We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NICE HOTEL WITH A QUIET CBD LOCATION” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens to your Saves list
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   380 William Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Splendid Autumn: 20% off
Ranked #10 of 173 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Manchester
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“NICE HOTEL WITH A QUIET CBD LOCATION”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Although located in the CBD, the hotel is in a secluded spot nestled on Flagstaff Gardens. There are not an abundance of bars and restaurants close by and to get a good choice you need to take a good 10 minute walk.

On the plus side, the hotel is modern and the staff are excellent. We ate in the hotel one evening and found the food to be very nice and not over priced.

The free Melbourne tourist tram (line 35) stops within a 2-3 minute walk of the hotel and this provides a complimentary loop of the CBD every 10 minutes or so from about 9am to 6pm.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonMelbourneGM, General Manager at Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Dear MattUKManchester,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on this site.

We're delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Steve Finlayson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    726
    515
    108
    24
    15
See reviews for
193
525
121
346
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is convenient to most everything in central Melbourne. Near lots of small restaurants especially Hardware St. The rooms are very spacious and comfortable with great views of Flagstaff Gardens. Staff is very friendly and helpful. A geat deal for the price.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonMelbourneGM, General Manager at Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Dear travlinman1946,

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to post a review on this site.

We're pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel, in particular our convenient location and friendly team of staff.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel upon your next visit to Melbourne.

Kind Regards,
Steve Finlayson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

We stayed here for two nights whilst in Melbourne. Thoroughly enjoyed it here. Lovely spacious rooms that overlook the gardens. Rooms were very clean, had very comfy beds, and everything you could need was either in the room, or available by a phone call to reception. All the staff we encounted were fantastic and so helpful. A short stroll to the Vic Market, which was great on a Sunday morning. The restaurant is very nice, and we enjoyed a lovely buffet breakfast. Will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonMelbourneGM, General Manager at Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Dear Jasmine745,

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience.

We're delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens.

Kind Regards,
Steve Finlayson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Nice hotel and is coveniently located at the heart of Melbourne city. Stone throw away from Victoria market. Hotel room were nice with the Flagstaff Garden view. Staff are very friendly and service were good.

Room Tip: With Flagstaff Garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonMelbourneGM, General Manager at Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Dear FeiCaiWong,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay.

We're pleased to read that you enjoyed our convenient location and friendly staff.

We hope to see you again upon your return to Melbourne!

Kind Regards,
Steve Finlayson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

The hotel is on the upper reaches of the CBD close to the Victoria Market and opposite to the Flagstaff Gardens. The area surrounding the hotel except the gardens is a bit daunting but ten minutes walking will get you into central Swanson Street.
The friendly greeting from the receptionist when you enter the hotel sets the tone of the place. Registration is quick and easy and you get directed to your room. My room was facing the gardens and whilst not especially big had more than enough room for me. First impressions of the room were a well presented and spotlessly clean room with everything in good working order. Adequate clothing storage was available plus a reasonable size safe of valuables. Spotless bathrobes were in the wrdrobe
The king size bed was super comfortable and I had a multiple choice of pillow options available.
A good strong signal wi-fi is available in all rooms and user registration is only a couple of clicks.
The bathroom was reasonable sized shower room with modern equipment. The shower had a choice of shower heads, one from the ceiling and the other from the wall, both controlled by two taps rather than a thermostatic control. Water temperature control was easy enough.
The air con was one of the better systems with a quiet operation and simple control.
The restaurant on the ground floor was a large area that part doubled as a bar. The food selection, quantity and quality of service were top class.
The fitness room would shame some gyms with the amount and quality of equipment all in good working order. The spa pool was a nice touch.
Parking is available at a multi-storey facility a few metres away and reasonably cheap for overnight parking providing the hotel validates your ticket.
All the staff were friendly yet very professional and the concierge was able to help direct you to places of interest close by

Room Tip: Go for the garden view rooms on the high levels
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonMelbourneGM, General Manager at Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Dear Emblpa,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on this site.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards,
Steve Finlayson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Honestly these guys must by the devil enemy to all other Hotels in Melb. They are just too good. All staff across all areas of the Hotel are so friendly, helpful, professional and always aiming to provide the best level of customer service!

Other hotels should pay their staff to stay here to just watch and learn!

Hats off team. Have been here many times and will always keep coming back! :)

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonMelbourneGM, General Manager at Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Dear Chad H H,

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the hotel in particular our fantastic team of staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind Regards,
Steve Finlayson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinross, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Having travelled extensively in Australia, we both agree for service, friendly staff and dining
the Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens comes out on top. The staff knowledge of local events,
tours and travel was the equal of most tourist centres. Cant wait for our next visit.

Room Tip: Park view rooms for a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonMelbourneGM, General Manager at Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Dear Roly C,

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel upon your next visit to Melbourne!

Kind Regards,
Steve Finlayson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens

Address: 380 William Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#10 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#11 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#14 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens 4.5*
Number of rooms: 184
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson On Flagstaff Gardens Hotel Melbourne
Radisson Hotel Melbourne
Radisson Melbourne
Melbourne Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.