We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good hotel in a great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens

Save Saved
You added Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   380 William Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 30% off
Ranked #19 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
Liverpool
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A good hotel in a great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2009

My partner and I stayed at the Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens in Melbourne for three nights. We booked the hotel as a "Secret Hotel" deal from Last Minute at a rate of AUD130 a night.

After arriving at the hotel after our red-eye flight from the West Coast, we thought we'd be cheeky and ask if we could check in early. Unfortunately, they were at full occupancy but were happy to store our bags and let us use the showers in the top-floor gym to allow us to freshen up. We couldn't thank the staff enough for this small gesture!

After our lovely hot shower we were ready to hit the streets of Melbourne. The hotel is convenient to the city centre and would be particularly good if in Melbourne for business visitors as it is located on the northern edge of the business district. For tourists, the free circle line tram stops about 100 metres away from the front door, plus the markets are a short stroll from the hotel.

We returned after check-in time opened to find that we had already been checked in, with our bags already in the room. This was another nice touch which we were grateful for.

The room itself was a fair size, inoffensively (if a bit blandly) decorated and clean. We're not big on hanging out in our rooms when on holidays, so a comfortable bed and hot shower in a clean room are always big winners.

The staff made our stay incredibly enjoyable for us - always polite and helpful.

Overall, a good hotel in a great location.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

831 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    378
    344
    79
    16
    14
See reviews for
93
332
87
181
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2009

Stayed at the Radisson for a business trip. Overall it was a good experience - staff were polite and the room was very clean, a reasonable size and in good condition. The bed was a bit too firm for me (I have a pillowtop at home though, so maybe I'm used to a softer bed). Bathroom was clean, functional and not too squishy, although the shower was over the bath (which I personally dislike, but this was redeemed by the fact that there was a glass screen rather than a shower curtain).

I would certainly choose to stay there again for business. If I was having a special weekend away, I might stay somewhere else with a bit more opulence.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2009

I stayed at this hotel with a friend last september for a girls night out. We had a great time! There a a few nice pubs/bars in the area and the bar in the lobby had a good happy hour deal going. The hotel was nice, our room had a nice new LCD tv and a beautiful view of the park across the street. The staff were friendly, helpful and looked to enjoy there jobs (makes a big differnce). My parents have also stayed here (after I told them how much I liked it) and they too were impressed. Good place to star if you want to be close to the city attractions while still being in a nice quite area.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROME
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2009

Both my partner and I spent 2 fabulous nights at this hotel and found the location to be ideal. We decide to have a shopping weekend and found that Queen Victoria Market right next door, DFO not even a 10 minute walk and Melbourne Central. We shopped till we dropped. We ate in the restaurants and talk about “WOW Factor”, the food was unbelievable and the service was A+. We decided to sleep in the following morning as the bed was so comfortable that we just did not want to get out. The room we had was a Guest Room and talk about value for money. You could not fault it all. Summing up the service from the staff made us feel so welcomed. We will be back again before the end of the year. Excellent service overall.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2009

I stay there often, and not much changes on each trip to melbourne, always same staff, 2 kates both have blonde hair, that is a bit confusing but they are both great.
main point is service is always consistent.
would recommend , it is not 5 star, solid 4.5 property, prices alway good, use either there web sight , but i still prefer to call over phone more personal.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2009

My partner and I stayed at the Radisson for 2 nights.

Upon checking in we were given a room with two single beds. This was despite the fact we were clearly a couple and had requested a double bed. The attitude of the staff was dismissive at best.

I do not believe that we would have been treated in the same way had we not been a lesbian couple. I would not recommend the Radisson to any of the GLBTI community, or indeed anyone interested in the rights of the GLBTI community.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, UK
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2009

I specifically chose this hotel because of the reviews on tripadvisor and it is the first time tripadvisor has let me down.

The hotel was a bland chain with no soul. It billed itself in its own literature as a 4.5 star luxury hotel - I'd agree with the word hotel in that sentence and little else.

Reception was a dull affair with staff appearing to go through the motions, all very efficient but no warm welcome. Each day walking through the lobby went unacknowledged, we were of course just another guest, but if you want to bill yourself so high in your literature then you should make an effort to meet your own standards.

The room overlooked Flagstaff Gardens, a pleasant, busy, clean and safe open space (one of the wonders of Australia is that such spaces remain so whereas in other large cities around the world they can be places to be avoided especially after dark) just on the edge of the CBD. However the hotel itself is a little on the periphery of all things Melbourne, it's very handy for Queen Victoria Market but is out of the way for many of Melbourne's sights.

The room itself was a standard room with nothing to recommend it, it certainly didn't have any of the luxury that the brochure boasted of. It did have one major flaw. The worst bed I have ever slept in. When I ask for a double room, I like a double bed. This was clearly 2 singles pushed together with 2 very obviously seperate worn out mattresses. I can accept this in a budget hotel but not a 'luxury 4.5 star' hotel. It also highlights a lack of attention to detail at the hotel. This was further highlighted when we ordered a bottle of wine from the restaurant. The wine list was poor with little choice, surprising in a great wine producing region, and the bottle we had was the worst bottle of wine I had had in a long time. It typified the fact the the hotel had made no effort and just provided bland overpriced fare.

There will be better choices in Melbourne and I can see no reason to recommend a stay in such an uninspiring hotel.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens

Address: 380 William Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#13 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#19 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
#21 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson On Flagstaff Gardens Hotel Melbourne
Radisson Hotel Melbourne
Radisson Melbourne
Melbourne Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.