We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, shame about quality of breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens

Save Saved
You added Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   380 William Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 30% off
Ranked #18 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Edinburgh, UK
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“Great hotel, shame about quality of breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Stayed at the Radisson for 3 nights on a trip to Melbourne. Good location in CBD and attractive outlook to Flagstaff Gardens. Helpfull, responsive and friendly staff and attractive bedroom (stayed in business class room).

Only annoying point was that having paid for breakfast for myself and my wife for each day, the cooked options were always almost stone cold. I could understand this possibly once but not every day and same irrespective of what time breakfast taken (7.15am on last day) I really couldn't understand how this could be other than serving dishes (electronic) were always set to wrong temperature.

Good variety on offer but extremely disappointing.

Would recommend the hotel but take breakfast elsewhere!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonMelbourneGM, General Manager at Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Scotsman1,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

On behalf of our entire staff at the Radisson we apologise for the concerns you shared about your experience at this hotel.

We appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations in the hope that upon your next visit we can exceed your expectations.

Kind regards,
Steve Finlayson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

847 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    387
    349
    80
    17
    14
See reviews for
99
339
88
187
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore River, Singapore
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We have been staying for a week in Radisson. Our 2nd time. We were here last November. We liked it, so we returned. Very pleasant and helpful staff. Always enjoyed a little chat with Christopher and Darryl. The service was Excellent. On our first visit we stayed in a Business Suite equipped with a microwave oven. This time round we also stayed in a Business Suite, To our dismay the room had no microwave oven. We explained to reception why we needed one. The hotel had no spare. However, a staff member went out at night to buy one for our room. Rachel Ku and her colleagues went the extra mile to provide the wonderful service. We were overwhelmed. Thank you Radisson. We will be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonMelbourneGM, General Manager at Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Leong F,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

We're delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay & hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards,
Steve Finlayson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

I stayed for 2 nights while on business in Melbourne. The room was quite new and very neat and clean. The bathroom had a zero-threshold shower which was nice. Air conditioning did a reasonable job on the first hot day, then did a great job on the next cool day. There was a large safe and minibar. Despite being on the seventh floor, there was a loud rumble of traffic in the morning, and banging at the construction site across the road. Reception desk staff were very friendly. I ate one meal in the HQ restaurant, which also had friendly staff and a nice environment. The bed was so comfortable that I looked at the mattress label to find the manufacturer (Sealy Executive). The Wi-Fi was free and worked with up to 4 devices, a necessity for many travelers, with a fairly simple web authentication.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonMelbourneGM, General Manager at Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear DavidFromOttawa,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on this site.

We appreciate your valuable feedback & hope to welcome you back to Melbourne in the near future.

Kind regards,
Steve Finlayson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brit in Surrey
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

I was very impressed with this hotel, which is well-located and where the service is very good. Our room overlooking Flagstaff Gardens was spacious with a good walk-in shower, plenty of hangers, which is often not the case in hotels, and even a pot to put used tea bags in, which is unusual even in the best hotels. We even had decent cartons of fresh milk instead of the usual little tubs. The only thing missing was a couple of bathrobes.
Wi-fi was free for the duration of our three-night stay and worked well.
The free City Circle tram stop is just a couple of minutes away and the city centre about 15 minutes. The gardens opposite are very pleasant for a stroll, or lazing in the sun.
I would certainly choose to stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonMelbourneGM, General Manager at Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Mokey4,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay & we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Steve Finlayson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

Brief stay for one night on business, booked a business package which was for a "business class" room and included free wifi. Check in was a good start, friendly and efficient. Room was large and comfortable with a new fitout. Wifi worked well in the room. The only negative being that the room was noisy overnight with a combination of lift and air conditioning noise despite not having the air con on in the room.
Breakfast was very good with the offer of proper espresso coffee without extra charge being a real bonus. An egg station at breakfast whilst a nice touch was let down by not being staffed with no obvious way to call someone other than to hang around in front of it until someone noticed. Maybe a note on the stand of who to ask would be useful?
Overall a good option at a mid price point.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonMelbourneGM, General Manager at Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Barry L,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on this site.

We appreciate your valuable feedback & will use it to further improve our operations.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,
Steve Finlayson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent.uk
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

We stayed here for one night on one of the hottest days in January 2014.

We had hardly alighted from the taxi when two men appeared (sorry have forgotten your names) who carried our cases into the lobby. Check in was quick and accompanied by local directions being pointed out on a map.

The hotel is modern, clean and well appointed. The park opposite is lovely to stroll around. Unfortunately the intense heat meant the our exploring of the city was kept to a minimum. The hotel however is not far from everything.

Pleasant restaurant, The Mint, a couple of blocks away.

My lasting impression of our stay was the effort made by all the staff to provide a service second to none. Nothing was too much trouble and all delivered with a friendly smile.

As regards staff, this is one of the best hotels I have stayed in.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonMelbourneGM, General Manager at Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear nanajackie,

Thank you for taking the time to post a great review.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed you stay with us, and I too agree, our staff are second to none.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Steve Finlayson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

This hotel has a great vibe! Friendly, helpful staff with a 'can do' attitude! Comfortable room. Fabulous rooftop spa and outdoor area. Close to tram and Vic markets. Cold water and newspapers in the lobby were a bonus.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonMelbourneGM, General Manager at Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear jetlagciti,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on this site.

We're delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us & in particular, our convenient location.

Kind regards,
Steve Finlayson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens

Address: 380 William Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#19 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#21 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson On Flagstaff Gardens Hotel Melbourne
Radisson Hotel Melbourne
Radisson Melbourne
Melbourne Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.