We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base from which to explore the city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens to your Saves list
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   380 William Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great base from which to explore the city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights, and had a great stay. Really a comfortable bed and the shower was one of the best I've found in a hotel. The staff were friendly and very helpful.
The gym was also one of the better hotel gyms I've come across and a great view out from the 10th floor. My husband used the jacuzzi and steam room, which he said were good.
We signed up for the breakfast for one morning - getting $5 off for doing so the night before. It was excellent, and well worn the cost. I would certainly recommend, but not if you're trying to watch your weight!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonMelbourneGM, General Manager at Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Nicola J,

Thank you for taking the time to post a great review.

We're pleased to read that you both enjoyed your stay with us.

I hope to welcome you back to Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens upon your return to Melbourne.

Kind Regards,
Steve Finlayson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    839
    569
    114
    25
    16
See reviews for
221
579
135
407
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Booked for eight nights including Xmas eve and NYE. It's well known I have an OCD on punctuality however arriving at seven am on Xmas eve is early. Pleasantly surprised that it wasn't a problem to check in and have the room as it was available. Nice clean tidy, stick tv on to be greeted by Steve Flinderson, the manager, in fact every time you turn on the tv there is Steve "Welcoming you on behalf of himself and the team" Steve seriously.... Get a pro in. We appreciate the effort, but eyebrow movements and a head lean to the left kept me chuckling every time!

Hotel is situated over looking Flagstaff Garden, 10 mins walk from Docklands, 10mins from Swanston Street and shopping, or for the lazy 1 minute from the free city circle tram!

Melbourne is great, cricket was awful, hotel good, breakfast very good especially Imogen's Xmas day eggs. Bar did the job. Staff couldn't have been more helpful, especially when the bathroom nearly caught fire, these things happen, what I wanted was professional and responsive staff and that is exactly what we had. Good stay and thank you.

Room Tip: Get a garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonMelbourneGM, General Manager at Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Dave P,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on this site.

In regards to the TV welcome, I did approach Brad Pitt, however, he was tied up with bigger things…

We appreciate your compliments to the staff, I too agree, they are second to none.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel upon your next visit to Melbourne.

Kind Regards,
Steve Finlayson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Stayed for three nights. One of the best hotels I stayed at during my tour of Australia and New Zealand. Booked a room on the 12th floor with a view of Flagstaff Gardens. It did not disappoint. The view also spans far and beyond the park.

The room was excellent. Not small; bed was perfect, very comfortable, not soft. Of course, plenty of pillows. Excellent TV picture and reception. No tub in shower, if that is what you prefect. The overall shower with the partial glass wall and what appeared granite counters and walls was a nice touch.

For those who must have Internet service, the hotel offered high-speed wired and wireless service COMPLIMENTARY. That was a very nice touch considering that the price of the room was under $200.

It is a luxury hotel, and it shows in the decorations and the overall ambiance of the hotel.

Concierge service was top-notch, outstanding. So was the overall service from the staff. We received great recommendations on what to do and where to eat that did not disappoint.

The fitness center at the top of the building has excellent commercial-grade equipment and weights. The pool is also up there, and there is a nice walk-out open area with great views of the city. My only disappointment is that the fitness center was not open 24 hours. It opened at 6 AM, too late for all the things that we had booked to do.

The hotel is 5 minutes away, if that, from the famous huge all-encompassing Queen Victoria Market, from all kinds of goods to eateries, vegetables, meats, you name it. A definite place to visit.

While we did not eat at the restaurant for dinner, the breakfast buffet had many cold and hot choices, breads, juices, fruit, etc, although it was a little too expensive.

Service and attention are always part of high-end hotels, and the Radisson excelled on both, with an oustanding room at a price below that of other luxury hotels.

Check-in and checkout were a breeze with the staff taking care of my bags upon arrival to delivering them to my room promptly. Same great service to take myt bags and place directly into the cab for me on my way out.

A very pleasant experience, well worth it. The Radisson at Flagstaff Gardens did not disappoint one bit. Very satisfied. Got arguably much more than what I paid for.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonMelbourneGM, General Manager at Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear TTMX,

Thank you for taking the time to post a great review.

We're pleased to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and the fantastic facilities that we have on offer.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel upon your return visit to Melbourne.

Warm Regards,
Steve Finlayson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

For our first trip to Melbourne together we stayed at the Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens. The hotel is walking distance to the main tram routes including the city circle tram that we utilised heavily.

The room and bed was to a very high standard and comfortable. The view over the gardens was pleasing. The air conditioning worked well and the bathroom and shower was modern and very functional.

Staff were friendly and held our bags before check in and after check out which assisted us greatly.

The price we paid made this hotel great value for our 3 night stay. We certainly will consider returning to Radisson on future trips to Melbourne.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonMelbourneGM, General Manager at Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear WayneK227,

We appreciate the time you have taken to post a review on this site.

I am delighted to read that you both enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to see you again soon!

Kind Regards,
Steve Finlayson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights on a business trip. Very impressed with the room, facilities and staff. The highlight for me was the shower- best I've ever had. Breakfast was good ( struggle to get a coffee one day though) Overall very good choice for work- better than I had hoped. Ordered room service soup on arrival- quick and delicious.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonMelbourneGM, General Manager at Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Volley2013,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed our facilities, in particular the shower.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Steve Finlayson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Our stay at Raddison was awesome. The staff were extremely friendly and made our stay very enjoyable.The room was very clean and welcoming the bathroom was one the cleanest I have used and the double shower was a bonus.The veiw from the spa was spectacular but most of all the coffee at breakfast was outstanding, we will stay again and again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonMelbourneGM, General Manager at Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear mark b,

We appreciate the time you have taken to post a review on this site.

I am delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay & we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Steve Finlayson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel for 10 days while we were in Melbourne, the staff were amazing and made us feel like vip guests from the start. Darrell on concierge had great knowledge of Melbourne and pointed us in the right way for everything we wanted to do, Pete, Chris and Mario in the restaurant had great service skills, we had the breakfast buffet everyday and really enjoyed it, a huge selection and very fresh, a chef cooking eggs to order was a nice touch, we ordered al a carte and room service and each time we very impressed. The rooms were immaculate kept and a nice size while your travelling, seems like they have had a upgrade as the bathroom looked brand new. Friday night was very lively, we met the GM Steve who puts on a drinks night for guests.The gym and spar area are located on the roof top and they had a PT on a Wednesday night who is a Australian bodybuilding champion! The hotel is on a nice quiet part of the city over looking the flagstaff gardens and 2 mins walk from the market which is a must see for out of towners like us. Shame all our hotel stays around the country went not as good as this, a gem in a great city.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonMelbourneGM, General Manager at Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear brfc95,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on this site.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens.

We hope to see you again soon!

Warm Regards,
Steve Finlayson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Oaks On William
#21 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 761 reviews
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#9 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,083 reviews
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#2 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 3,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#46 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens

Address: 380 William Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#8 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#8 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#12 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens 4.5*
Number of rooms: 184
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson On Flagstaff Gardens Hotel Melbourne
Radisson Hotel Melbourne
Radisson Melbourne
Melbourne Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.