We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent. Choose Flagstaff Garden View” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens to your Saves list
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   380 William Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Austin, TX
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Excellent. Choose Flagstaff Garden View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for three nights. One of the best hotels I stayed at during my tour of Australia and New Zealand. Booked a room on the 12th floor with a view of Flagstaff Gardens. It did not disappoint. The view also spans far and beyond the park.

The room was excellent. Not small; bed was perfect, very comfortable, not soft. Of course, plenty of pillows. Excellent TV picture and reception. No tub in shower, if that is what you prefect. The overall shower with the partial glass wall and what appeared granite counters and walls was a nice touch.

For those who must have Internet service, the hotel offered high-speed wired and wireless service COMPLIMENTARY. That was a very nice touch considering that the price of the room was under $200.

It is a luxury hotel, and it shows in the decorations and the overall ambiance of the hotel.

Concierge service was top-notch, outstanding. So was the overall service from the staff. We received great recommendations on what to do and where to eat that did not disappoint.

The fitness center at the top of the building has excellent commercial-grade equipment and weights. The pool is also up there, and there is a nice walk-out open area with great views of the city. My only disappointment is that the fitness center was not open 24 hours. It opened at 6 AM, too late for all the things that we had booked to do.

The hotel is 5 minutes away, if that, from the famous huge all-encompassing Queen Victoria Market, from all kinds of goods to eateries, vegetables, meats, you name it. A definite place to visit.

While we did not eat at the restaurant for dinner, the breakfast buffet had many cold and hot choices, breads, juices, fruit, etc, although it was a little too expensive.

Service and attention are always part of high-end hotels, and the Radisson excelled on both, with an oustanding room at a price below that of other luxury hotels.

Check-in and checkout were a breeze with the staff taking care of my bags upon arrival to delivering them to my room promptly. Same great service to take myt bags and place directly into the cab for me on my way out.

A very pleasant experience, well worth it. The Radisson at Flagstaff Gardens did not disappoint one bit. Very satisfied. Got arguably much more than what I paid for.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonMelbourneGM, General Manager at Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear TTMX,

Thank you for taking the time to post a great review.

We're pleased to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and the fantastic facilities that we have on offer.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel upon your return visit to Melbourne.

Warm Regards,
Steve Finlayson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    556
    444
    97
    19
    15
See reviews for
144
423
107
282
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

For our first trip to Melbourne together we stayed at the Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens. The hotel is walking distance to the main tram routes including the city circle tram that we utilised heavily.

The room and bed was to a very high standard and comfortable. The view over the gardens was pleasing. The air conditioning worked well and the bathroom and shower was modern and very functional.

Staff were friendly and held our bags before check in and after check out which assisted us greatly.

The price we paid made this hotel great value for our 3 night stay. We certainly will consider returning to Radisson on future trips to Melbourne.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonMelbourneGM, General Manager at Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear WayneK227,

We appreciate the time you have taken to post a review on this site.

I am delighted to read that you both enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to see you again soon!

Kind Regards,
Steve Finlayson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights on a business trip. Very impressed with the room, facilities and staff. The highlight for me was the shower- best I've ever had. Breakfast was good ( struggle to get a coffee one day though) Overall very good choice for work- better than I had hoped. Ordered room service soup on arrival- quick and delicious.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonMelbourneGM, General Manager at Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Volley2013,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed our facilities, in particular the shower.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Steve Finlayson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Our stay at Raddison was awesome. The staff were extremely friendly and made our stay very enjoyable.The room was very clean and welcoming the bathroom was one the cleanest I have used and the double shower was a bonus.The veiw from the spa was spectacular but most of all the coffee at breakfast was outstanding, we will stay again and again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonMelbourneGM, General Manager at Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear mark b,

We appreciate the time you have taken to post a review on this site.

I am delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay & we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Steve Finlayson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel for 10 days while we were in Melbourne, the staff were amazing and made us feel like vip guests from the start. Darrell on concierge had great knowledge of Melbourne and pointed us in the right way for everything we wanted to do, Pete, Chris and Mario in the restaurant had great service skills, we had the breakfast buffet everyday and really enjoyed it, a huge selection and very fresh, a chef cooking eggs to order was a nice touch, we ordered al a carte and room service and each time we very impressed. The rooms were immaculate kept and a nice size while your travelling, seems like they have had a upgrade as the bathroom looked brand new. Friday night was very lively, we met the GM Steve who puts on a drinks night for guests.The gym and spar area are located on the roof top and they had a PT on a Wednesday night who is a Australian bodybuilding champion! The hotel is on a nice quiet part of the city over looking the flagstaff gardens and 2 mins walk from the market which is a must see for out of towners like us. Shame all our hotel stays around the country went not as good as this, a gem in a great city.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonMelbourneGM, General Manager at Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear brfc95,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on this site.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens.

We hope to see you again soon!

Warm Regards,
Steve Finlayson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Following a trip on the great ocean road, we dropped the car off at Avis, in the north western side of the city centre, and took a short walk to the Raddison on Flagstaff Gardens. This hotel had a modern feel on arrival, and the general aura of the hotel was one of sophistication, despite the slightly lower price tag of other premier hotels in the area. The concierge (Brad) was extremely helpful, and managed to recommend solutions to all of our questions.
Our room was high enough to escape any traffic noise, but the place seemed fairly well insulated against sound from outside anyway, so not sure there would be any trouble with this if you were put on a lower floor. As we were on honeymoon we got a free bottle of champagne, which was a nice touch. The room itself was clean and the bed very comfortable. The bathroom was also clean, if a little small, but for a hotel room as a base for getting out there and exploring, you couldn’t really ask for allot more. If we ever go back to Australia, this would probably be our hotel of choice!

Room Tip: High floor on the front of the building probably best, some building work round the back on a neighb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonMelbourneGM, General Manager at Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Jonathan A,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on this site.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel upon your next visit to Melbourne.

Kind Regards,
Steve Finlayson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for almost 3 weeks. The hotel is presented well, good location and has excellent customer service. Had my room upgraded which was a nice touch. Rooms are well maintained and bed was very comfortable. The restaurant was great for a drink, the food was ok too, however, not the most relaxing of spaces due to the staff. For some unknown reason they move the restaurant around whilst guests are sitting trying to enjoy their drinks/food! This is beyond me...wait until the restaurant is empty? No? Other than that I would highly recommend it!

Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonMelbourneGM, General Manager at Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Craig K,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience.

We're pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, however, we wish to apologise for the inconvenience caused due to the movement of furniture whilst dining in HQ's.

I have shared your comments with our team in order to further improve our operation.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Warm Regards,
Steve Finlayson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens

Address: 380 William Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#11 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#15 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#22 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens 4.5*
Number of rooms: 184
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson On Flagstaff Gardens Hotel Melbourne
Radisson Hotel Melbourne
Radisson Melbourne
Melbourne Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.