want to actually sleep, specify a room away from the lifts.

Room Tip: Do not get a room near the lift. Ask for one with insulation and fan in the bathroom!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2011
It was pleasing to read you enjoy the location of the hotel in Melbourne, it was at the same time disaapointing to also read you encountered issues with noise on level 17 as this is not a common feedback received, 1702 also is on the side of the hotel where the nearest street is approx 50 meters away so traffic noise is partiularly scarce. I will investigate this with your room you have noted to ascertain this noise issue. The commentary on the lift noise will also be addressed with our lift contractors as this certainly should not be the case, however in saying the good lift on that side of the hotel is getting a total overhaul in the coming 6 months, this should hopefully fix any noise issues. The room service feedback is certainly not the standard of food we deliver and can only imagine whoever it was that prepared and also delivered needs some training. The feedback we generally get on room service is quite postive. I personally have not had anyone comment on the issue raised on someone sharing their room having a problem with either noise or odours coming from the bathroom, this is a first for me but will take this on board.

Yours sincerely

David Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

This hotel was located well for our trip - 10-15 min walk to museum (Tutankhamun exhibition), 10 min walk from Bourke St Mall and across the road from Chinatown - great food. And for that matter, the museum is only a 5 min walk from Lygon St - more great food. The hotel is decorated in a currently 'hip' style in the foyer and restaurant. Our room looked very nice when we first arrived. The shower was roomy and had great pressure. Unfortunately the bed became less supportive every night and our son's bed - sofa bed - had no support at all. As there were three of us though, this hotel was able to provide a spacious room for a very reasonable price (compared to other hotels in Melbourne). The arm chair was very grubby from many hands on the arm rests. The desk chair's arm rest was bent down (obviously from previous mistreatment). Our room was almost level with large air stacks from the plant room, so there was a constant hum 24hrs however traffic noise was non-existant - and yet the ambience was very welcoming and calming. The staff, whether at front desk, restaurant (breakfast) or cleaning were all very friendly and helpful - nothing was a problem. Breakfast was a reasonable deal and included in room rate. Although not as expansive as some, there was still a good variety of cereals, fruit, hot items, etc.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2011
It was good to see you enjoyed the room and the location of the hotel. It was surprising to read you didn't enjoy the Rydges Dream Bed, they generally recieve positive feedback although the pillow top can sometime not to be everyones taste. The sofabed inner spring mattress can sometimes be a bit loose and these will need to be replaced. Thanks again for the time taken to share your impression of the hotel and the nice pictures.

Yours sincerely

David Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

We had a conference to go to and were booked in for 8 nights, with 8 formal functions to attend, which meant quite a few garments including long gowns and tails. The room (an Executive Room), recently refurbished, was very well appointed - lovely bedding etc, but there were literally no drawers at all and the hanging space was perhaps a metre wide at most, much of which was taken up by the fridge, ironing board etc. We asked management if they would like to remove the completely redundant couch and replace it with a chest of drawers and possibly something to hang the clothes on, but they declined. The bathroom was miniscule, with the toilet immediately inside the door and a weird double fold glass half-door to the shower/bath which made access extremely awkward.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2011
it was pleasing to read you enjoyed your shor stay at Rydges Melbourne although you felt the bathroom was too small for your convenience, we generally find the rooms to be acceptable. It sounded like you had a busy schedule while you were in the city with eight functions to attend, perhaps for this length of stay in the future you should review the larger suites that have a walk in robe and large bathroom with seperate shower and bath.

Your sincerely

David Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rydges Melbourne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Melbourne Hotel

Address: 186 Exhibition St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#64 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#79 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Melbourne Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges Melbourne is conveniently located in Melbourne's CBD, in the heart of the Theatre precinct on Exhibition street. With over 290 guest rooms and 70 suites. Rydges Melbourne is home to Locanda Italian Steakhouse Restaurant and Bar, featuring the best steaks from nearby Yarra Valley, an good variety of pastas and other mouthwatering options. Located in close proximity to Bourke Street Mall shopping, a block away from the Paris End of Collins Street boutiques and in walking distance to Rod Laver Arena and the MCG, Rydges Melbourne is a great choice if you are wanting everything at your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Rydges Melbourne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Rydges Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rydges Melbourne Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.