We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens

Save Saved
You added Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   380 William Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 30% off
Ranked #19 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Very clean and comfortable stay, it is a pity there are more building works around the building which will shut out the city views. The bed was extremely comfortable, and we didn't have any trouble with noise.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with garden view, rear of building is blocked out by building works
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonHongquanGM, General Manager at Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear wanderlustful2013,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on this site.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens.

Warm Regards,
Steve Finlayson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

834 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    380
    345
    79
    16
    14
See reviews for
94
333
88
181
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

I have been staying at the Radisson for quite a few years now (originally due to reviews on trip advisor) when in Melbourne for business. The customer service provided by the friendly, helpful staff has consistently been very good. The business rooms are clean and comfortable and breakfast is included. The hotel restaurant provides a good variety of dishes and the steaks are excellent.
It is close to the markets, across the road from some lovely gardens, Bourke Street Mall, Hardware Lane, Docklands and not too far from Southbank. But then nothing is too far in Melbourne and there are plenty of taxis (except when raining).
The Hotel was busy with a few small conferences when I was there and one night the restaurant staff seemed to be short staffed and there was a delay in ordering food. This is unusual.

It is the friendly staff that make this Hotel popular and hopefully that will not change.

Room Tip: Some rooms have had the shower area renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonHongquanGM, General Manager at Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear OLeary1,

We're pleased to read that you had a pleasant stay.

Our staff are second to none, we endeavour to make every guest feel welcome and hope to see you back at the hotel soon.

Kind Regards,
Steve Finlayson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Hotel is usually clean and rooms of a decent standard. The location is just near my office to very easy, close to transport if needed.
Staff are normally always friendly and the food is OK also. Overall for the price is a good property for the star rating

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonHongquanGM, General Manager at Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Mooseontheroad,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on Trip Advisor.

We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Steve Finlayson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights on a work trip in August and all in all had a good experience.

Very nice hotel with fantastic staff - nothing was too much trouble. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the pillow menu is a huge bonus for fussy sleepers. Bathrooms are modern and bright. The spa on the skydeck was a very nice way to wind down at the end of the day.

A good location at the top of town which made it easy to avoid the traffic when getting out each day. Queen Victoria Markets are also a short walk away if you're into that sort of thing.

My window was overlooking the construction site at the back of the building so I was woken at about 6.30 am each day by the workers. Given I had to get up anyway it wasn't much of an issue for me.

My only criticism would be the cost of the breakfast. $27 for full or $22 for continental. $22 is a bit much to fork out for coffee and toast - especially in Melbourne. With that in mind, I found a cafe a short stroll down the street and ate there each day. I ended up paying for 3 breakfasts what it would've cost me for one at the hotel.

Would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonHongquanGM, General Manager at Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Todd1975,

It's pleasing to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you could take the time to post a review on Trip Advisor.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind Regards,
Steve Finlayson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

I booked on Radisson based on the reviews here and I haven't regreted it! When we arrived with my boyfriend we found a cold sparkling wine waiting for us with a happy birthday note-the occasion was my boyfriend's birthday. The spa bath on the top floor was very romantic and if you go after 8pm you ll probably be alone there. The rooms were big enough and very clean and the beds were very comfortable. Ask for higher floor which are more quiet. The rooms have both shower and tub so you can enjoy your bath. If you leave the given form for breakfast and you put it outside of the door early(I think before 11pm) they can bring you your breakfast at the room- the prices and variety are average but still it's very convenient! I ll definitely go back there again and I recommend it for romantic weekends for couples!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonHongquanGM, General Manager at Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Eva_Juju,

I'm pleased to read that we could make your boyfriend's birthday that little bit more special.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens in the future.

Warm Regards,
Steve Finlayson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Rooms were cleanish there was hair on the pillow and on the towel, long black hair, easy to spot :( room was comfortable, room temperature was hard to work out, the room was freezing up or down so we had to turn it off. Walls are very thin so you hear all passage noise and noise between bedrooms, doors slamming etc.
It's very close to the Victoria markets and public transport, nice views of the park. We were 2 adults only 2 towels in the bathroom but housekeeping quickly brought up more towels and pillows if needed, they have a pillow menu, thin duvet on the bed no extra blankets, once the fan was off we felt warmer, it's mid winter so feather or down duvet would be nice. Shower over the bath, one sink, little space for toiletries etc, tap in the bathroom drips you need all your strength to turn it to stop the endless drip. Only here for 1 night so will live with the drip. Overall ok for the price we paid, if you want 5 start Crown Towers is the best, hands down.
Overall value for money good

Room Tip: High room away from the lift overlooking the park
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonHongquanGM, General Manager at Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Michelle,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback.

I'm sorry to read that your stay wasn't to the standard you are looking for.

However, I am pleased to hear that you were able to enjoy our convenient location and we certainly hope to welcome you back to the Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens in the future.

Kind Regards
Steve Finlayson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

This was our 2nd stay here and once again it was very good. We arrived at 12.00 expecting to leave our bags at reception until our room was ready at 2.00 but the very helpful receptionist said our room was already available. That is the first time that has ever happened in Australia! The free City Circle tourist tram that goes around major sites in Melbourne is just half a block away. All in all very well located and good value for a city hotel. Friendly staff are a bonus.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonHongquanGM, General Manager at Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear emdeme,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor.

We're pleased to read that your enjoyed your recent stay with us and were able to make the most of our fantastic location.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Steve Finlayson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens

Address: 380 William Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#13 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#19 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#21 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson On Flagstaff Gardens Hotel Melbourne
Radisson Hotel Melbourne
Radisson Melbourne
Melbourne Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.