We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family run feel, with all the trimmings” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens

Save Saved
You added Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   380 William Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 30% off
Ranked #17 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
Yarra Glen, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Family run feel, with all the trimmings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2011

We stayed here for a 2 night getaway after the Xmas/NY hoopla. The staff were very friendly, helpful and looked like they enjoyed working there. I've worked in family run hotels in my youth and this had that sort of feel.

The spa pool at the top was OK (little more pressure perhaps?) and the view from the rooftop pretty impressive. Breakfast was included in our package and as Vegetarians there was more than enough for us, and any one who bothers to get my coffee right has a friend for life.

The room was big enough for our needs (sleep, shower & dump nags) and there was a free internet for the email junkie .....

This is now our preferred hotel for a Melbourne CBD getaway.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

838 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    383
    346
    79
    16
    14
See reviews for
94
334
88
183
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2011

The hotel and our room were very clean and looked after very well. Our room was quite small but very comfortable, and the location of the hotel enabled us to explore Melbourne with ease.

The best thing about this hotel was its Concierge. He introduced himself to us when we first arrived and greeted us by name each time we saw him on our stay. He was also very helpful at organising exactly the trips we wanted to whatever budget we required.

We would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2010

I try and stay at the Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens whenever I am in Melbourne for work. The service is excellent and the rooms are very comfortable. The hotel is located near the markets and within walking distance of Docklands and most Melbourne CBD attractions. The restaurant has great food and room service is efficient.

Reception is extremely efficient and friendly and on the rare occasion where I haven't been happy with a room, the problem has been rectified. Check in an out of the hotel is fast. The beds are very comfortable and there is a choice of pillows, so a good night sleep is ensured. No matter where you are in the hotel there is very little street noise. The hotel is highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2010

We stayed at the Radisson Flagstaff for 5 nights in October and had a great time. The restaaurant was great for breakfast (cheaper if you get the voucher) but we also loved getting breakfast by room service! We ate a t the hoel restaurant twice and while the menu is not extensive the food was really very good for a hotel restaurant. The service here was great, especially the conscierge who was very helpful with tram and train connections. The train station (Flagstaff) is on the opposit corner and the tram stop is right outside the door and goes straight down William Street to the casino!!! We also used the (free) tram that goes out to the Docklands shopping area. All together this is a bargain hotel in the outer CBD with all the services of the more expensive hotels on Collins Street etc.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2010

This is my 3rd stay at Radisson in 2010 (Thursday 4 Nov) and because of the good service and closeness to the city, I keep coming back. Once again, I was staying here on a business trip for one night only

Check-in was quick and I got given room 803, overlooking the Gardens on the top floor as requested on my booking. The room was quiet and welcoming. Internet is free of charge in the entire hotel. Tea facilities are available in the room. There are great views of the gardens from it.

I used the gym this time, which is really well-equipped for a hotel (photos posted). It is located on the top floor, with great views of the Gardens and part of the city

The buffet breakfast at the restaurant has a good selection of cold and hot items. There is a cook, next to the hot food who can make you a nice omelette or cook eggs as you like on the spot.

As the coffee machine (self-service) was not working properly, Christian (waiter at the cafe) offered to me and my partner two tasty coffees (on the house). Keep up the good service Christian!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2010

I BOOKED THIS HOTEL VIA HOTWIRE.COm odd shaped room with little space to move around, many other rooms are high standard, MADE ON HOTWIRE.COM IS NOT GURANTEED OF ROOM OR BEDS TYPE.

Good location to see the city,close to tram station and good restaurants around.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2010

I fly to Melbourne frequently for work and almost always stay at the Radisson Flagstaff. I ti svery close to the office there, the rooms are well appointed and the beds comfortable.

The only negatives i would mention is that the broadband connection, whilst free, is dreadfully slow - i would rather pay something for a better service to be honest. The in room dining menu does seem a little limited but is generally well cooked and tasty, albeit a little expensive for some items.

Their rewards scheme (goldpoints plus) seems to be one of the better i have been a member in terms of side benefits (upgrades, late check outs/early check ins) and rewards (pre paid cards for points etc).

The front of house staff are very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens

Address: 380 William Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#14 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#21 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson On Flagstaff Gardens Hotel Melbourne
Radisson Hotel Melbourne
Radisson Melbourne
Melbourne Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.