We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth every cent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens to your Saves list
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   380 William Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Splendid Autumn: 20% off
Ranked #9 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Worth every cent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Stayed for sat and sun. Arrived early and left bags returning to be told bags in room. Room hood size overlooked gardens. Nice touches nexpresso machine shelf over shower, robes...very quiet and fuss free. Recommend it for that end of melb esp docklands destinations and markets etc

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonHongquanGM, General Manager at Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear DonnaMN,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

I am pleased to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to welcome you back to the Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens soon!

Warm regards,
Steve Finlayson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    755
    531
    109
    24
    15
See reviews for
198
543
127
356
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bedminster, New Jersey
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We ended up at this hotel for one night because the other place we were staying at didn't have the last night of our stay available. Since this place was more expensive than our other accommodation, we stayed there for 3 nights and here for our last day/night in Melbourne. It is located in the area of the city next to the Victoria Market and a few, short trolley rides away from many of the popular tourist destinations.

The hotel, itself, provided very efficient service. All of the staff members were friendly, especially the concierge, Daryl. He provided us with a really helpful map and some great areas to go grab a bite to eat. We also asked him about attending a footy game and said we should definitely go. We are glad we did because that was one of our favorite highlights of our trip to Melbourne.

The room was clean and comfortable, especially the bed. Even thought we were only here for one night, we enjoyed it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonHongquanGM, General Manager at Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear carpediem29,

I'm glad to read that you had such a plesant stay.

We hope to welcome you back upon your next visit to Melbourne!

Kind Regards,
Steve Finlayson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The staff were very friendly and helpful for the duration of our stay. It is a nice hotel and the room was clean and comfortable but the view from the room was just scaffolding and building materials. Although the room was not cheap, breakfast was not included so this added to the expense. The amenities such as the gym and the spa were good. Overall I enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonHongquanGM, General Manager at Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear GusGus123,

It's pleasing to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you could take the time to post a review on Trip Advisor.

Warm Regards,
Steve Finlayson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Very clean and comfortable stay, it is a pity there are more building works around the building which will shut out the city views. The bed was extremely comfortable, and we didn't have any trouble with noise.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with garden view, rear of building is blocked out by building works
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonHongquanGM, General Manager at Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear wanderlustful2013,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on this site.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens.

Warm Regards,
Steve Finlayson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

I have been staying at the Radisson for quite a few years now (originally due to reviews on trip advisor) when in Melbourne for business. The customer service provided by the friendly, helpful staff has consistently been very good. The business rooms are clean and comfortable and breakfast is included. The hotel restaurant provides a good variety of dishes and the steaks are excellent.
It is close to the markets, across the road from some lovely gardens, Bourke Street Mall, Hardware Lane, Docklands and not too far from Southbank. But then nothing is too far in Melbourne and there are plenty of taxis (except when raining).
The Hotel was busy with a few small conferences when I was there and one night the restaurant staff seemed to be short staffed and there was a delay in ordering food. This is unusual.

It is the friendly staff that make this Hotel popular and hopefully that will not change.

Room Tip: Some rooms have had the shower area renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonHongquanGM, General Manager at Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear OLeary1,

We're pleased to read that you had a pleasant stay.

Our staff are second to none, we endeavour to make every guest feel welcome and hope to see you back at the hotel soon.

Kind Regards,
Steve Finlayson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Hotel is usually clean and rooms of a decent standard. The location is just near my office to very easy, close to transport if needed.
Staff are normally always friendly and the food is OK also. Overall for the price is a good property for the star rating

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonHongquanGM, General Manager at Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Mooseontheroad,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on Trip Advisor.

We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Steve Finlayson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights on a work trip in August and all in all had a good experience.

Very nice hotel with fantastic staff - nothing was too much trouble. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the pillow menu is a huge bonus for fussy sleepers. Bathrooms are modern and bright. The spa on the skydeck was a very nice way to wind down at the end of the day.

A good location at the top of town which made it easy to avoid the traffic when getting out each day. Queen Victoria Markets are also a short walk away if you're into that sort of thing.

My window was overlooking the construction site at the back of the building so I was woken at about 6.30 am each day by the workers. Given I had to get up anyway it wasn't much of an issue for me.

My only criticism would be the cost of the breakfast. $27 for full or $22 for continental. $22 is a bit much to fork out for coffee and toast - especially in Melbourne. With that in mind, I found a cafe a short stroll down the street and ate there each day. I ended up paying for 3 breakfasts what it would've cost me for one at the hotel.

Would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonHongquanGM, General Manager at Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Todd1975,

It's pleasing to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you could take the time to post a review on Trip Advisor.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind Regards,
Steve Finlayson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens

Address: 380 William Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#13 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#13 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens 4.5*
Number of rooms: 184
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson On Flagstaff Gardens Hotel Melbourne
Radisson Hotel Melbourne
Radisson Melbourne
Melbourne Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.